We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ipar's Restaurante y Bar de Tapas

Ipar's Restaurante y Bar de Tapas
Ramos St., Cebu City, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 409 Restaurants in Cebu City
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ours was a bit of a different affair. A friend of mine actually shot some ducks with a hunting party on another Island. He brought them to Ipar to prepare them.

The ducks were prepared in a wine marinate for a couple of days and then roasted. We ordered several other entrées and side dishes form the menu as well.

All in all we had a great time and enjoyed the atmosphere! Ipar's, like other specialty places, doesn't get the traffic that they could. Filipinos just like what they like and the numbers of well traveled Filipinos with expanded palettes is somewhat limited.

Ipar's is well worth a go!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Level Contributor
397 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 775 helpful votes
“good spanish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I share those who said they found the following food good: paella, steak, gambas, chorizo. I stayed away from the fish fillet. I ate here 3 times, twice for lunch and once for dinner. The place on each occasion wasn't even half full. It is a pity as the food is good, the service efficiency was above average (but not excellent), sometimes the waiter disappears. The waiter has to be in the main dining room as the bar area and the dining room area is separated by a wall. Cooking time is a tad slow, expect up to 30 minutes depending on your order, but this is not a big deal as the food is good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I like the place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The whole restaurant atmosphere was amazing decors, wall paintings and statues are very cool it's like you step in Barcelona. The food and wine was excellent & the paella was yummy. I like how this place is not crowded too they seem like don't have alot of diners which was weird to me when the food was really great. Oh well, i'll def come back here!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This place is a must....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Ipar's will blow you away the food was lovely and the staff very friendly, I was on a business trip when a friend told me about Ipar's so i went one night for dinner and had a delicious steak, i ended up there 3 more times during my trip. The owner is always on hand for a good chat and is very happy to advise on some yummy cocktails.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to feel at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have traveled Asia for over seven years whether it be professionally or on holiday. Rarely, if ever have I come across a place like Ipar's. From the minute you walk in the door to the minute you leave you will find Ipar to be the perfect host, but the best thing is that he does not sacrifice quality and taste for hospitality. The food there is by far the best in Cebu and it is always with great expectation I go there for some great home made Spanish food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ipar's Restaurante y Bar de Tapas also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Ipar's Restaurante y Bar de Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ipar's Restaurante y Bar de Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.