We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive in downtown Cebu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Tree Suites Cebu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Tree Suites Cebu to your Saves list
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 J. Llorente Street | Fuente Osmena, Cebu City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Clarkston, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Inexpensive in downtown Cebu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed three nights 1/14-1/16 2012. There is close access to the Sinulog parade route through a mall. We had to pay extra for the Sinulog nights, it amounted to $35.00 USD per night and we were required to purchase 3 nights in advance. At other times, the rooms are about $25.00 USD. Free breakfast, it was OK. The restaurant on the 5th floor is very good. Plenty of good Philippine restaurants across the street in the Robinson's mall. Also, KFC, Chow King, and MacDonalds are close by through a differrent mall. The room we had was clean, comfortable and quiet. Water was not particularly hot.

Room Tip: During the Sinulog, it would be best to choose a room that is not facing Llorente street if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
11
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

about Reservation:
I called the hotel only upon reaching the Cebu airport. So, I can not give in depth details regarding advanced reservation. However, I can say freely that the one who took my call was courteous and answered my questions well.

about the Room:
I got the room with two single beds even if I was travelling alone as it was the only type of room available. The room was gloomy, and poorly maintained. It was clean in the sense that someone cleaned it right before I used it. However: the furniture was chipped; the cabinet door was stuck in such that when I tried to open it the whole thing almost fell on me; the curtain was torn; one light bulb flickered like crazy; and the ceiling had awful water stains.
It was noisy. The cleaning staff was noisily going about their business without a care who could hear them.
The temperature was also bad. The air conditioning unit was in such a bad shape that it was actually cooler if I stepped outside the room.

about the Location:
The location is what made me choose the hotel in the first place. It is set near enough the Fuente Osmena Circle to be ‘near it all’ but far enough from Fuente to be less crowded and busy. I had business in the area so I thought the hotel location was perfect for my needs.

about the Food:
The room came with breakfast. The meals are served at the rooftop which was a nice place. The food was actually very good for the price you pay.

about the Service:
The front desk agent was ok- not great- but ok. The cleaning staff were poor because of the noise they made as they constantly traded stories which annoyed me. The personnel at the rooftop were very good. They handled my requests properly and quickly. I overheard some guest complain that they had to wait too long for their order to arrive, but I did not experience the same thing.

about the Overall Value:
It is a mixed bag here. Location is great, but the room is not. The waiters were great, the maintenance not at all. In the end, if you can stomach a poorly maintained room in a great location – go ahead and try this hotel. Me? I’m not going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed here with my gf 5 days and it was very good in all aspects. The room was very clean , modern televison set. for 65 extra pesos you can have Wifi in your room . But wifi is free in the lobby and in the tree top restaurant in the 5 th floor. all in all a good and safe place t stay and centrally located, next to Robinons and a good bookstore.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed here last January 6-9, 2012. This place was recommended by a friend of mine who enjoyed her stay last year. It's clean, the staffs are courteous; from the receptionists down to their security guards,it's affordable and nice location. There's one problem, minor though, the aircon in my room had a clanking sounds every now and then but I still had a good night sleep.:) Despite the minor problem I recommend travelers to stay in this place coz it's a home away from home! I'm definitely staying in Apple Tree Suites when I go back there in Cebu!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Every time i go to Cebu, I stay there. Very good value for the money. Nice clean rooms, good location uptown, the staff is great. The food though is not that good. But many places around to eat. I recommend it.

Room Tip: ask window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

If you're going to Cebu to simply enjoy a hotel room, Apple Tree Suites may not be right for you. However, if you are looking for somewhere to stay that is clean, friendly, incredibly affordable, and very conveniently located despite a simple room, then this place is perfect.
My family really enjoyed our stay here, the hotels greatest asset is its restaurant 'Tree Tops' which provides breakfast (included in room price or 75 peso per head), lunches and dinner. The rooms are very simple, but it is all you need - reasonable beds, clean linen, towels, soap (no other toiletries or drinking water, however) and a small but complete bathroom. The staff, particularly waiting staff in Tree Tops and room cleaners are very friendly.
The hotel is in a fairly good location, it is very easy to get a taxi from the front of the hotel, and is only a very short walk to Fuente Osmena circle where food chains, pharmacies, currency converting etc. is very accessible. It is not a very long taxi ride to the Ayala Centre or SM (usually costing between 80 - 200 pesos dependant on traffic).
There is wifi in the downstairs lobby and the rooftop restaurant, which is free and of a reasonable speed.
Stayed for 9 days, and would stay there again. Good value for money for those looking for cleanliness and convenience, but not luxury.

Room Tip: Request a room with a window. One side of the building doesn't have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed here 3D/2N, was supposed to stay in another hotel but they were already fully booked so our friend arranged for us to stay here. We got the Deluxe room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed for 3 adults and 1 child. Bathroom was clean, they provided clean towels, bed was comfy, there is cable TV to keep the kid entertained. Service was excellent! Gave us hot water for instant noodles, cold drinking water, they cleaned the room on a regular basis (just make sure you hang the sign on the door knob). Smoking area on the rooftop, the cafe upstairs serves good food and affordable. Accessible to fast food, drugstore and pasalubong shop. Even the security guard was very nice, easy to get a taxi and mostly a few minutes away to everything (depending on the traffic) I would definitely stay here again when I go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Tree Suites Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Suites Cebu

Address: 22 J. Llorente Street | Fuente Osmena, Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apple Tree Suites Cebu 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apple Tree Suites Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Suites Cebu Hotel Cebu City
Apple Tree Suites Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Tree Suites Cebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.