We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It suited me fine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harolds Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harolds Hotel to your Saves list
Harolds Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorordo Avenue | Lahug, Cebu City 6000 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Rosarito, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It suited me fine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After staying at many different hotels in Cebu city, this is from now on my first choice. Got a very good deal on Agoda for a deluxe room, which was roomy, and only $7 more than a standard. Everything worked as it was supposed to and housekeeping did their job, including paying attention to the "clean room, do not disturb sign" very well. Not something you can count on in the Philippines. Also, check in and check out was fast and smooth. Again, sometimes an issue at other hotels. An overall good experience. However, breakfast after 9:00 am will leave you picking at leavings and snatching accessories off of other tables. Do try the attached coffee shop for delicious flavored coffees and aperitifs. Also, the rooftop lounge is definitely a place to go for the pleasant atmosphere. I liked it so much I had all my dinners there.

Room Tip: Price check the difference for a standard room versus a deluxe and opt for the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    59
    12
    1
    7
See reviews for
16
29
12
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I go back because the rooms are great, lots of space, lcd television, spacious bath etc..... And a security coded elevator keeping outsider from entering the building. On prior trips i have stayed at this location and have ordered food to be delivered and it was no problem, this time the hotel staff requested a fee on all foods brought in from outside delivery services,I have never seen this done anywhere. The biggest negative about this hotel is the hallways are narrow and the place rooms tends to be very noisy. So if you have late arrivals or partiers returning late you will hear all there noise. There is no pool and a small health club.

Room Tip: request a room around the corner from the elevator, there is one on each floor and those tend to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in Harolds for the Christmas holidays. The service was very good. The rooms were very nice albeit a bit small. I loved their breakfast buffet - lots of choice and a good selection of Filipino food. I would definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel; less than 3 years old. Everything about the hotel was new and polished. I was on a business trip, and I stayed in a standard room. Compared to other 3 star, or even 4 star hotels, the room was spacious and well-lighted. I've always disliked dim hotel rooms. The walls were thick concrete, so you won't get to hear the guests in the other rooms. The room was quiet, and the bed comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised to find a complimentary fruit plate as a welcome treat.

Around the neighborhood were plenty of taxis. A convenience store was around a corner, a bank across the street, and eating places were close by. A leisurely ten minute walk would take you to a big shopping mall with cinemas, shops, and restaurants.

What really struck with me was the care and attention the staff gave to guests. My meeting was unexpectedly extended another day, and I had to rebook my flight, and my hotel stay. The staff really went out of their way to help me with my needs; from housekeeping requests, to making calls with the airline for me to talk to them. I don't often encounter such care and attention; even in 5 star hotels.

I really hope this hotel could continue this level of service as the years go by. They make one feel special and valued.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in Harold's during the Sinulog Festival. The hotel is located in an excellent area, away from the crowds and traffic while at the same time still at walking distance to Ayala Center.
We were greeted by their cheerful and hospitable staff the moment the taxi stopped on their premises, and check-in and check-out could easily be done in no more than 10minutes.

We booked two regular rooms: one with a queen-sized bed and one with two beds. It was surprising to note that although both were of the same price, the bathrooms were a tad different. It seems that the hotel is focused more on their queen-sized bed rooms rather than the one with two beds as the room with the single bed had a bathtub. Both rooms were clean, and the beds were extremely soft. Sleeping in was very comfortable, and the only thing that's keeping you from waking up would be the wonderful breakfast buffet in the morning.

With the location, the hospitality, the plush linen, the spacious bathrooms and living space, and the buffet, I see no reason why you would not consider Harold's during your visit to Cebu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

There was a bank across the street you could got to if you needed money which was great. The staff were fairly helpful. The rooms were nice if a bit small. The breakfast buffet was ok but the waffles were self serving and therefore a bit dangerous

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 23- 27 jan, had a very nice spacious room that was spotless clean, food was excellent for the whole time we were there, ( try the wonderful buffets ). The staff were some of the best we have come across I'm the Philippines. So to sum up... excellent.. many thanks to all, it was a pleasure

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Hotel

Address: Gorordo Avenue | Lahug, Cebu City 6000 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harolds Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAROLDS HOTEL offers a vantage point to guests with business or leisure reasons in the city. Situated in the uptown area of Cebu City, about 30 minutes away from Mactan International Airport, Harolds Hotel is only ten minutes away from financial districts, government offices, universities and colleges, and major shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harolds Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harolds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.