We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHEAP , CLEAN ,SAFE AND " CENTRAL " !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escario Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Escario Central Hotel to your Saves list
Escario Central Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Escario Central, N. Escario St. | Camputhaw, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SOUTHERN AUSTRALIA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“CHEAP , CLEAN ,SAFE AND " CENTRAL " !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at Escario Central Hotel 6 different times ! over 6 weeks in June & July. We flew into Cebu from Australia this time ,rather than Manila ! Cebu is so better ! & much cheaper !
After a recommendation from friends ,decided to try Escario & booked online to initially stay just ! for the first night we arrived in Cebu , as we were going to Bohol the next day on the ferry .
I can see why ? they call it " Escario Central Hotel " as its so central to pretty much " Everything " you need or may want to do in Cebu city , and at a very reasonable price & its modern and clean .
As Escario is new, I found a couple of Taxi drivers that did not know were it was , But you just tell them across road from Jolly Bee & Next to McDonalds on Escario Ave , and your there !
The Entrance to Escario is like a Mall ? or centre , that you drive into Full of Trendy Cafe's , Bars , Restaurants , with Escario entrance at the end ! with free parking and Excellent ! 24 hour Security , that also help you get your bags from your Taxi or car .
Escario reception is bright , clean and friendly , by staff in neat clean uniform's . I found all the staff friendly and very helpful and efficient ! and the hotel house keeping staff were excellent !
The standard red rooms are Clean , Modern , & have 2 full length double beds ,separate bathroom with hot cold water ,and a decent size ,good shower ! and rooms have a flat screen TV ,AC ,& Free WiFi and Free news papers and a computer in reception if you need it .
The only Negative is there is no refrigerator ! in a standard room , but for 100 peso extra per day ,you can have a ref option ,or queen size beds option rooms , but i found the standard rooms very good for the price . There is 24/7 food and cold drinks etc at the excellent 7Eleven store a 1 minute walk from your room ! or 2 minute walk next door to McDonalds , or across the road 3 minutes walk is Jolly Bee if you want fast food !
But if you want something more ! Both sides of the entrance to Escario there is maybe ? 10 x EXCELLENT ! bars ,cafes, restaurants, open till late , serving traditional Filipino foods ,American , Spanish , Italy , & Western foods , and coffee bars with lovely cakes etc , and a few trendy shops. My favourite was the cafe Sari ,were all the local Filipino's and business people seemed to meet , for a meal ,coffee etc . You can get a breakfast voucher from Escario reception for Sari sari cafe for 180 peso , giving you several options for breakfast with excellent coffee , or meals from there menu . Escario to Ayala shopping centre is so close , only 80 peso ? SM mall 120 ? peso ,Robinsons mall maybe 100 peso by Taxi . You only have to walk out of the reception ! and the excellent security staff will get you a licenced taxi , and note there number in there security log , and tell the driver were you want to go .
We ended up using Escario as a base ! as its so central to Cebu city ,business ,banking ,shopping ,even medical , and only 200 ? odd peso Taxi ride to the Airport & Ferry terminal with 1 hour away , ferry ride to Bohol !
We then flew to Luzon for a week ,then back to Cebu , to Escario for a night , then ferry to Bohol and Panglao islands for a week , then back to Cebu for a full week ,at Escario , then flew to Mindanao for a week , then back to Cebu ! to Escario for the night ! again . We then went back to Bohol for another week ,and then stayed at Escario the last 2 days before flying home to Australia. It really is so " CENTRAL " and convenient to " pretty much everything "
We travel the Philippines on a regular basis ,as we have bought land and built a house in Bohol , and will now use Escario Central Hotel as our base ! flying in and out of the Philippines to Cebu City . Sure its not 5 Star ! but its Central ,Cheap, Modern and since the recent earthquake ! a very good feature ! its single storey !!! with a very safe design with wide walkways to nice green lawns and its very secure ! . It seems to be in a very good area on Escario avenue , and its well off the road , so its quiet ! and you don't get people just walking in all hours as the 24/7 security is there . I personally always look at what security there is , were I stay in the Philippines , especially in the larger city's , these guys were exceptional at there job , and making sure we were taken care of ,and checking where we wanted to go in Cebu , getting us numerous taxis each day ! and they were so appreciative for the tips I gave them , the head of security told me they bought extra coffee and food those nights , So give them a tip ! they are looking after you ! ensuring safety to you and your family and even 20 to 50 peso ! goes a long way for them .
If you want 5 star ? even 4 star ? ,perhaps an infinity pool ? or a beach ? Escario Central is not for you ! Its not romantic ! or silver service ! but Escario is Central ! Convenient ! Clean ! Modern ! Safe and Secure at a budget price ! saving money for all the other nice things ! in the Philippines :) and right around the corner ! from pretty much everything ! in Cebu city :)

Tip @ Mactan Airport , arrivals taxis are usually fixed price 500 + ? peso to your hotel !
Just walk out the arrivals doors, straight across the car & taxi pickup area, go up the ramp walkway through into Departures ! walk out the front doors and the normal white ,Metered Taxis are dropping off there fares , so you just wait for a good clean ,roadworthy ! looking Taxi & your flag fall ,on the meter is only 40 peso ! & then its the fixed Taxi rate . From Airport to Escario 180 peso .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Autoreply, Front Office Manager at Escario Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,



Thank you for sharing a descriptive review of your recent stay with us,We are glad that you keep coming back and enjoying your stay and experience with us,It is always our pleasure to provide our customers with excellent customer service.
We definitely look forward to see you again on your next Cebu visit.



