We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice area, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harolds Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harolds Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harolds Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorordo Avenue | Lahug, Cebu City 6000 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 77 hotels in Cebu City
Vineland, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, nice area, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last Jan 25 to Feb.1 2013, venue for our HS reunion. Checked in was quick, just a mis-information from the receptionist regarding my free breakfast buffet, first day was free and second day I have to pay, which no problem for me. Trays always out of food and u have to ask if there is some more food coming. My third day, I decided to eat in the nearby mall. Room is spacious and always clean. The only problem I had was the phone line connection, everytime I called out, line got cut off. I was told that every call there is a charge and I notified the receptionist about the problem, she said "We will take care of it Sir". Staff are friendly, they do everything to make my stay a memorable one, but I know they are only doing their job. Management? I end up paying those disconnected calls. I didn't bother to questions, it will be a waste of time. Hopefully next time, If I decided to stay here again, things will be better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    50
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
15
26
9
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Their rooms are good (we tried their executive, their superior and their deluxe types), so we can definitely vouch that their rooms are good.

Executive suite:
Pros
-helpful crew and front desk
-spacious room
-comfy bed
-can make domestic calls
-electronic key card
-good aircon
-nice carpet
-tempting mini bar in the fridge
-with dining area
-shower area is also good with hot and cold shower; toilet with bidet
Cons
-logging in to the wifi is tedious and signal isn't that strong...
-housekeeping was late in setting up the extra beds

Superior room: (adjoining the executive suite)
-all in all it was good... Hubby's parents saw ants in the room though

Deluxe room: (stayed there on the wedding night)
-with bathtub and good shower area
-spacious room
-can make local calls
-we didn't bother about the wifi.. (We didn't need it at that time anyway)
-everything was good actually

CONS:
Their rooms were great but if u wanna have a wedding function with this hotel, always make sure that everything will be done as agreed on the contract.

Pros:
-their banquet manager was very beautiful and accommodating.. I always get a quick reply from her even beyond office hours just to follow up my wedding.. She knows I'm an OC
-superb food tasting and food presentation
-room discounts(for the rooms we booked) and early check in (with additional P1000 for check in at 8am)
-guests told me that the food was reallly really good.. The guests appreciated it... Not the sponsors... I'll explain this below

CONS:
-no Signage for the wedding provided
-there were Only 7 tables (for guests instead of the agreed 10tables on the contract) and One long table for the sponsors
-Pica pica with shrimp (I specifically instructed that shrimp and pork shouldn't be served... The shrimp triggered my cousin's allergy which panicked my aunt...they had to rush him to the hospital)
-Grape juice but wine? (It was on the contract to give us grape juice but alas! When wine toasting came, me and my groom drank wine! I was a bit dizzy after coz I usually don't drink!)
-Sponsors served late (the guests were almost full and done with their meal but the sponsors just had soup? They were already very hungry... They're supposed to be served FIRST... Coz they're my VIPs... But no... So I was ashamed after the wedding when they told me about this... My sponsors were doctors, lawyers and such but they weren't able to eat properly... They were able to start eating only after the guests finished theirs)

-Also bride and groom (we were the last ones to be served the food... We were just given soup.. Good thing my aunt asked the crew and finally they gave us our dishes after they served the sponsors)... We didn't finish our food already coz we had to stop eating to participate in the program coz the guests were already done with their food...
-Lacking food presentation: fruit salad just in a platter and not in a salad bowl or like during food tasting in wine glass
-Iced tea instead of sprite (we instructed to have sprite...)
-i understand that the sponsors meal was plated and not buffet. But The way the dishes were served to the sponsors was not organized. The appetizers (like the fish roe) were almost not served. If mama didn't check it, it wouldn't have been served. The fish roe (appetizer) already came with the fruit salad... Appetizers are supposed to be served before the mani course...
-moreover, the one in charge of the sound system was like a newbie... He didn't know how to operate the sound system... Seriously? Good thing my sister (17 yrs old) had knowledge about gadgets so she made the sound system work...

They would've been okay as a reception venue coz the function room had a good carpet and good interiors... We also chose this Hotel coz of it's proximity to our church ceremony. Good for pictorials... But I think they should improve on the way they handle agreed terms "On the Day" itself. They should follow what was stipulated in the contract. There were a lot lot lot of glitches which could've ruined our wedding night but I was just fortunate that I had a supportive family who backed me up at that time...they did everything to mend those lapses...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarlac,Philippines
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Function rooms are spacious and relatively new. It's my first time to stay in this hotel,kind of impressed because despite small it was overshadowed by the neatness,good interiors and good customer service.staff are very accommodating.rooms are clean and space is just right.one most importantly,location is the best,in front of a bank and near the mall.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

i must say it is one of the best places to stay in Cebu, one of the best places to dine in as well since their rates are of reasonable prices.

Reservations staff Mhel was very helpful when i made a booking for me and my family. Front Desk staff were all accommodating and friendly.

Rooms were nice and bed was really comfortable. I love their restaurant at the roof top, overlooking the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at Harolds Hotel again during my short Cebu visit and I must say everything about it is even better than last time:
(1) Check in: i requested really early check in (via email and in person ) as well as breakfast same day as I was departing fairly early on my departure date and will miss breakfast then.
BOTH REQUESTS WERE GRANTED.

(2) the buffet breakfast was better this time, with hot dishes and fresh fruit replenished constantly, unlike my last stay with them.

(3) WiFi is now available in rooms rather than just the lobby or the restaurant. This was a saving grace for me considering I was there for work.

(4) the hospitality of everyone from front desk to the valets was just as good as before.... I felt secure and well taken care of.

The only downside is its location, but taxis are aplenty to take you to Ayala Mall (a 5 minute ride) ir anywhere in Cebu.


Airport rise via taxi takes 30 minutes late night or early Am and costs around Php250-300.


I will be returning again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosarito, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After staying at many different hotels in Cebu city, this is from now on my first choice. Got a very good deal on Agoda for a deluxe room, which was roomy, and only $7 more than a standard. Everything worked as it was supposed to and housekeeping did their job, including paying attention to the "clean room, do not disturb sign" very well. Not something you can count on in the Philippines. Also, check in and check out was fast and smooth. Again, sometimes an issue at other hotels. An overall good experience. However, breakfast after 9:00 am will leave you picking at leavings and snatching accessories off of other tables. Do try the attached coffee shop for delicious flavored coffees and aperitifs. Also, the rooftop lounge is definitely a place to go for the pleasant atmosphere. I liked it so much I had all my dinners there.

Room Tip: Price check the difference for a standard room versus a deluxe and opt for the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I go back because the rooms are great, lots of space, lcd television, spacious bath etc..... And a security coded elevator keeping outsider from entering the building. On prior trips i have stayed at this location and have ordered food to be delivered and it was no problem, this time the hotel staff requested a fee on all foods brought in from outside delivery services,I have never seen this done anywhere. The biggest negative about this hotel is the hallways are narrow and the place rooms tends to be very noisy. So if you have late arrivals or partiers returning late you will hear all there noise. There is no pool and a small health club.

Room Tip: request a room around the corner from the elevator, there is one on each floor and those tend to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Hotel

Address: Gorordo Avenue | Lahug, Cebu City 6000 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harolds Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAROLDS HOTEL offers a vantage point to guests with business or leisure reasons in the city. Situated in the uptown area of Cebu City, about 30 minutes away from Mactan International Airport, Harolds Hotel is only ten minutes away from financial districts, government offices, universities and colleges, and major shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Harolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harolds Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harolds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.