We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harolds Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harolds Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harolds Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorordo Avenue | Lahug, Cebu City 6000 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 77 hotels in Cebu City
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

There was a bank across the street you could got to if you needed money which was great. The staff were fairly helpful. The rooms were nice if a bit small. The breakfast buffet was ok but the waffles were self serving and therefore a bit dangerous

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    50
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
15
26
9
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 23- 27 jan, had a very nice spacious room that was spotless clean, food was excellent for the whole time we were there, ( try the wonderful buffets ). The staff were some of the best we have come across I'm the Philippines. So to sum up... excellent.. many thanks to all, it was a pleasure

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was amazed at the quality of this hotel's rooms, excellent service of the people, good breakfast in a splendid lobby restaurant, hell even the card keys were of the tap kind (high tech!). Just stayed there for a night but is easily make it my fave hotel in Cebu. Location near Ayala Cebu mall and the IT Park makes it even more appealing due to its accessibility. Must stay hotel in Cebu.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I think our stay with Harolds Hotel was worth the price:).

Food: The breakfast was really delicious. There were a lot of breakfast types to choose from. It was consistent with the food they served for our banquet event. I give it a 3.7 out of 5

Service: The staffs were professional & accommodating. However, I think those in the banquet needs to improve more on their coordination with the front desk/sales staffs. It took a while before they were able to settle our bill. They also need to improve the availing of the buffet breakfast. They just randomly asked us if what room we were from and let us in without even preparing some coupons or vouchers which I think is a more reliable & convenient way. (2.7 out of 5)

Accommodations: The rooms were clean & cozy. (3.0 out of 5)

Simply speaking, I recommend this to those who are planning to hold their corporate events in Cebu.

Room Tip: I don't have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I were here last July 2012 and found the place to be very pleasant and modern. The room and bed were very comfy and was very pleased at the meals. The hotel is conveniently located close to the Ayala Mall. The hotel staff were very cordial and polite as well. Kudos to all of you hotel staff for making our stay pleasant and wonderful! I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends . Again, my thanks to all of the hotel staff for their hospitality and cordial welcome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, Laguna, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Food:
Buffet for Php 399 pesos for dinner was good. For hotel ambiance and quite a number of dishes to choose from, value for money was good. Just don't taste their rendition of Maki and Sushi as the rice seems like the rice they use for "puso" or the hanging rice that you eat on the streets. Also, the cuisine was purely hotel-like. Probably they should also prepare food that will highlight Cebu cuisine so clients who are excited to taste the local delicacy need not go out to taste it.

Facilities:
I was there for a seminar and some relax time. Seminar venue was good as the space was large enough for our function and you can easily make changes in the setup to adapt to changing needs of the situation. The sound system however needs to be changed. The microphone kept on dying and I felt I was dying to towards the end as I needed to increase the volume of my voice so everyone can hear me. If this was a wedding reception, I can just imagine the toast getting a tad challenging for the one proposing the toast. Rooms on the other hand were kept well, at least since they are still new, and the internet connection superb. Hopefully though, the next time I check in, they would have wifi in the rooms as well. The bar at the roof deck was fantastic as you will get a view of the entire city, plus the service crew who were more than willing to have a chat about cebu.

Service:
Service was also ok sans some communication gap between the organizers and the hotel crew. Everything has been ironed out however thanks to the manager in charge. One thing though, do you really need to charge for early check-in? If there are rooms available, should you not be excited that your clients will check in early so they are not given a chance to look for other hotels. I can understand if there are no rooms available, the client must wait for rooms to become available, but to charge for early check-in? And charge 40% of room rate for one hour of practical use?

Room Tip: Try their roofdeck bar. Great place for a nightcap conversations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked 2 Deluxe Rooms at Harold's for my Family's trip to Cebu. They expected us and the Check-In process was a breeze. The staff greets you with warm smiles and are very welcoming. The Hotel seems pretty new, it can't be more than 2 years old. The rooms were spacious, clean and modern. With iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. A pleasant surprise was that one of our rooms had a balcony, one of only three in the hotel.

It's located 5-10 minutes from the Ayala Center. Also nearby are a number of well-known Restaurants in Cebu such as AA BBQ, Ching Palace, Chika-an and Golden Cowrie. It's easy getting around by the Jeepneys which pass right outside the Hotel. If you aren't the adventurous type, you should stick to the Cabs. The friendly staff will be glad to assist you with either.

After a long day in the City, you can cap off your night with a few drinks at their Rooftop Bar. It's look and feel would have no problem standing next to the high end, big name Hotel Bars in Makati. They have a good selection of drinks and snacks, all of the food and drinks are very reasonably priced.

The breakfast buffet was good, we stayed for two nights and had a different selection of breakfast items for both days. The best thing about this hotel, other than the Rooftop Bar would have to be the Staff. Very friendly and accomodating, willing to go out of their way to ensure your stay is comfortable.

Overall a Great Hotel, with only the lack of a Swimming Pool to round up that vacation feel. But, this was made to be a Business Hotel. It's close proximity to the Business Park and Downtown areas is a huge plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Hotel

Address: Gorordo Avenue | Lahug, Cebu City 6000 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harolds Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAROLDS HOTEL offers a vantage point to guests with business or leisure reasons in the city. Situated in the uptown area of Cebu City, about 30 minutes away from Mactan International Airport, Harolds Hotel is only ten minutes away from financial districts, government offices, universities and colleges, and major shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Harolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harolds Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harolds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.