Sincerely,

Myra Fe Bebanco

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
20
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Architecturally clever use of location in a newly (2012) developed mall. Hotel is located in back of small upmarket mall away from the busy Escario Street. All the rooms are basically the same and basic. There are no stairs because all the rooms are located on ground floor. Reception is efficient more than friendly; they appear to busy most of the day with administrative work, but this efficiency does work in the guests favour, too. The mall has a "happening" bar/cafe with the young locals especially on Thu, Fri, Sat nights which is nicely designed. The restaurants in the mall are good to excellent. the hotel provides a discount for breakfast at one of the cafe's which is good value and the food excellent for lunch and dinner, too. Easy to get a taxi from front of hotel. Short taxi trip to Ayala Mall, easy walk for most to Robinson's Mall. AND I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same and the location is quiet for all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Autoreply, Front Office Manager at Escario Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,



Thank you for your great review of Escario Central Hotel.It's wonderful to read such positive comments from you. We look forward for your next visit.Thank you very much





Myra Fe Bebanco
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Not a typical building type hotel. All rooms are all ground level, so convenient and quiet where one can enjoy so much privacy. Very near malls and restaurants. If you need anything, you can simply walk towards 7-11 and burgers restaurants. What i like here most is the garden. Day or night, you can just sit and relax while enjoying the hotel's wi-fi internet access. Food is ordered and served by Cafe Sarree and I think it's great having tried one. Malls and nearby restos are accessible by cab or jeepney.
Clean rooms, flat screen tv's, hot and cold shower and good A/C....good for budget conscious travellers.

Room Tip: whether you get the orange or red room, not much difference since the bed size. only the bigger beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique F, Front Office Manager at Escario Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Escario Central Hotel,The whole team takes pride in our unique hotel set up,Your appreciation of our facilities is highly appreciated,and we are looking forward for your next stay.
Thank you very much.

Sincerely,

Myra Fe Bebanco
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Nice little hotel with all rooms on the ground (street) level. Centrally located next to shops, restaurants and fastfood. Try to get one of the rooms in the back for a quiet setting. Reception service could be better, but the hotel is cheap and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique F, Front Office Manager at Escario Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing with us your review . Location is always our pride, your feedback is highly appreciated for us to continuously give quality service to all our guests.
Thank you very much.


Sincerely,

Myra Fe Bebanco
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Good points are..the rooms are spread wide so for people who don't like going up and down the stairs or riding the elevator, this is quite convenient. Price is ok and this is good for short stays only. Room is clean and decent, hot and cold shower is available. Accessible in the city.

Bad points are..room is so bare, its depressing without decors and painting. Its too formal. Needed more interior designing. Fire exit guide is too high on the wall and too small. Towels are not good. No guide on how to tune in thr table. And lastly, no breakfast!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique F, Front Office Manager at Escario Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your good review of Escario Central Hotel,We are sorry for the minimalistic doesn't appear good to you,your suggestion is highly appreciated.
We hope you will stay with us again and see the improvements of our room amenities.
Thank you very much.


Sincerely,

Myra Fe Bebanco
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A great hotel set in a great location. It's the little hotel that can...and does! My second time at Escario Central and it keeps getting better. The rooms are very comfortable and clean! Never a dirty towel or old linen, they keep this place tidy! There are only 2 concerns I have - there's no desk/chair and no mini fridge in the room. The nightstand serves sufficiently, but a desk would make a nice touch. There's a patio section near the lobby, so take advantage of that! Need a snack? There's a 7-11 seconds away and McDonald's across from that! If it's fine dining or a local dish, there are several restaurants outside the front door! Thanks, Escario Central! I am a customer now and forever!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique F, Front Office Manager at Escario Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of Escario Central Hotel ,We are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay and the offers that we have provided, we are sorry if we fail to inform you that desk chair and mini refrigerator is only available upon request, Your feedback will definitely help us to improve our services.
Looking forward to having you back soon.Thank you very much


Sincerely,

Myra Fe Bebanco
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK...
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Booked an orange room for 4 nights on arrival at reception I was asked to pay half
of the room bill, but I refused stating that there was no information on their web page
regarding any payment or deposit ! I paid 500 peso deposit to keep them happy .
The room was comfortable, with cable TV and bed was comfortable making for a
good nights sleep .
The shower was very welcome with hot & cold water and good water pressure.
In the same complex there are coffee shop's and small restaurants, but if you are
looking for junk food then across the road there is a Jollibee and a MacDonald's ..
The staff are warm and friendly and always ready to help with advice about the area
Rooms are cleaned daily. I booked an extra 2 days as this hotel really is worth the price
and the staff are very helpful and friendly ..

Room Tip: If the staff offer advice please take it they know the area and are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique F, Front Office Manager at Escario Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write this review,We are glad to hear of your positive feedback regarding your stay at Escario Central Hotel .Many thanks too for your kind words to our staff,. And we look forward for your next visit. Thank you very much.


Sincerely,


Myra Fe Bebanco
FO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escario Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escario Central Hotel

Address: Escario Central, N. Escario St. | Camputhaw, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Escario Central Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sprawling fusion of modern and zen accommodationSituated in Cebu, this hotel is close to Ayala Center, Magellan's Cross, and Cebu International Convention Center. Also nearby are Philippines Taoist Temple and Heritage of Cebu Monument.Facilities and ServicesThe hotel is within a strip mall where you can enjoy various cuisines, spa & salon, afternoon tea, desserts and more. Secured outdoor parking is available, a satellite reception area and a business desk.Room AmenitiesFunctional rooms with complimentary WIFI, complimentary bottled water, bathroom essentials (towel, soap & shampoo), hot & cold water, cabled LCD TV & customized beds with duvet to guarantee a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Escario Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escario Central Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escario Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.