We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robe"s Pension House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Robe"s Pension House to your Saves list
Robe"s Pension House
41R Landon Street, Cebu City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 61 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Clean room. 22" flat screen TV with cable. WIFI on every floor. I took hot shower on ground floor for 800 pesos instead of 700 for cold shower. No restaurant, but they can deliver chemical coffee and noodles to your room. Brewed coffee is available in JL Suites, just across the street. Bakeries and local restaurants in walking distance [24 hours]. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
16
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's a newly built place so the whole building looks great, easy to find and located near a lot of tourist spots in metro Cebu.
Reservation thru email went smoothly, thanks to Ritchie for always replying promptly! :)
the whole building is clean, starting from the reception, to the stairs and hallways up to the rooms, we booked two rooms and bothvare spotless! Aircons are great, TV's kinda small but hey it's great too, they even have channels like cinemax, syfy, hbo and crime & investigation! We can hear noises from othe next room or from the hallway but nothing that could have atopped us from getting a good night sleep!
If you order, it can take at least 30 mins though just to have pancakes so make sure you order ahead of time, nothing fancy for the food.. but it's also not expensive!
Staff are attentive but they could use more smiles.. the guard they call chief is the best, always out there to open our car doors and to carry our bags!
All in all, I give this place a thumbs up and will stay here for my future trips in cebu.. for 900php/night, I've got more than what i paid for! :))

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our travel in Cebu Philippines specially we were so lucky to find this place which is good, cheap and clean. Our expectations was not that high to this hotel since it was cheap but we were surprise that the room was big enough and clean. The staff are helpful and kind. The place is located in the city so its accessible to tourist spots and malls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My family went to Cebu and Bohol for a vacation although we just had a day tour in Bohol we stayed at Robes for 3 nights. The place was nice and clean. The staff are helpful. The place is also accessible to taxi and public transportation. It was really value for your money. We could have stayed for a hotel but we chose this instead since we are tight on our budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

poor customer service, bad facilities and incompetent staffs. after paying in advance for our 2 days stay, we left our bags at the lobby and gave clear instructions to bring the bags inside the room once it is ready and turn on the ac so that the room is cooled, they said ok. i advised them that a friend will be coming on our room at the last day of our stay ( last 8 hours ) and asked them if they could waive the additional charge, they said yes. after we arrive, the bags are not in the room, the restroom door knob is stuck and they charged us extra person on our check out. i will never come back here, ever.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here for three nights. The room was reasonably clean, but with dim lighting. The bathroom smelt of stale urine and was dirty. The rear wall of the room has a slatted glass window that has to be shut all the time. It opens into a vertical shaft where about 8 other old-style air conditioners continually roar away. The room, even with the window shut is noisy - like being next to an aeroplane turbine.
I could hear people shouting and other noise from this vertical shaft and went to reception to complain. The employee told the people in the room beneath me to be quiet. Another night later, a woman was shouting for the police in the room above. She was using this vertical shaft to get attention from the other rooms. The armed guard and an employee went to investigate.
I asked for the room to be serviced as I had run out of toilet paper and dry towels after 2 nights. This did not happen. The tv remote control did not work.
The staff appear to be teenagers, who would rather not be there. With the exception of one girl on the reception, they appeared very miserable. I felt sorry for them.
My room was at the back of the building and suffered from the vertical shaft noise. If you get a room at the front of the building you will get the continuous din of traffic from the street below. In three nights, I got very little sleep. A horrible experience.
The title of this place is ' Robe''s ' - the two apostrophes make it hard to find in the Tripadvisor search engine. Maybe it's a good job too, as I wouldn't advise anyone to stay at this dump of a place. Cebu city is noisy and polluted... you will have a hard time finding anywhere decent on a reasonable budget. Try Palazzo Pensionne. I stayed there last time and should of this trip.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else or bring some bleach to clean the toilet and a good pair of ear plugs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I visited cebu first week of Jan , after the not so good accommodation experience in Tonros Appartelle we decided to transfer to this place. It is more cheaper and cleaner with good customer service .

The Place is just walking distance from San Carlos University ( main campus ) also from there you can walk the other landmarks like the sto, nino shrine , fort san pedro , and colon steet .

The only comment i have is some beggars along the vicinity , where its not that good walking on streets at night.

But overall this is a good place to check in Cebu.

Room Tip: * You can walk from the hotel to other places ( landmark ) , this is what we did . Its just takes yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Robe"s Pension House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robe"s Pension House

Address: 41R Landon Street, Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Robe"s Pension House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robe"s Pension House Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robe"s Pension House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.