We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foreigners take on AA BBQ. Chicken BBQ!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AA BBQ

AA BBQ
Salinas drive | Lahug, Cebu City, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 349 restaurants in Cebu City
Cuisines: Philippine
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: pronounced as double A BBQ
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Foreigners take on AA BBQ. Chicken BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I heard lots of good things about AA BBQ so I had to try it. I had my usual favorites while visiting the Philippines, BBQ pork and BBQ chicken as well as a shrimp dish and (of course) rice. Let me say that I will visit AA BBQ every time I visit the Phils in the future. The Chicken on a stick was one of the best things I have ever eaten. I could have ate my weight in those. So tasty that even when I was finished my large meal, I ordered 3 more for take out but ate them as soon as they came to the table. Yeah, that good!
Pros; Good prices, friendly staff, and great tasting food.
Cons are as usual in the Philippines;
1. Plastic chairs are not always a good choice for a 6 foot plus man weighing well in excess of 200 lbs. which [we] are common in North America.
2. The shrimp although very tasty were uncleaned. Personal preference.

Final verdict. One of my top favorites in the Phils and a must go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    44
    69
    37
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss the chicken bbq and baked scallops!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The house sauce of vinegar, soy sauce and sliced green tomatoes simply appeals to me. I had three little bowls the last time. Their baked scallops and chicken bbq is still succulent and very tasty. Can't wait to go back!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parañaque, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wanna Go Back to cebu and Eat here in again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food is superb! Me and my hubby looking for a good place to eat and I have read a good review about this so we try to dine in, before we headed to our next destination (Lapu Lapu Monument) The food was really good but I did not got the chance to try their baked scallops which based on the review I read it is the must try of AA bbq. And oh, their four season juice is very good with fresh fruit on the pitcher :) very refreshing! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Taste for less”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Sutukil is famous in Cebu, but if you want t o get it for a cheaper price you can try AA's they have different stores around Cebu but they all cost the same with same (lots) choices. This restaurant is as satisfying as the other ones but way cheaper.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Foodtrip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Enjoyed dining here, fresh seafoods. Although if you're after wide variety of shellfish, there is not much choices here (only available are oysters, large clams); scallops and other "exotic" shellfishes are seasonal.
Great value for money!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AA BBQ also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to AA BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AA BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.