We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointed with "New" Verbena Capitol Suites” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Verbena Capitol Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Verbena Capitol Suites to your Saves list
Verbena Capitol Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   79 Don Gil Garcia St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed with "New" Verbena Capitol Suites”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

For the past 10-12 years or so, me and my family have been staying at the (original) Verbena Pension House. Nice staff, reasonable prices, and rooms are okay.

This past year I heard that they had a second hotel just about a block or two away. So we decided to stay there for a couple of days when we were in town. Big mistake. We stayed at the Deluxe Triple (P1,625) and the room was NOT worth it. Bed sheets, pillow cases, the pillows themselves, bed covers, were old and dingy! I couldn't believe it. I had the impression they just brought these old sheets from the older Verbena. Since it was a new hotel, they could've at least provided new linens,right??? So that we, the customers could at least have a comfortable good night's sleep and not feel disgusted!

Their hot/cold shower felt like ordinary tap Philippine water (yes, COLD!!) I called the front desk if they could check why it wasn't working, they said that everything in the building IS working. REALLY??? I gave it some time and let the water run, hoping that maybe it will slowly warm up and I could have a little heated water for mt shower, manuevered the dial thinking maybe it could be installed the opposite way,but NOPE. NOTHING. I gave up, took a deep breath, and went under the cold spray of the shower.

If you have a lot of luggage, expect almost NO STORAGE except for a few inches of shelf on one corner.

Parking is TERRIBLE, only can fit about 3-4 vehicles at the front. That is IF YOU"RE LUCKY to be on of the first ones to get a spot!!!

If I were to pick some positives, it would be the drinking water dispenser located at the end of the hallway of every floor. We didn't have to go out and buy tons of bottled water because you can just refill your own bottle just right outside the rooms.

And the staff were very nice and polite, no doubt about that.Even the guards that were on duty were very helpful and nice. But the rooms, shower, sheets, did not "match" what was supposed to be a NEW Verbena Hotel.

MY RATING:
One star for nice staff
One star for water dispenser

Other that that, this hotel doesn't deserve any stars at all. Sorry. The next time we go to Cebu, we know now where NOT to stay. I hope management does something about their deficiencies to win back the visitors.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerbenaPensionHouse, Director of Sales at Verbena Capitol Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family, thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Capitol Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cavite City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, January 29-30, 2012 after getting back from Moalboal, Cebu.
The reservation was made online through email and the staff was very quick in responding and to confirm our reservation.

When we got there, they just asked for the deposit slip and led us to our room, Deluxe Triple. The room is spacious enough, with wi-fi, tv + cable, hot and cold shower, pillos, blankets and extra pillows, towels and soaps. The room also has a mini bar with affordable items and a mini ref.

The staff were very helpful in terms of directions and recommendations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerbenaPensionHouse, Director of Sales at Verbena Capitol Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family, thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Capitol Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Lousy service, food, room quality. Will not stay here again, nor recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerbenaPensionHouse, Director of Sales at Verbena Capitol Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family, thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Capitol Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My family stayed here for five days. Their staff were excellent. On our first day we went to the old Verbena Pension House for some confusion but the receptionist there assisted us to be transferred to the Suites which is just near. They paid the cab. The staff are friendly, warm and accommodating even the guard was so nice. We stayed in a room for four with two matrimonial beds, television, refrigerator and the best is the WIFI - very fast. Hot and cold shower was good. Room not too spacious. Room B10 was good far from the stairs near their complimentary water for a drink and coffee.

I only complained when we stayed at room B6 (we have to switch room because we went to Bohol) because of the toilet! I had to ask them to fix the flush and it took them half day to do it. Then there was no water for one entire night. That was bad. But still thier sta ff was great. We're going back there to stay in December.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerbenaPensionHouse, Director of Sales at Verbena Capitol Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family, thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Capitol Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verbena Capitol Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verbena Capitol Suites

Address: 79 Don Gil Garcia St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Verbena Capitol Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether in Cebu for business and leisure, you can be sure you have a clean, decent, cozy, and affordable place to stay at Verbena Capitol Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Verbena Capitol Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verbena Capitol Suites Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verbena Capitol Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.