We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but not finest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cebu City Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cardinal Rosales Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fine but not finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Upon checking in, they will ask for ur credit card although you already prepaid your stay online. The room was good and average for this level of hotel. nothing special or fancy. I found the room a little bit smaller though but it was comfortable enough.
We availed the Buffet breakfast for P800/person ($20US). The choices were phonemenal, the best part is the Filipino bfast and the continental choices. Although I found it expensive, I think it was worth the money for the quality of food they prepare. But I would be better if they add this as a perk to the hotel guests as free bfast with the stay. I paid around $165/night during my stay. This hotel is connected to Ayala Mall, maybe i consider it a part of uprtown. going to downtown via cab/taxi will cost around P180 or $5 one way. Basically, it is the safer part of Cebu where bussiness building around it. The staff's service were average, i dont find them very personable or rude. I would check in this hotel again if they will improve on their staff's services.

Room Tip: If you arrive late from Mactan Airport, be sure to avail the Mariott Limousine service at P700.00 ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    223
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
126
107
67
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We found the Cebu Marriott a comfortable and secure hotel with staff who provide great service. The location is very good - adjacent to the big Ayala shopping mall, and just a short taxi ride to the even bigger SM mall. There are a large number and variety of restaurant and cafes at the Ayala mall you can walk to for dinner at night. The hotel facilties include a nice pool and a well equipped gym. The buffet breakfast is fantastic - you won't need to bother with lunch after the huge breakfast. The room we had with two double beds was small but well appointed and included free wifi. There was a good range of cable stations available on the TV. Our kids loved the pool and we loved the food and the service and the convenient location. We'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

i always love hotel hopping even before becoming an HRIM student.. before i dont care if the service is bad as long as the rooms and amenities/facilites are nice but now i already care and observe the services of a hotel.. before i check in in marriot i stayed in quest hotel for 4 nights and 1 night in shangri la.. i transferred here coz shangri la is too far.from the city and in quest hotel i dont want to play "patentero" with da cars anymore just to go to ayala and the rooms in marriott are nice.. when we arrive at the hotel around 10:30 the staffs are so attentive and kind, i didnt even expect that we can check in early and the bellman help us until we got to our room.. the room is.very spacious and comfortable but i can hear noise from the outside.. its not sound proof!!! our problem started in the evening we went back to the hotel and im surprise that the staffs are not greeting us anymore, i didnt mind that yet coz me.and my friend is tired as hell.. at 10:00 pm we decided to go out for sum night life then went back to da hotel at 12:00 a.m,again the staff is not being courteous ..okay nevermind.but when we reach to our room we had some problem with our room card so we went to the front desk for help, well the front desk clerk who is assign to me is kind but im so surprised to da other front desk clerk who is entertaining a korean guest with a bad temper she really has a bad attitude.. the korean guest cant understand what is the meaning of bathtub so she is like
bathtub ba ..bathtub!!!! what the h*ll she's shouting at the guest.. is dat right?.. the guest is about to ask help from me but i didnt interfere since i am very tired..i am korean so i felt too guilty , i feel so sorry with my fellow korean.. if that girl did that to me i will really sue her.. and lastly when we check out two hotel staff greeted us and ask us if we will already check out and i said yes then he said oki maam thank u for staying with us( gosh itd so scripted!!!) they didnt even bother to help us with our luggage even its so obvious that we have too any things go carry .. i even heard them saying this : hotelboystaff1: tabangi to sila maam kaw. hotelboystaff2: ayna mag check out na bitaw na cla.. what da h*** i can understand them !!! i live in philippine for almost all of my life.. worst hotel service ever!!! would not come back herr unless they improvr their service..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Naturally I was very concerned to read your comments regarding our staff service at the Front Office. We have reviewed this in detail with our team and I would be happy to follow up with you further if you wish.

I can be contacted at bruce.winton@marriott.com

Sincerely,
Bruce Winton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Geroge, UT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Where to start...man, I was so excited to get to Cebu and see that beautiful city! Cebu is awesome, please check it out if you get the chance. We got to the hotel a little later in the evening around 9:00, on a flight from Clark. We had asked for a cot to be set up in the room for our children. The girl at the front desk was very nice and said our room was ready. We got to the room and there was no cot, no big deal. So we called down to the front desk and said they would have someone come and set up right away...an hour later, still no cot, we called back and the girl seemed irritated with us said it would be up right away. Well we didn't get the cot until after 12:00 midnight. We were just happy to get the cor so we could put the kids on there and get some rest. After that the staff seemed very rude to us. My wife got told off for taking pictures by the pool. We stayed there for three nights hoping things would get better, it didn't. The best part about the Hotel is the location, because it is located right next to the Ayala mall, which has an array of great restaurants. Cebu is awesome, stay at a different hotel. We did talk to a manager and we told her about our unpleasant stay. She told us come back and we promise we will do a better Job...haha, her Job was to provide us with a perfect stay the first time. what a joke....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It was very concerning to read about your dissapointing experience during your recent stay. Please accept my apologies and assurances that while not indicative of our usually high level of service, we have reviewed this with our team to ensure it is an exception.

I would be happy to discuss this individual situation with you further. I can be reached at bruce.winton@marriott.com. if you wish further follow up.

Sincerely,
Bruce Winton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have first stayed at the Marriot in 1999 and has stayed four times since then. The hotel has become dated. The rooms are clean but need renovation. The rooms are on the small side. The carpet is worn out in the hallway. The breakfast lacks variety and not presented well.
We however liked the nightly cocktails at the club level. They served some appetizers during the nightly cocktails.
We didn't use the pool because it was too small and crowded.
They charge for internet in the room.

I like the hotel because of its proximity to Ayala Center. This is a good hotel to use if you are Cebu for business. If you are on vacation, it's better to choose one of the resorts in Mactan Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

a very strategic place..behind is where Ayala mall....
their bed is comfy...i want to stay here again...
restaurant is ok..their pool is ok...their service is also ok...with all the smiling faces....
i will come back again soon...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I love staying here at Marriott, aside from the good service, good food, good rooms and good ambiance. the location itself is very convenient. it's very near to Ayala mall. and the price is affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cebu City Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Address: Cardinal Rosales Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cebu City Marriott Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the city’s premier financial district - the Cebu Business Park, the Cebu City Marriott Hotel sits right next door to Ayala Mall where opportunities for great shopping and a vibrant nightlife await you. Near by are offices of top corporations, banking centers, an exclusive sports club, convention centers and the Asia Town IT Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cebu City Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Cebu City Marriott Hotel Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cebu City Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.