We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting....but if you want mexican food skip this place...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Mexican Restaurant

Maya Mexican Restaurant
Crossroads Mall | Banilad Road, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
+63322389618
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 436 Restaurants in Cebu City
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Maya was created to be a casual restaurant and tequila lounge: laid back and subtle, with efficient service and reasonably priced. The sophisticated yet casual allure of Maya seamlessly blends old world charm with modern elegance. Succulent aromas from the kitchen mix tradition and ingenuity while setting the stage for your dining pleasure. Maya also has the largest selection of 100% pure agave tequilas in the country, which in addition to our premium house pours are sure to charm.Maya is committed to the timeless tradition of Mexican food – utilizing countless ingredients and dishes, and perhaps most importantly, the rich family tradition of preparation, which is done by hand using the freshest local ingredients that are regionally available. By embracing both Mexican tradition and local sensibility, we offer a creatively classic cuisine that unites well-known Mexican street food from the stalls of Mexico City and family dishes from the coast of the Mayan Riviera and the inventiveness of the Hispanic American communities of California and the American Southwest.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting....but if you want mexican food skip this place...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Came here for a early dinner with the wife, was impressed from outside with the looks of this place.

Problem was when the food came out....it was average mexican, but for the prices it was not worth it.

Nice ambience , but skip this place if you want a authenic mexican dining expeience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    56
    28
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“mexican ok for cebu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

expensive for what you get. not really the best mexican food but i suppose for cebu its ok. way over priced not great choices . i would not return there again

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Semi Mex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I went there hungering for a decent burrito, taco and or taco salad, but I came away feeling let down. It's not that their food is bad, but it's expensive and it's pseudo/semi Mexican. The drinks were expensive as well. I guess you are paying for the atmosphere to some degree, but I just wanted down to earth Mexican!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Average and overpriced food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I love the decor and the ambiance of Maya but the food is very average and overpriced. They have a decent wine list but once again, the wines are way overpriced. This is a nice place to bring a date, share some nachos and drink a beer, but that's about it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Potential is there...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you have ever been to Mexico and had the real deal you probably wouldn't enjoy this
place. But if you don't know what authentic tastes like, I can see one really liking this!
The ambiance was fabulous. We love all the candles lit and the masks on the wall.
A lot of love went into decorating this place, that is for sure.
We ordered the nachos to start. Yup, demolished in 2 minutes. They were amazing.
Seriously. Then we ordered up the chicken fajitas which were so-so. We ended up ordering
another order of the nachos, and for some odd reason they were nowhere near as enjoyable
as the first? Strange. Of course we still ate them!
Ordered a margarita, disgusting.
This place has a lot of potential. I wouldn't recommend this for the food but for the ambiance
I definitely would !!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Maya Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.