We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo Neat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harolds Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harolds Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harolds Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorordo Avenue | Lahug, Cebu City 6000 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Legazpi
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sooo Neat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

After two hotels, this hotel offered us a ‘Welcome ‘ drink as I just requested the Concierge for an ‘Anniversary ‘ surprise for my hubby (while he was checking in). I thought that was it, the staff then signaled that it was a regular part of welcoming guests. She asked for our name and anything I would want written on a card. The cake and computerized card was more than what I expected. They were thanking us for making them part of the special trip. The hotel room was immaculately clean, after two hotel stay during the trip, this time we had four pillows without asking. Bath was all ok, no problem at all. Breakfast was good though not as many choices. Location was great…though we could have stayed longer to explore the quaint restos and spa around. The Roof deck was a nice place to have a drink and talk. Will bring the kids next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    48
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
15
23
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved it! The best part, in my opinion, is the service. Like others have mentioned, Harolds' staff provides 5-star service -- everyone is so kind, friendly and helpful. My room was great, too. I booked a deluxe room with two twin beds, for my mum and me. The room was spacious, the AC worked well, the beds were comfortable, and the water pressure and temperature were great. The wifi didn't work on the 9th floor, but the LAN connection provided by the hotel was fast and perfectly fine for my needs. Some may think that the breakfast buffet is small, but I thought it was the right size with good food -- a mix of American and Filipino dishes. (I'm not into huge buffets with average food that some people seem to drool over.) Went to the rooftop bar once, and they served tasty drinks for a very reasonable price. The guests are a nice mix of people from the Philippines, other Asian countries and Europe. After a 4-day trip to Palawan, I came back to Cebu and stayed at another popular hotel for the last 4 days of my vacation (hint, it's across the street from Ayala). Huge mistake. I wish I had booked Harolds again!

Room Tip: Stayed in a deluxe room, and I recommend it for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Lak, Thailand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel, and i can say that we did not regret choosing this hotel, location wise its good its very near ayala center. Around 50 php for the taxi. The staff of the hotel are nice as well, very service minded. especially for the frontmen/security they will get cabs for you without hesitations.
Rooms are nice, equipped with good amenities and some are for request as well. the air condition is perfectly cool, the only problem i have is the wifi connection it seems i could not connect using every device i have, both android and ios. they try to check it they just mentioned that its the location of my room . :( haha
Breakfast is good as well, congee/cereal section and more, everyday different food being served.
The best part of staying in this hotel is the spa beside it "Thai Boran" located just on the left side of the hotel, good service good spa place. so everyday is massage day.
i feel bad though i was not able to try the roof deck. :( but overall I recommend this hotel for people visiting cebu.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel was a plesant surprise. It could pass as a small 5-star hotel if it had a swimming pool. Room and bathroom was very large. One good thing about the hotel is they offer a LAN cable and wifi in the rooms. Rarely you see a hotel have LAN cable for computers instead of only wifi access. Breakfast was simple but of standard. They have a happy hour promotion that they advertise but when we went to the bar, we found out that it was only available on weekends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Harolds depicts the modern day business hotel. Like the usual find in most cities, it has the atmosphere of a systematic workplace that usually lacks the homey milieu. Location wise, they're 1km away from Ayala Business Park. The rooms are spacious compare to other neighboring hotels. Comfy bed and linen. They also have expansive bath area and basic toiletries. One of their drawback is they don't have a pool, which I think they should consider to have an appeal to those guests with child/dren as well as to those travelling with friends.
Their breakfast buffet (H Café) was limited, restaurant staff were accommodating though. We haven't got to try their roof deck bar, Highlights because of an event that night.
Aside from non-working remote control, the only complaint we had was the unwelcome knock on our door at 6:00 am asking if were checking out.

I strongly suggest you book your reservation online as they offer lower rates than over-the-counter and over-the-phone rates.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Harold's Hotel has clean, modern rooms. Rooms are relatively bigger than other business hotels. Buffet breakfast is included but selection is limited. No swimming pool or other leisure amenities. Check-in and check-out is a little bit slow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Located in the center of Cebu City, Harolds Hotel has the convenience of being easily accessible but at the same time, quiet and discreet. The rooms are comfy, spacious, and clean, this being a relatively new hotel. The staff are friendly and accommodating, eager to please their guests. The food in their breakfast and lunch buffet is okay, but nothing to write home about. During breakfast, my companions and I were wondering why they didn't have the food that Cebu is famous for. Where are the luscious, golden Cebu mangoes? And how come they didn't have the crispy, salty friend danggit? We forgot all about that as we were checking out of the hotel. The amiable General Manager of Harolds himself sent us off with a warm smile, a handshake, and a sincere invitation to visit their hotel again anytime we were in Cebu. All in all, a pleasant stay in a nice little hotel. So when visiting Cebu, why not Harolds?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Hotel

Address: Gorordo Avenue | Lahug, Cebu City 6000 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harolds Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAROLDS HOTEL offers a vantage point to guests with business or leisure reasons in the city. Situated in the uptown area of Cebu City, about 30 minutes away from Mactan International Airport, Harolds Hotel is only ten minutes away from financial districts, government offices, universities and colleges, and major shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Harolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harolds Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harolds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.