We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pier Cuatro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pier Cuatro to your Saves list
Hotel Pier Cuatro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3rd Avenue, North Reclamation Area | North Reclamation Area, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Turku, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Located very close to the port, makes it an excellent choice if You plan to go to Bohol or other islands. Rooms are clean and of basic standard. The staff is very friendly. Filippino style breakfast is served downstairs. Bar serves drinks in the evenings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    106
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
40
61
44
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 22 days straight during August-September, the breakfasts varied from day to day and were reasonable. The staff were friendly, very polite, and were available at all hours. The rooms were neat, and staff kept the rooms clean. The hotel is not so far from the SM (supermall), and I walked to the SM every day, but not at night time. The taxi will cost about $1 each way. I checked out of the hotel at 5am, the hotel had a takeaway breakfast waiting for me, and I really appreciated this. A taxi was waiting for me outside, and drove me to Cebu airport for 190P, about $5. I think the journey took about half an hour

Room Tip: I will stay there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

First thing you notice is a big nice lobby, which really is a great one. The staff is also wonderful, kind and helpful. There is a nice restaurant in the lobby where the food is ok. Breakfast didn't impress any of us though. If you want to eat at another restaurant you will have to take a taxi, because of unsafe neighbourhood.

Our first impression of the rooms was actually quite nice. It's clean and fresh. Even though our room was small and had no view. There is a window, but it's facing some kind of hole in the building from where the aircon is based and also were the shower air goes out. Observe that only the superior room has window, none of the standard/deluxe rooms. The walls are as thin as paper. We could hear our neighbours talk, move, watching TV as it was in our own room. The aircondition was really loud and was blowing directly to our faces in the bed.

They offer laundry to the guests, but you have to pay a lot for EACH item (40-160php), when laundry service at for example SM costs 35php/kg.

We've been warned about cars with fixed prices and the guard insisted that we should take one of them, even though they were twice as expensive as a regular one. This has not happened in any of the other hotels that we've stayed at.

I really wanted to rate this hotel higher because of the travler's choice and we tried it for three nights, but it didn't impress. Worth to mention is that my boyfriend was more ok with the hotel than me. We have tried 5 hotels in Cebu city and all of the others were better than this and most of them cheaper as well. If you're looking for a budget hotel for just sleeping, near SM and the pier this might be it, but otherwise I would say that are better alternatives in this price range.

Room Tip: Only superior room has a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After a 2.5hrs.delay and 3hrs.rough and bumpy ride at fast craft from tagbilaran, twas very windy then (coz of typhoon Odette) 09/20/2013, we went straight to Hotel Pier Cuatro, and welcomed by three iced cold glasses of orange juice, twas very REFRESHING for us esp.for my 2girls. But then we need to wait for another 20mins.before we could get in our room, coz they're still cleaning it, so no chance for us to leave immediately to watch the 3P.M. sched. of Mickey's Magic Show. Ordered late lunch from their cafeteria, mine was lomi and the girls' philly cheese steak. The attendant forgot to inform me, that their lomi is good for 3adult person, but offered that they could keep leftover in their fridge and reheat it whenever i want to. I decided to eat it for my dinner at 9:30, yep! the bowl is hot but the lomi is NOT! So I hope nxt time, the server could able to check it first. And I would suggest for additional wall outlet in your room, 1 is not enough, aside from the outlets where you plug the t.v and cable. And I really dn't like the smell of your sprayed air freshener (smells like pure fabcon.) it would be better to use lysol or glade crisp linen scent.
But overall everything is nice, the staffs are very warm and friendly, even the security guards are attentive. Breakfast buffet are great too! Worth recommending for others and will surely come back in here. Keep it up guys!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koeniz, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is next to Pier 4, where the ferry leaves. While the lobby is spacious, the rooms aren't. Clean but small and not very comfortable. Breakfast is ok, and there is a bar, too, but I didn't went there. Taxi in front of the hotel can bring you around, specially at night. Don't walk around at night. There was a power outage for 6 hours and the hotel has no emergency power system. At least we got 10% discount on the rate, after insisting...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days in August and I found the stay to be pleasant. The hotel is ideally located (close to the Pier 4) and 20 min walk from the Mango Square. The room was small and tidy. The bed and pillow was not comfy at all. Had a neck sprain when i woke up! Room Service was swift. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. They have a separate smoking area in the 4th floor I guess. Completely enjoyed the buffet breakfast. This hotel is located opposite to the Club ARENA and so it gets noisy at nights.
Overall, a pretty decent budget hotel.

Room Tip: Room on the high floor are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyte Island, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I don't regret to recommend to our company to have our training in Hotel Pier Cuatro.

I stayed last 2012 for two nights and it satisfies my expectation despite of being a budget hotel. Free shuttle from Cebu Port, breakfast and convenient rooms. But above all, all staffs are courteous, approachable, hospitable and accommodating. They made you smile despite your not in good mood. Applause to the management for the good training for their staffs.
Good for single and group travelers who wants to save accommodation but wants a convenient and satisfying service.

When our company utilized their services, I was surprised that they even return the excess amount from our contract, which is rare compared to others. I highly recommend Hotel Pier Cuatro for holding conferences, training's, and other events or occasions.They have all the facilities and materials needed! In fact, our admin staff said "hindi ako binigyan ng problema ng Hotel Pier Cuatro". We even allowed to stay in the social hall late at night for our preparations.

It was a good decision for me to recommend this hotel! Thanks to Ms Rizza , all staffs at the conference hall (5th Floor) last September 5-7, 2013 and Kuya Jelo stationed at the bar...

Cheers!
Looking forward to return to the hotel.

Room Tip: Good for holding events and travelers from Pier 1-4 or wish to go to Sto Nino Shrine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pier Cuatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pier Cuatro

Address: 3rd Avenue, North Reclamation Area | North Reclamation Area, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pier Cuatro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pier Cuatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pier Cuatro Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pier Cuatro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.