We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret that should no longer be so!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1730 Jesuit House

1730 Jesuit House
Zulueta Street, Cebu City, Philippines
09359984966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 Attractions in Cebu City
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Gland, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A secret that should no longer be so!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Note ... this is now known as Museo Parian sa Sugbo.

At the end of a decent city tour in Cebu, we finished with what we thought would be a 10 minute "pop-in-pop-out" visit of the Jesuit House. We were only stopping since my partner attended a Jesuit school. But .. wow ... what a treat. This was probably the best part of our Cebu tour.
~PHP$100 (USD$2.40) for entrance, not bad at all.

We were met by a local architect who is working at the excavation site, who proceeded to give us a tour. For nearly 1 hour, we were brought through the history of Cebu, and the Philippines, in an amazing display of art and artifacts. More importantly, were the teachings and displays of the history of the Parian settlement in Cebu ... the area surrounding Colon Street; the Jesuit House; the Yap-Sandiego house; and the Casa Gorordo (all worthy visits) and what an integral role that area played in the formation of a modern Philippines.
Every day, they excavate and find more treasures ... learn more of the way life was ... and shed light on the mysteries of the Cebuano way of life.
We were in awe of this wondrous place. We urge anyone who is in Cebu to visit. You won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great, very educational tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Special thanks to Architect Anthony Abelgas who eloquently took us through the wonderful pieces in this museum/house. This place had been taken for granted in the past and we're so glad that it now has gained the respect and awe from each of its visitors. All the best! We hope to come back again soon!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatican City, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum, but Get Rid of Warehouse Junk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a very interesting Museum. It is an old Jesuit House that is now a museum. It is in the historic area of Cebu, so it's definitely worth a visit. My complaint is that the area around the museum is used as a warehouse, filled with junk and stuff.Doesn't an important historic place like the 1730 Jesuit House deserve a place of its own, cleared of clutter?. This should have a nice garden around the houses, instead of all that junk.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Oldest House in Cebu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Back in late 1700s (or was it early 1800s), a strong earthquake hit Cebu, and some early stone walled houses, lacking in proper reinforcements, toppled to the ground. As a precautionary measure, the Spanish government limitted the use of coral stone walls up to the ground floor only. Which meant that the second floor walls would have to use wood, which was easier to build. Some ancestral houses we see, with stone ground floor walls, and wooden second floors, were probably built after the earthquake. The 1730 Jesuit is the ONLY house in Cebu that has stone walls all the way to the second floor....making it the only house that has survived the test of time of that pre-earthquake era.
And yes, the interior is still pretty much in good shape....the wide plank floors, roof trusses, stone walls, roof tiles, etc, somehow were built to last for a hundred more years.
And as the caretakers would say, "please do come in. The floors are still strong enough to hold a party. " :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent, but you need a guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The more than one hour tour was worth every minute. The tour guide was very interesting, sadly, he said that he is not the main tour guide in the museum house. The history of the place was interesting but the conversion of the warehouse into a museum is even more interesting. I highly suggest going to this place when you're in Cebu -- that is if you're interested to find out the history of the Filipino-Chinese Catholics in Cebu.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1730 Jesuit House also viewed

 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to 1730 Jesuit House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1730 Jesuit House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.