We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elizabeth Cebu

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elizabeth Cebu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Archbishop Reyes Avenue | Camputhaw, Cebu City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Cochrane, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Downtown location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here during Sinulog festival for 3 nights.Close to the parade route and sport complex and fire works display..A short walk to the parade route from this Hotel.The hotel it self was comfortable but did bump up our rate even after we booked it on Agoda.com.Dont book a transfer from the airport to the hotel as you can easily take a cab from the airport for less than half the price.It's also close to the ferries that go to Bohol if your plannig on going there next.The staff was okay but it took time to correct problems with the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    32
    17
    0
    4
See reviews for
19
15
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

i would gladly spend my money on a hotel room here. great customer service, great rooms, awesome location, and the buffet breakfast is very tasty!

i would, however, make sure that their elevator (one of two) is working properly. when i was there, one would not go anywhere!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were given a Junior Suite in Hotel Elizabeth for Sinulog. First and foremost, the location might be their best selling point ever. The hotel is located in close proximity to Ayala Center, perhaps just a street away from the left wing of the mall. We travelled during Sinulog and this was when we truly appreciated the location, it was the first visible hotel from the Parade/Baseline area where the street parties were. Since it was difficult to get cabs during Sinulog, walking was the next best thing and we were really thankful that the hotel was just a 15min walk from the party.

The room was extremely spacious --perhaps too spacious as we got a corner room with a big bed, which also included a sofa, a work desk, and another lounging chair. In a rough estimate, I'd say the corner junior suite could even host a tiny party of about 10 persons. The room was clean, and there were a lot of pillows that will ensure a good night's sleep. In my opinion though, there was not enough lighting. The bathroom came equipped with a bathtub and generous hotel toiletries.
My only pet peeve was that the bathroom was visible from the sleeping area, Although that is common already in hotels in other countries, I do not think it will sit well in a country such as the Philippines. Do not worry though as the blinds will completely block your view of the bathroom from the sleeping area.

Check-in and check-out were easy; my only issue was that the front desk is not as organized as I wanted them to be. My friend borrowed my room key and left it in the front desk, and when I asked for it, they had to find out who my friend talked to. There was no central communication between the people there --but this was just a small issue, I do not think it will affect your view on the hotel.

The hotel's great location, fulfilling breakfast buffet, and spacious rooms are worth considering as Hotel Elizabeth should really be one of your options when you wish to visit Cebu. Especially during its Sinulog Festival.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we stay here when we go to Cebu City because is is a pretty good value and a good location near Ayala Center. The rooms are nicely appointed and the furnishing are OK. DO NOT WALK ON THE ROOM CARPETS BAREFOOT. You will get black. It doesn't appear that the carpets have been cleaned in a long time. The main weakness of the hotel is the restaurant. It serves the basic buffet for breakfast but it is rather bland and lacks imagination. If they would try they could have a restaurant to attract more customer throughout the day. I have tried to eat other meals there besides breakfast to include the steak they advertise, and it really was not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

if you are looking for a hotel near ayala mall, a hotel with danggit on its breakfast buffet. very relaxing place, although they can look to improve the wifi service inside rooms. i have to go down the reception lobby for wifi signal. overall it is OK with attentive staff.

Room Tip: 2f so you will only use the stair instead of elevator (frequent power outage?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My friends and I stayed in this hotel last November just for 1 night and it was just as well because we were sadly disappointed by it. Location is really good, near Ayala Mall and near a church-we were able to attend mass that saturday we were there. The rooms were not bad either.

What is wrong in this hotel is that they are still operating with a budget mentality, considering that in Manila they operate the low budget Fersal chain, but charging high end rates. We paid almost 5k for a room and they had very thin towels. My friend called and asked for additional towels and after about 15 minutes they called back saying that the extra towels would be 30 pesos each!

At the breakfast buffet, another friend wanted a cheese omelet and was told there was no more and it would not be replenished! Really? It was only 9am then and breakfast was till 10:30. After we complained they did bring out some cheese, and also replenished the cheese platter, but I almost wished they hadn't as the cheese was like rubber and just tasteless!
Next time we're in Cebu, we are not staying here again. For a few hundreds more we could have checked in at the Marriot. Hotel Elizabeth better live up to their purported botique hotel standards, get rid of the budget mentality!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Came for a day and stayed for 2 weeks . rates very resonable . rooms clean . staff friendly . Breakfast not suited to westerners recommend short walk to Ayala Mall. Had a massage every second night in room excellent !

Room Tip: Reccomend the Juniour suite . large bed and very large room with couch writing desk and large bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Elizabeth Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elizabeth Cebu

Address: Archbishop Reyes Avenue | Camputhaw, Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elizabeth Cebu 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established shortly after its predecessor in Baguio, Hotel Elizabeth Cebu has over 130 stately guestrooms and suites all envisioned by Tessa Prieto-Valdes, style icon and celebrated interior decorator. Breathtaking frescos by painter Alfred Galvez and portraits of well-spent travels adorn its Mediterranean-inspired hallways. Situated conveniently in one of Cebu's bustling business districts, the hotel is just a 2-minute walk to Metro Gaisano and Ayala malls, affording guests easy access to leisure activities, such as shopping and sightseeing.A riot of flavors awaits you at the Flora Cafe, where international cuisine is served in the most inventive and appetizing of ways. Enjoy great music and relax at the Piano Bar while sipping on your favorite wines and cocktails. Pamper yourself with our massage service or work up a good sweat at our Fitness Center. Celebrate momentous occasions and attend seminars and conferences in style and luxurious comfort, in our various function rooms and ballroom. You will fall in love with Hotel Elizabeth. It’s an experience on its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Elizabeth Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.