We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stella to your Saves list
Hotel Stella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Don Gil Garcia Street Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Marikina Heights,marikina city
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

When choosing this hotel, don't expect too much. The right word would be BASIC.. Breakfast is served for 30mins.. Terrible.. Ordering for hot water at our room takes 45mins.. Our accommodation is a family room with an adjoining family room. The bathroom is small that is challenging when taking a bath. The place is nice and budget friendly knowing that cebu has pricey hotels. The front desk staffs are accommodating to all our queries and gladly helps us when asking for directions around the city

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    32
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
23
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

the room's nice. for me it's ok coz we stay most of the time outside, cool aircon. the staffs were polite and friendy. in addition, the food was great! and the location is just near within the capitol and fuente circle, the central business district. the environment is peaceful and accesible. two thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

• Rooms are Small but clean
• Beds are comfy though linens have stains so it looks dirty
• Accommodating and friendly staff
• budget friendly hotel
• fast wifi at rooms
• water pressure is low on the 5th floor of the building

- overall i recommend this hotel ☺☺

Room Tip: • standard rooms good for 2 pax - P999 w/o breakfast • 5th floor rooms has low water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel has modern and classy interiors and furniture that will make you feel like you're in a 4 or 5-star hotel even if the rooms are very tiny. The bed was great, and pillows were very, very comfortable. The bed sheets and towel are very clean, thick, and new. The room itself, and the bathroom are very clean and new. Blazing fast wi-fi. The hotel staff are also friendly and courteous. At the end of the day, you really can't deny the rooms are really small (and so is breakfast), but everything I just mentioned makes up for the small room, not to mention the price is good.

Room Tip: I noticed that the rooms on the left side of the building (when facing it) are much bigger, so reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We happened to stay in this hotel when my booking with the other nearby hotel was cancelled unexpectedly. We arrived at 5am and luckily, they have available superior room for us. Although the room is small and nothing special on its layout/design, the quality service of the staff can cover up that flaw. The room rate includes breakfast which you have the option to eat in their cafeteria or have it serve in the room for free.
They recommended a van service which brought us to different tourist destination in the city. And I find the rate reasonable plus the driver is good. He's not only a driver but a tourist guide because he's ready to answer all our question in the places we visited. This made us decides to get his service the following day on our way to the beach.
The hotel may not be the best among the budget hotel around the area but still worth the money. I will come back next time if given the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle N S W
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hotel Stella is a relatively new hotel situated one street back from Osmena Boulevard in Barangay Capitol

I would recommend this hotel to somebody who really just wants somewhere clean comfortable to lay there head at night or someone on a trip to Cebu City to meet a say prospective partner.

Everything they offer on their website www.hotelstella.com.ph is true.

One warning this hotel does not really suit families as the rooms are very small even the family room which we stayed in is small but saying that the rooms are clean, 81cm flat screen tv wall mounted with a good range of both local and cable channels,small standard bar fridge, wardrobe for basic clothing, bathroom was clean but small.

Staff are very very friendly nothing was a trouble.We had a couple of issues getting the room cleaned but that was more miscommunication and the time we were leaving the room of a in most cases afternoon.

I stayed in a room with breakfast included..As is the hotel the breakfast is also small, one plus was it was delivered to our room free of charge on request.If like a big hearty brekkie this brekkie will leave you disappointed and hungry for me it was ok.

It doesn`t really have any outstanding qualities aside from the really friendly staff everyone from the security guards to the porters, cleaners, receptionists is a credit to the hotel

I would stay here again if I had to but will be looking for something bigger next trip..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The family room was small. Wall mirrors gave an illusion of space but then, it was just an illusion. And to add up to the minuteness of everything... they serve a small and forgettable breakfast.

The location, near the major hospitals Chong Hua and Cebu Doctors, make this tiny little hotel a decent place to stay if you are on a medical visit to Cebu. The hotel is a short walk to Robinson's Cybergate.

Some taxis do not know of this hotel so tell them to bring you to Capitol Tourist Inn at Gil Garcia. Stella is across Capitol Tourist Inn. Other inns nearby are Jasmin Pension and Westpoint Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Address: Don Gil Garcia Street Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.