We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location-Good Value.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cebu Century Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cebu Century Hotel to your Saves list
Cebu Century Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cebu Century Hotel
Pelaez corner Colon Street, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 58 Cebu City B&B and Inns
LANCASHIRE
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Central Location-Good Value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here on the 3 January 2013 for one night in a room good for 3 persons.Room was spacious,beds comfortable and clean,with TV,shower room was large.Room had recently been refurbished.All rooms are on 2nd floor and upwards as no rooms on ground floor reception level.No views from windows.Hotel is in Colon which is the old quarter of the city,it does not have any catering facilities,however its got easy access to local stores and fast food outlets.Perfect for a short stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
3
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meycauayan, Bulacan, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

ive been staying in this hotel since i was young with my parents on summer vacations to my dad's hometown. then this hotel was among the oldest & known hotel in the city. for the reason that it is situated in colon street, in the heart of the city, very near the tourist spots- sto nino cathedral & magellan's cross, haven market for bargain pasalubong- taboan market. u may opt to either ride a jeepney/walk for an exercise. but nowadays, watch an eye for ur stuff of course!

the price was value for money, we had a room rate of 900/night with a queen bed & 2-single beds (we are a family of four) and usually stays at the 4th level. in our annual family trip to cebu, wch is also my hubby's province, this is always our stop-over place as we stroll along to buy pasalubong & of course, pay a visit to the cathedral of sto. nino

there's a nearby kitchenette across the street (walk few meters more to your right as you exit the hotel) wch has been there for so long since the 80s, food selection, the taste & its price is very practical (gesh i just forgot the name) but its a popular kitchenette/restaurant featured then on the newspaper.

if you need a value for money, very accessible & a safe place to leave ur stuff as you go over the city, choose this hotel. the staff were accommodating to us too, maybe because we use to stay here yearly & they have become familiar with us as well ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we arrived during a peak period (Nov 2) from bohol to cebu. the location was nothing special, but i must say it is near the points of interests - we only walked going to the port, aa bbq restaurant (must visit!), sto nino church, magellan's cross, ceb u cathedral, shamrock pasalubong center, 2 ancestral homes turned museums (yap-sandiego and casa gorordo) and the heritage monument. it was one jeepney away from fuente circle. rooms were spacious & newly renovated (get 5th floor rooms) and cafeteria had a homey feel. we got 2 double beds, a cable tv, mini-sala, ref, clean bathroom and a/c - for only P1,100 a night - there were 4 of us. hotel also had new elevators. staff were accommodating and helpful, they also allowed us to check out late (3pm!) and leave our luggage until 7pm in their storage area for free (flight was at 10pm so we had time to go around and hear mass after checking out).

Room Tip: get the renovated rooms at the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights for an important event. We found cockroaches on the floor and the dirt particles are on the walls and on the bed, a sign that the room is not well-maintained and cleaned. Every night, the renovation downstairs is scheduled until 11pm causing us not to sleep and rest early because of the noise done by hammering and drilling. When we called the staff to stop the hammering and drilling noises, the staff told us that the management has deadline to finish the renovation and promised us to stop by 10:30 pm, yet it stopped around 11 pm..so, a sign that they do not care about their customers. Although it is a cheap hotel, but management and staff should learn the basic Management and Customer Services 101.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Santos, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night, a sunday night in room 309.
Noise from a band playing somewhere downstairs from about 7.30 pm until 3.30 am, so not too much sleep that night.... And I found a bedbug on the bed, and I know what a bedbug looks like!
The room, including the bathroom really look tired and in need of renovation.

The only pro is, it's close to the sights of Cebu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacloban, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is unique. The hotel entrance blends in with the surrounding buildings and only an alert eye will tell you that you have reached your destination. If you are looking for basic, clean, accommodations at a price that go easy on your wallet....look no further. There is more to value than just price. Have stayed here before and was very pleased. This time was no exception. Desk staff are very friendly and accommodating. Rooms...although small....are very well kept and clean. Hotel is in the midst of the busy downtown area...and as such offers the visitor access to numerous restaurants....fast food....and shopping. Short taxi ride from the ferry boat pier.....or approximately half hour ride (depending on traffic) from the airport. You will read good and bad reviews about most any property...but from my personal experience....this hotel should be one you might want to visit. There are numerous inexpensive hotels in Cebu City....but rest assured that you will find your stay at the Cebu Century hotel a pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Comfort room is so bad with very dirty shower curtain. Shower and faucet needed to be clean and to be fixed. Please check their towel,it's so dirty. Their towels has so many stain. They need to replace their towel. One more thing, staff in the hotel are very noisy and not friendly. Staff are not friendly and don't know how to smile to everyone coming and out their hotel....This is the most dirtiest hotel that I have ever stayed..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cebu Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu Century Hotel

Address: Pelaez corner Colon Street, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cebu Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cebu Century Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cebu Century Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.