We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy+creepy=fun dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of STK ta bai! at Paolito's Seafood House

STK ta bai! at Paolito's Seafood House
26 Orchid Street | Capitol Site, Cebu City, Philippines
Update restaurant details
Ranked #30 of 331 restaurants in Cebu City
Cuisines: Filipino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: First of all, it's hard NOT to remember the rather longish name. STK stands for the local dialect's term for grilled, sour soup, and pickled, a description of the type of food one can order in the restaurant. The ambience of this seafood house is unique. It's actually an old house with 1930s-1960s memorabilias and antiques. Their POS is even this old cash register. Their phones are the old ones with dials. Then the food. They serve authentic grilled Filipino dishes like the jaws of the tuna fish ("panga" in the local dialect) and innovative creations like curried crabs. Finally, the bill...US$7/head and you head out with a doggy bag! Good ambience, excellent food, and great value for money.
Butuan, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“yummy+creepy=fun dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Me and hubby burped on the unique taste of the food we ate here. Grilled Panga, Tinola (Fish Stew) and Kinilaw ( fish cook in vinegar). It is truly a Cebuano-way recipe.

The physical set-up of this restaurant is somewhat creepy. Old sort of collections are displayed and utilized.

Coming here is like a jigzaw puzzle. Some cab drivers do not know the exact place. It is located in an interior part - nearly back of Chung Hua Hospital- but not the access area. You have to ask around. No route for jeepney here. You need to walk about 10 minutes to get a cab.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    32
    34
    9
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“STK Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The trademark tuna steak is great and the beer is cold. Second generation management for this landmark eatery. Wonderful authentic atmosphere. Hogh end quality for about $10 USD. A "real" local treat.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
“I shall come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The place is really quaint and I have no complains on the food here. In fact, I have nothing but praises. I've been here twice and I haven't had issues. The food were served hot and sumptuous. The price was very reasonable. It's not the cheapest. It's not really budget-friendly, but you get your money's worth here. The service is not at the fastest, but I haven't really noticed that it took that long. I was with family then, so I must have been too distracted to notice. There certainly are areas for improvement but no complaints. I shall come back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I will definitely go back to their restaurant. We've waited for a couple of minutes to have a vacant seat when we went there last night but the wait was worth it. It's a mus try for food lovers. It looks like a small restaurant but once you get inside it's so big and there were doors in almost every direction.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fast service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Mainly a seafood menu- a few non-seafood items. All our meals were tasty and served quickly, with a smile. I loved the old house and all the pieces of old furniture, memorabilia and china.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed STK ta bai! at Paolito's Seafood House also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to STK ta bai! at Paolito's Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage STK ta bai! at Paolito's Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.