We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Good Cebu City Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elizabeth Cebu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elizabeth Cebu to your Saves list
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Archbishop Reyes Avenue | Camputhaw, Cebu City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
London
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“Another Good Cebu City Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was my third stay here and generally a pleasant experience. The hotel is situated an easy five minute walk to the Ayala Mall and on a busy road although my room was on the quieter side an had excellent views to the sea.
The Ninth floor rooms tend to be larger than normal and the room size was very spacious indeed and extremely comfortable with a luxury bath/shower room and plenty of hot water for both. Good storage, excellent choice of tv channels, super aircon, sofa and writing table, large comfy bed too.
This seems to be very much a business hotel, no pool, large dining room and okay food, good service throughout and very easy to obtain a taxi.
The fundamental problem I experienced was the terribly erratic and slow wifi connection, even after they attempted to resolve the difficulties, this would definitely prevent me from returning as it's a basic requisite in a modern city.
Very impressive to see the hotel responding on this site to almost every post.

Room Tip: Check your wifi connection first !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    17
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
16
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We're stranded at Cebu due to typhoon Pablo. I picked this hotel this because it's near Ayala mall (3 minutes walk) and they have a nice review, we stayed here for 2 nights (Dec 3-5). We got the executive room. It was big and clean. The staffs are friendly and very accommodating, and patiently give us directions we're to buy the best lechon in town. They have buffet breakfast, the choices are minimal but as what Brian G said "pretty decent breakfast". Their housekeeping and room service will attend your needs in a jiffy. There's wifi and it's free.The only thing i don't like about this hotel was the bed. It was hard...my back hurt when i woke the following morning. I slept on the couch on the following night. :-(

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

And I mean it; just ok. Big comfortable room, but street noise was crazy. We had a room on the fourth floor and still could hear the sounds of the street all night. I got in late that night and after a 19 hour flight I didn't much care. Nice little bistro-type restaurant that provided a pretty decent breakfast the next morning.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle T, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Brian G,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, and also for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you think our rooms spacious and comfortable. It is unfortunate about the noise from outside. We are situated in one of Cebu's busiest business districts so it is usually very busy at any time of the day or night. However, we are working on finding a way to reduce the noise. We hope you can bear with us while we solve this. We hope to have the pleasure of your patronage once more in the future.

Grow with us,
Gabrielle Talan
Corporate PR Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel Elizabeth is a great value hotel, new, clean and located near Ayala Centre. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Wifi is free and easily available. Quiet hotel at night, ideal for business travellers who wants a good rest and not have the noisy & rowdy entertainment joints

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle T, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Sungimann,

Warm greetings from Hotel Elizabeth Cebu! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you can consider us once more in the future.

Grow with us,

Gabrielle Talan
Corporate PR Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We picked this hotel because the room we chose online (which had a queen sized bed and single bed, perfect for our family with small kids) seemed to offer the best value for money as compared to say, the Radisson. Fortunately, we were not disappointed. Our room was super clean, comfy, well maintained, and just perfect for our 4-day getaway. For Php4800 (around USD110) per night, you get close to practically all the comforts of a 5-star hotel. The only things missing were a mini bar (which we didn't mind, anyway) and a kettle for boiling water (you could borrow one from housekeeping for the entire duration of your stay). There's room service that offers delicious and affordable food items. The hotel also has a modest gym and a spa. Breakfast was included in our rate. Not a super luxurious spread, but more than enough to fill your tummy -- there's a bread and salad station, porridge, rice, and the usual fare like sausages, bacon, adobo, fish, beef steak, plus cereals, fruits, milk, and coffee. And I must say something about the staff's warm and generous service. Everyone was just really nice to us. Housekeeping always attended to our requests (extra rolls of tissue, change of bath mat, etc.) really quickly, plus the doormen were consistently super fast and ready to call on taxis for us. And they never made you feel like you were obligated to leave them tips, too.

Getting around was a real breeze, since taxis are always readily available outside the hotel (and all around Cebu, for that matter). Ayala Center Mall is just a 5-minute walk away, although for the times when we were carrying a lot of things or when the kids were tired we just opted to take the taxi, which cost a very cheap Php50 (a little over USD1) one-way -- a very small price to pay if you want to save your sanity from whining kids! Taxi drivers in Cebu are also extremely honest and friendly, wish I could say the same for those in Manila!

For sightseeing the hotel can also arrange for you a private taxi to take you around, you can opt to pay Php3,000 for an 8-hour tour or Php1,500 for 3 hours. You can tell the driver to take you around anywhere in Cebu -- like the beaches, Magellan's Cross, Basilica of the Sto. Niño, Lapu-Lapu Shrine, Skywalk at Crown Regency, ancestral houses, etc. The food is delicious and super cheap in Cebu too.

