We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Something Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Elysa - CLOSED

Cafe Elysa
30-a Zamora Street | Parian, Cebu City, Philippines
+63324149265
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Art Gallery-Cafe that serves Local + Travel Inspired Cuisine
Cebu City
1 review
“Extra Something Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Delicious food, great service and an atmosphere that enchants and soothes all. Cafe Elysa is the place to go for little extra something special to end your day. The food is tastefully done in beautiful presentations and each visit draws you in time and again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not really spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Service was great, very personal. Food was interesting but not really spectacular. Serving size is too small, and for a group of 12, service staff didnt tell us that we should order more of each.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dining Expeience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

It was a treat for us to visit Café Elysa--professional staff, an entertaining host, delicious food and great ambiance! Try the Elysa spring rolls, fried seasoned pork belly and the chicken saté. We really enjoyed the Portuguese sausages, which was the special of the day. For dessert, we had banana fritters which was served with local lime and caramel syrup and ice cream. We highly recommend Café Elysa and will definitely return on our next visit to Cebu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Experiencing growing pains”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The people behind this restaurant have their hearts in the right place and obviously know something about food and style. There is a vision at work and it certainly takes some daring to distance yourself so far from most hotels—I like that!


The problem is that running a restaurant is not the same thing as going out to eat in one or even entertaining at home for friends. As a result Café Elysa comes off like an amateur production where they had all these great ideas and just fired them all off at once without thinking about how they all fit together. There’s a saying that as chefs get more experienced, they learn to cook with fewer ingredients and I would suggest a similar course of action for this restaurant. Not ingredients per se, but finding the true identity that they are as a restaurant and then focusing solely on those areas. Simplify. Refine. Forget trying to dazzle.


The dishes are all over the place and all the nice paintings and soft lighting cannot make up for the disharmony throughout the menu. My guests were excited to try an adobo dish that had the addition of dried fish. In concept, not bad, taking a page from Europe and this region but we all agreed that the version served was so overpowering with the latter that the nice aspects in the former were lost. It’s a perfect example of the overall issue I had with Café Elysa, which I think holds promise, but needs to grow up a lot more, to pass through this youthful discovery phase, and to mature as a restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“A top destination for food connoisseurs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was there Oct. 2012 and was surprised Cebu has such a place. the food is a medley of the right spices, taste, and the right wine to go with it. The food selection features a delightful blend of traditional Spanish and Filipino dishes, and a number of uniquely orchestrated palate that is heavenly and delightful to a food connoisseurs taste buds. Furthermore, the service was excellent, and the owner and manager were very friendly.

i will definitely drop by again next month when i visit Cebu. i would never miss dropping by when i'm in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Elysa also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Elysa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.