We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tuna starter . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Michelangelo

Pizzeria Michelangelo
1 Paseo Saturnino, Maria Luisa Road, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
032 2364297
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 380 Restaurants in Cebu City
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Holland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely tuna starter . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Being in the House of Cebu (the Henry) hotel, we were suprised by the nearby Michelangelo.
The open kitchen has no secrets, the menu choice is great, with a Chianti wine at a reasonable price. The first time we took the fresh chopped raw tuna starter and could not resist it every time after. The pizza is crispy and thin and if you want more spicy they make it or have the chilli oil.
Diner inside or outside, the friendly staf serves you fast and friendly. Cees and Theo, Holland.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo L, General Manager at Pizzeria Michelangelo, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you very much! Customers from House of Cebu are always very welcome! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    50
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome pasta place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Pizzeria Michelangelo reminds me a nice slice of Manila's authentic italian places. Their pizza is pretty good and tastes absolutely divine especially when served hot. Try their parm ham with arugula, truffle pasta, gnocchi, and I especially like their marinara seafood pasta as well. I can't doubt this place! Always a good experience here :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo L, General Manager at Pizzeria Michelangelo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review... Come back soon and try our new special dishes! Ciao e grazie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Good taste to mouth and mind:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Pizza tasted really nice and establishment is clean and cosy, service excellent and location really so fine in Maria Luisa road just besides my hotel Henry.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo L, General Manager at Pizzeria Michelangelo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are pleased you appreciated our products! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Pizza and Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

After eating rice with every meal for one whole week, I finally broke the streak by going to Michelangelo just before dinner rush. I ordered the gnocchi with black truffle sauce and the pizza Robertino which was topped with sunny side up eggs and bacon :) Both were very good and reasonably priced. Some additional info includes the location is in a small strip mall and the lobby seating is limited.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo L, General Manager at Pizzeria Michelangelo, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your comment! Please check our monthly special menu for new exciting original Italian dishes! Take care! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Pizza, Best in Cebu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I visited Pizzeria Michaelangelo for the first time and honestly were a little skeptical about having authentic Italian pizza available in Cebu. Most of the pizza in the city is the regular chain-type (Shakey's, Yellow Cab, Pizza Hut...). Plus we have been able to visit pizzerias throughout Italy during our travels, including in Napoli, the birthplace of pizza.

Everything we ordered was the top quality. We started with a hummus dip for an appetizer. We followed it with a fish with olive oil wrapped in foil. I'm not usually much on fish, but this was delicious. Then out came our main course, the pizza. I can't remember the name of the pizza we ordered, but it came with meat, cheese, and arugula on top. It is by far the best pizza we have had in Cebu, and one of the best outside of Italy. The arugula was fresh and added so much, we were very impressed. We finished with desserts, my wife had the chocolate mousse, which was a combination of white and milk chocolate. I had the tiramisu and both were excellent. Along with our dessert we ordered coffee which came from a high-end, single serve machine.

The staff is so friendly and kind and service was excellent. They took care of us without being intrusive during our meal. If you are lucky like we were, you can meet Massimo, the General Manager, who has a passion for the restaurant and is from Italy himself. We immediately understood how the food is so authentic. We are looking forward to visiting again to try other dishes!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Michelangelo also viewed

 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Pizzeria Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Michelangelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.