We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tune Hotel: Location, Quality and Value All-In-One” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel : Cebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel : Cebu to your Saves list
Tune Hotel : Cebu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Cebu City
Dagupan City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tune Hotel: Location, Quality and Value All-In-One”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

LOCATION: Tune Hotel is located in the commercial district of Cebu. Its location is one of its draws why we decided to book this hotel. It is walking distance in front of Ayala Mall, right next door is a 7-11 Convenience Store, and public transportation is easily accessible from the main road.

THE COST: The one thing that is unique with this chain of hotels is that: you only pay for what you need like: air-conditioning, cable TV, WIFI connection and toiletries. However, we booked through Agoda.com which had a promo that included 24 hour air-conditioning, Cable TV and Free WIFI. Looking back, that promo was a steal: we were able to book twin room (for two people) for Php750 or US$19 per night for EVERYTHING. And since there were two per room, each person’s share would be P375 or US$10) per night.

FEEL: It is new (just opened 2012), clean, basic and modern.

PERSONAL: I was in a group of 8 people and we booked 4 rooms in this hotel.

RECEPTION: Reception is located on the 2nd floor of the hotel. It is no-frills, basic and unpretentious. In colors of red and white.

THE ROOMS: The rooms are pretty small. But the space is well-maximized for efficiency. For example, a folding-desk, no cabinets but only a bar to hang your clothes and a LED TV to save space. The safe too is located just under the night desk and the night lights are bolted to the wall. If you are in Cebu and expecting to stay in the hotel for longer periods of time, this is not the hotel for you. But if you want a comfortable place to crash for a couple of nights, this place isn’t bad. The bed alone is quality in itself.

THE SMELL OF THE ROOM: Clean. Fresh.

THE BED: I love the bed in this hotel. Not the kind you find in budget hotels. For the price I paid, the quality is more than what I paid for. Plus, the comforter is also nice. It is clean as white and the pillows are same as those in the “good” hotels. I was completely surprised, I must say.

THE VIEW: A small window from our room shows the Ayala Mall. Not much of a view though. Which we didn’t care much about since we were out for most of the day.

THE BATHROOM: Not your typical budget hotel bathroom. They have a huge showerhead which I wish I had at home. And the bathroom is a bit bigger than I anticipated since the room was somewhat a bit cramped. The one beef I had about the about the bathroom is that they didn’t install shower doors. So when you take a bath, expect the bathroom floors to be wet. I still don’t understand why they won’t install those shower doors! Oh, and the door to the bathroom is semi-transparent: frosty.

THE FOOD: breakfast included. But hotel is right in front of Ayala Mall so getting a meal isn’t a problem.

THE SERVICE: Courteous and friendly. Also, willing to answer many questions relating to the hotel. Also, housekeeping cleans the rooms regularly, so I don’t have a problem with that.

OTHER AMENITIES: Internet access (which can be bought or included in the booking), business center, toiletries which you can purchase.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    153
    50
    16
    5
See reviews for
24
104
78
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

clean room, elevator, free internet use for 30 minutes, air-conditioned


I booked this hotel in advance, which was a good idea, as the receptionist told me that it is more expensive as a walk-in. Everything was included with advance booking via agoda, but if you just walk in, there are additional charges for a towel, air-con, etc. I found the price very reasonable, (about $ 20.50 or € 16.80) even though I was alone in a double room. It seems very safe and you need to use your keycard to take the elevators upstairs. When you use the shower, the water splashes out all over the bathroom floor, but I found this to be a pretty typical problem in the Philippines and isn't so serious. With a simple, clean A/C room, an elevator, and free internet use for 30 minutes, I thought it was a pretty good deal.

It is just across from the Ayala Shopping Center. I went over there in the morning (which only opens at 10am!) to change money, which was quite convenient. However it is not near the real downtown area of Cebu where most of the sightseeing is; for that you would have to take a taxi.

I found the Tune Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. I would be happy to stay there again if I ever go back to Cebu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Louise, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The frontdesk staff and the doormen are all excellent and friendly. The hotel has the perfect loaction to the mall and clubs in the area. Also there is a great little 711 right next door. The rooms are cleaned to a high standard and the tvs have lots of chanels.

Room Tip: Book online with agoda for cheaper rates then showing up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butuan, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Got a great deal at Tune Hotel Cebu through Agoda. I only paid around 850 pesos a night and this covers all add ons. Sweet!

I like the location of Tune Hotel Cebu which is just right across the sprawling Ayala Mall. Going around the city won't be a hassle since public transport is easily available in the area. And the 711 store attached to the hotel is a big plus for me.

The hotel staff were quite courteous and readily helpful. Looks like they were properly trained as I notice no indifference in them dealing with their guests.

I find the room a bit cramped with no clothes cabinet. But this was compensated with it's modern yet comfy design. Their bed is definitely five star. Soft and cushy, you'll fall asleep in no time.

The bathroom was surprisingly nice for a budget hotel. Water pressure was quite strong.

If you want a comfortable place to stay at excellent value for money, Tune Hotel would be my go to hotel when I'm in Cebu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Great budget hotel, good staff, clean functional rooms. The only advise I'd have against this place is that Cebu City itself isn't very nice (the hotel is fine), so if your stuck in town for more than half a day you might get bored and wish you'd splashed out on a hotel with more facilities as the city doesn't have too much to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Although the room was not very spacious, with no cabinets, and with only a small folding board for a "table", everything else was very clean and comfortable. I slept soundly on a good bed, the bathroom had a strong shower with hot water. I think that the ambience was a notch higher, compared to an average business/budget hotel. I would recommend this hotel for travelers travelling solo, or with two/three friends who just want the sleeping comfort of a good bed, and who do not mind the "basic" amenities. Add-ons for air-conditioning, towel, and wifi are optional, and provide an opportunity to lower the cost of stay.. No breakfast included, but a 24-hour convenience store is very near the ground floor. Location near Ayala Mall is an added convenience too. The hotel staff were courteous and professional. Check out was a breeze. Will definitely come back during my next trip to Cebu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I've stayes with almost Tune hotel in Philippines so staying here is not new to me - new hotel means new bedsheets and clean room. As always you will get a good price if you book early online. mine I paid less than 1,000 pesos only.

We stayed on 24th dec and booked for 2 rooms. Ayala mall is just across the hotel, which saves us paying fares and huggle taxis in cebu. 7-11 is just downstairs. Downside is, there are no nearby restaurants before 10am if you are looking for a breakfast meal. Other than that Its ok. I feel safe staying on this hotel.

Will certainly stay here again on my next visit in Cebu.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel : Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel : Cebu

Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel : Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tune Hotel : Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel : Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel : Cebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.