We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cosy place with authentic italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Buona Forchetta Da Paolo

La Buona Forchetta Da Paolo
139 Acacia Street Corner Escario St. Kamputhaw | Advent Business Center, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
+63 32 231 3398
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 398 Restaurants in Cebu City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lunch/dinner
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great cosy place with authentic italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

A little bit hard to find, as it is nested in a quiet and off the beaten track, but it's worth it.
The genuine and authentic food (pizza Margherita and the antipasto plate were yummm!!!) combined with a cosy environment make this place a good choice if you want to relax in front of good food, a nice wine or beer and good company! Yes the owner Paolo is such a character and makes you feel at home. Recommended!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So lovely it's absolutely underrated!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

To say the experience was amazing is an understatement. I cannot decide what keeps me coming back, if it's the focaccia, the pizza or the pasta (the the main course is absolutely lovely as well.)

So maybe you can't call it the fancy pants of restaurants. But it's nice and cozy and quiet and really authentic as you can get, and really it's just honest to goodness great food minus all the meticulous fancy dinner plating --- but that doesn't mean it doesn't look appetizing, because it does.

The owners are lovely people. I met them the second time I visited this month. Yes, second. It's that good. No Kidding

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Its nice and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Its comfortable place for your date, its quiet and private place hard to find but its worth it its an Italian Trattoria's of Paolo I enjoyed the Amarone Della Valpollicela. I never forget the experience. The pizza and pasta.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Sub standard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

No real heart but into the food at all and the ambiance was weird. I was actually quite surprised at by my visit as my expectations were much higher. The prices also were at the top end for cebu and nothing i ate or saw indicated any reason for this. My spaghetti arrabbiata was not particularly hot and they gave me a type of tabasco when I asked to make it spicier.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been a fan of La Buona for as long as i can remember. I love the appetizer of hot crisp foccacia with vegetables in olive oil... way back when it is served free, now that its P200 or $5. A serving... it is still the reason i go all the way there.Pizza is also great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buona Forchetta Da Paolo also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to La Buona Forchetta Da Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Buona Forchetta Da Paolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.