We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere was very nice, the food average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Giuseppe Pizzeria and Sicilian Roast

Giuseppe Pizzeria and Sicilian Roast
Maria Luisa Road | Banilad, Cebu City, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 436 Restaurants in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Atmosphere was very nice, the food average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I did enjoy everything about the restaurant, but I was looking for the "old family recipes" kind of food from an Italian owner. I have to say the food was "nothing to write home about", but good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Average Italian...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Food is pretty average. A bit pricey in my opinion. Servers are are ok as well as the ambiance. Quite full when i visited the place. The fried carabao cheese (al forno) is what i like the most. Pizza and pasta is just okay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Aging quite well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had visited this place a few years back and it still stands out as the reigning king of brick oven pizza in Cebu. There is a certain sweet spice in their dough which I like, but the texture is what makes it special. It is crusty holds the ingredients perfectly even if you hold it as a slice, which is how I enjoy my pizza. The mozzarella is high quality but does not overwhelm and the sausages, clearly imported, were perfect. There is a classic vibe to Giusseppe from its chalk boards and to the easy going table set up. They could use a few more parking spaces, however as we had to retire to the street. With the meal we tried a more than passable carpaccio and a veal scaloppini which was good, nearly exceptional. A molten chocolate dessert was barely warm and clearly had been served past its expiration date, and that was the only serious flaw.

I still remember one of the servers from my last visit and they are very professional. Quiet, but always there when you need something. They were wise with their wine list; Some reasonable country selections mixed with more conventional choices but all within bounds of their food offerings. Giuseppe feels like a modern Italian restaurant should feel. One foot in today, and another in yesteryear, with few stereotypes in play, and its food identity profoundly classic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A slice of pizza that is a meal in itself...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Order any family sized pizza, and it's already good enough for two people who hadn't had lunch and dinner. A sure hit to pizza lovers! Try the seafood pizza and the neopolitana. Did I say you could order half of any two pizza styles you would crave for? Yes, and they would be more Han happy to suggest good combinations.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian in Cebu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a late lunch of arugula salad with lemon, olive oil and parmesan, homemade pasta with basil and cherry tomatoes, a seafood platter and kesong puti raclette and triangles of toasted
panini. Excellent!! and it was an experience shopping for Italian condiments on the second floor, and meeting the gracious owner. My favorite meal experience in Cebu (not counting the great breakfast experience at a friend's house)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe Pizzeria and Sicilian Roast also viewed

 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Giuseppe Pizzeria and Sicilian Roast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giuseppe Pizzeria and Sicilian Roast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.