We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Planet Cebu to your Saves list
Red Planet Cebu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% LOYALTY DISCOUNT
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Cebu City
Roxas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have tried several Tune Hotels in Malaysia and Indonesia, so we are not new to the concept of Tune Hotel. And we expected the small rooms too. So we were peasantly surprised that their Cebu property has a decent sized room and "big" bathroom - and it was located across Ayala Center. We booked during their room sale and got a very good deal (P36!). We would have not paid extra for aircon if only the windows can be opened. The windows were locked, obviously for safety reason. It would have been better if there was a restaurant in the ground floor (common in all Tune hotels in Malaysia) and a glass door to keep the shower area enclosed (the whole bathroom gets wet after taking a bath).

Room Tip: Wait for the room sale to get great deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    181
    71
    18
    5
See reviews for
30
127
91
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked this hotel expecting nothing at all. Aside from the room size and noisy AC, everything is good!

Bed is comfy, nice linens and soft pillows too

Very convenient location, across Ayala Center Cebu!.

Internet is not free but they offer a decent connection.

This is really a nice budget hotel, I just hope that the TV and Wifi will be used in hourly basis on only when in use, the same way the AC works

Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is better than other expensive-pretending-to-be elegant hotel. I am really not expecting that the interior will be so good. From outside its like a regular cheap hotel even if you step on their hotel entrance. But when you get it, their lobby lobby on the upper floor where the reception area is looks like a call center recruitment hub - looks good. When we entered the room i was surprised - its small but elegant. They provide blower just infront of the CR. Their tv is huge LED television. Aircon is new and functioning well. Door lock is e-card. There is a safebox and clothes rack. What turns me on a lot is the bed, it is very comfy. soft matress and pillow. Clean and soft comforter. The lighting on the room makes it so elegant. You can choose from yellow and white light. o just turn on the light on the headboard of the bed. The Showeroom is also good, it is clean and elegant as well. Its door are made from glass, it also has a shower enclosure.

Location is great with 7/11 on the ground floor and is very close - 5 mins walk to Ayala Mall.

See it yourself. book online and personalze your booking. You would not hesitate cause it's not expensive :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
277 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Tune Cebu best selling point is its location; opposite Ayala Mall.

Tune hotel setup and design is pretty standard. It is almost the same which ever Tune you go to.

Served by a non-smiley supervisor, check-in is pretty slow. They seems like they have problem locating my reservation.

One thing strange is that their shower has no door. So the water easily spill into the toilet.

Anyway, it is still a good place to stay but the add-on sometimes really irks me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our second stay at a Tune hotel. This one better than the one in Penang (newer).

Room was clean and functional, if a little small. Beds were a little soft to our taste, but still quite good. Location was pretty central, and if you want to shop, there's a huge mall across the street (nothing special, your typical big NA-style mall with lots of restaurants). The man at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Overall good stay.

However, it is the concept of the Tune that is a little annoying. Want tv? Pay extra. Want aircon? pay extra. Want Wifi? Pay extra. Want a towel and soap? Pay extra. I can understand for some of these, but less for others. Then again, I guess it does help to reduce the waste for some of these.

Even though it was good, we still decided to try something else for our next pass-through in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davao
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Ants in the room, toilet not sanitary, street noise...to make matters worse, if you check in for more than one night, you have to pay extra for air con, wifi,Toweks and TV.

I have never experienced such a poorly run place and the rooms are tiny. no closet, no place to put your luggage. Have to take turns going in and out of the room is so small.

Room Tip: make sure you are fully aware of what you are booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosarito, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The weird red and white decor turned me off, the tiny rooms made me claustrophobic, and the doorless shower flooded the bathroom because of the super slow drain. I reserved through agoda and got a good price, I thought. I like having a destination to take the luggage to when I land and the hotel location was very convenient, but didn't block for my whole stay sensing I might not like the place. After one night, I walked down the block, crossed the street, and got a fantastic walk-in rate at the Hotel Elizabeth that wasn't available online. Thats a real hotel and I was glad for my decision. There a plenty of hotels in that immediate area competing so use the Tune wifi and find another place for anything other than a fast stopover.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#10 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 82 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Escario Central Hotel
Escario Central Hotel
#12 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#26 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Planet Cebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.