Some minor things I didn't like about the hotel... the room has free wifi but the signal was almost always slow and wonky. You will end up not being able to use it most of the time. The airconditioning in our room was also a bit warm -- for some reason you couldn't adjust the temperature above 22C. Shower pressure is also so-so, and there's no tub, just a shower stall. I was also disappointed that the hotel didn't have a pool for those afternoons when you just want to laze by a poolside, you know? Our fault for not researching too well on that note, though. So if your main objective for visiting Cebu is to enjoy the beach, swim at a pool or be surrounded by nature 24/7, this hotel is not for you. Cebu has plenty of resorts for that. But this hotel is definitely perfect for those who want to stay in the city, be close to the financial/commercial districts, be accessible to popular sightseeing spots, and at the same time enjoy clean and comfortable accommodations and wonderful service at a friendly price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had an emergency trip to Cebu and had a friend book for us. Checked in at 11PM and had a corner room assigned. Check in was quick and easy. Lobby was clean enough with a bar/cafe open until midnight. Walking distance to a nearby 7-11 for a quick midnight bite after an impromptu late night flight.

Up the lifts, the floor (7th) had a musty smell which was also smelled in the room. Smell left after a few minutes with the A/C on. Room adequate in size. Beds were a little too firm, but comfy enough. Bathroom was fairly large, but the amenities were severely wanting. Had to buy soap and shampoo at the 7-11 as the ones provided by the hotel were of poor quality.

Breakfast was forgettable, but since it was included in the rate, I switch my GI system to volume receptor mode.

Location was top notch as it was walking distance to the Ayala Mall, Perpetual Succour Hospital and taxis are abundant (and HONEST) so getting around was easy.

Would consider staying here but will bring my own soap and shampoo...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle T, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear viajeroManila,

Thank you for your review. On behalf of Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, I am glad that you had a fairly good experience staying with us.

I have forwarded your comment regarding our amenities and the scent on the 7th floor to management. Please be assured that we are working to rectify this.

We hope you can consider making us your home in Cebu once more in the future, and allow us to make up for any shortcomings from your past experience at our hotel.

Grow with us,


Gabrielle Talan
Corporate PR Officer
Fersal Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila philippines
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is relatively new but has been around long enough to qualify for manifestation of wear and tear.I didn't notice that with Hotel Elizabeth Cebu though. The carpets at the corridors especially the one inside the room is surprisingly spotless.The bed sheets are good as new and smells fresh.

The staff were helpful and quick.Or was it because I was a guest of the hotel?But I think they are really responsive.I noticed when I requested for a headache medicine the next day to ease my hangover from the drinking session the night before.One of the staff was at our room in no time.

Speaking of hangover,we met with a few Cebu bloggers on our first night in Cebu.The plan was to meet somewhere and proceed to Amnezia Superclub.Ayala Center was the most accessible place coz it's very easy to take a taxi from there to any point in Cebu City.Ayala Center happens to be very near Hotel Elizabeth Cebu.As a matter of fact,it's only around five to minutes away by foot. I really appreciate the central location.

HOTEL ELIZABETH CEBU can give 5-star accommodations in Cebu "a run for their money"

Room Tip: the Junior Suite is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle T, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Pusangkalye,

Thank you for your kind words!

We are glad to hear that our staff was able to cater to your needs, and that your stay at Hotel Elizabeth Cebu was a pleasant one.

We are grateful that you took the time to review our Cebu branch. As a returning hotel guest, it means a lot to us that you can recall your first experience and draw comparisons. Your feedback is big help in consistently improving our services.

We look forward to having you stay with us once more in the future!

Grow with us,

Gabrielle Talan
Corporate PR Officer
Fersal Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elizabeth Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elizabeth Cebu

Address: Archbishop Reyes Avenue | Camputhaw, Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elizabeth Cebu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established shortly after its predecessor in Baguio, Hotel Elizabeth Cebu has over 130 stately guestrooms and suites all envisioned by Tessa Prieto-Valdes, style icon and celebrated interior decorator. Breathtaking frescos by painter Alfred Galvez and portraits of well-spent travels adorn its Mediterranean-inspired hallways. Situated conveniently in one of Cebu's bustling business districts, the hotel is just a 2-minute walk to Metro Gaisano and Ayala malls, affording guests easy access to leisure activities, such as shopping and sightseeing.A riot of flavors awaits you at the Flora Cafe, where international cuisine is served in the most inventive and appetizing of ways. Enjoy great music and relax at the Piano Bar while sipping on your favorite wines and cocktails. Pamper yourself with our massage service or work up a good sweat at our Fitness Center. Celebrate momentous occasions and attend seminars and conferences in style and luxurious comfort, in our various function rooms and ballroom. You will fall in love with Hotel Elizabeth. It’s an experience on its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Elizabeth Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.