We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location to your Saves list
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Garcia Building | Magallanes St., Cebu City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in Cebu City
Hefei, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was at first a little confused with the choice of a hotel considering that I hadn't been to Cebu before. However, Sampaguita Suites Plaza Garcia was nothing short of a perfect choice!
It is ideally located literally in the middle of EVERYTHING! It is barely a stone's throw from the Historical and spiritual area that is Basilica del Santo Nino, in eye-shot of Magellan's cross, and only a short walk from the buzzing activities in the heart of the city.

The facilities are quite comfy and the food in the restaurant is delectable.
My favourite aspect of Sampaguita is the STAFF! Man OH Man, I was certainly reminded what courtesy is after leaving Hong Kong (where there's much left desired from local hoteliers). The Staff at Sampaguita opens the door for every entry and exit, grabs your luggage to take it directly to your room, and greets you with a smile each time you pass through the lobby!
Cebu will most likely see me again...and Sampaguita will definitely be my hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the very kind words, most especially for the staff service. It vindicates the bad comments that they get sometimes. With your good comments, all the hard work that they pour into their jobs pays off. We're so pleased to know how happy you are with their hospitality. This is a showing of a true blue Cebuano culture- sweet and affectionate.

Again, it is our pleasure to have served you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    62
    54
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
35
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Good for staying the night while touring the city as it's right in the center of Cebu. We paid only P1300 for three persons, that's an aircon room with cable TV (bad reception -- we didn't bother watching). As long as the room and the toilet/shower area is clean, I am happy. They arranged for a transfer to the port for us, we needed to leave as early as 5am and the van was on time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and pleasant review of our hotel and staff. Although, we deeply apologize for the bad TV reception. We will look into this as soon as possible.

We are more than happy to have served you and your group at our hotel. More Power!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Booked a reservation online for 3 nights but the front desk had no record of booking. Took 20 minutes before they located the reservation and took me to my room.
Stayed in matrimonial room for 900 pesos. Hotel is very near to Magellan's cross and many malls. I was on the 6th floor and the water pressure was extremely low in the shower, maybe it is better on the lower levels. Room was very dusty and i had to wipe up the dust with the bath towel, i asked for an extra towel and they said 50 pesos more. Oh well, I used the bed sheet to dry off after the shower.
When I booked online there was a prominent ad on their website for a 15 minute free promo massage. Upon checkin I asked for my free massage and they said it is no longer available. I was told it ended last month, even though the promo is still on the front page of the website as of this day. Classic false advertising in the philippines.
Hotel does have good aircon and skycable. However I wont ever stay here again due to blatant false advertising on their website.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for sending your comment about our hotel. We investigated the matter after reading your review. According to our supervisor, your booking was a last minute reservation- which took front desk some time before your reservation was found. We apologize for that inconvenience,

You were booked at a Standard Matrimonial Room but since there was no available room at that time, you were given a Family Room which is bigger and provides for 3 towels on each bed.

If the room was dusty and had low water pressure, We would've obliged to transfer you someplace better if we were only advised. Just the same, we have already informed Housekeeping about this mishap.

With regards to the spa promo, we apologize for not pulling out the promo on time. We have informed our website coordinator to update all information on the site.

Again, we sincerely apologize for the sad experience. We will make the necessary changes for the sake of our other guests and thank you for informing us about this. We hope that you will reconsider your decision and change your mind about our hotel when you come back to Cebu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

while we were staying here, they are doing renovations and the paint smell was very strong. they dont have any other family room so we have no choice but to stay there. but the next day, the paint smell was already gone. i think they were finishing up when we got there. i dont know about the other reviewers but our room had hot shower.
i chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Oceanjet pier, the Fort, Cross, cathedral and ancestral homes. what i dont like maybe is the lack of eating places at night. shops close around 7pm. only found the AA BBQ to be open late. after having dinner here, walk to the cathedral as they are more beautiful at night as all the lights are open.
i found this place safe amidst the touts near the Cross. there is ample street lighting.
taxis are available even in the wee hours. taxi from Cebu-Mactan Int'l airport can cost you 200 pesos with minimal traffic.

Room Tip: If coming from the Oceanjet pier (pier 1), you can walk through the park for 10 mins to get to the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We are sorry about the paint smell but we do our best to maintain our hotel and keep it spic and span. Our location is our better asset which is more than we could say about our friendly staff. Its sad that you haven't stayed long enough to experience it.

We look forward to hearing from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Santos, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I belong to pacman's hometown gensan. Happen to have an overnight stay @ sampaguita suites near sto. Niño church. Since I was alone, I was looking for a single room. Bt there was no available at that time so I booked for what they call a family standard room. Good for 3 pax.. It has 2 beds. The bed is king size plus another one small bed. The c.r is small but clean. Their
toiletries are just a small soap and tissue. They also provide towel..They have coffee shop at the second floor. Which also serves food.. Prices are affordable. Hotel rate is also very reasonable.. All in all, my stay was great and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again when you come back to Cebu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Looks like a motel/ inn. There's no hot water in the shower. The rate was low but just a place to sleep in, ideal for backpackers. The location is great coz it's near the tourist spot , Magellan's cross and sto.Nino basilica. Just walking distance. That's why i chose to stay here coz of the location and rate, but i didn't know that the facilities were incomplete, like the heater in shower which i always look for in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We are so sorry that having unpleasant experience with the hot shower in your room. You could have requested for a room transfer which we would have willingly obliged. We hope that you do not get discouraged into coming back to our hotel.

We will make sure that the room you slept in will be inspected especially the hot shower.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I am a frequent traveller because of the nature of my business that requires projects to be done in different parts of the country. As such I normally scout for budget hotels or accommodations and more often than not I get disappointed either on the facilities or the service. Then the first time I tried sampaguita suites a couple of years ago because of its proximity to sto niño church, I kept coming back to the same hotel not only because of its location but because of the excellent friendly service that will make anyone feel at home. For those who have not been to sampaguita suites near sto niño church I strongly recommend to try and prove it yourself the experience of being home away from home!!!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend the 6t h floor so that the church is overlooking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for mentioning the words, "home away from home". You are so kind to give compliments not only to the nice location of our hotel but most especially for giving importance to our hardworking hotel staff who are most deserving of these praises. We really appreciate you coming to our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#23 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#25 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sampaguita Suites JRG
Sampaguita Suites JRG
#30 of 82 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#27 of 82 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
1.7 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#11 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location

Address: Plaza Garcia Building | Magallanes St., Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.