We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Mex Treat chills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Mexican Restaurant

Maya Mexican Restaurant
Crossroads Mall | Banilad Road, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
+63322389618
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 398 Restaurants in Cebu City
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Tapas, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Maya was created to be a casual restaurant and tequila lounge: laid back and subtle, with efficient service and reasonably priced. The sophisticated yet casual allure of Maya seamlessly blends old world charm with modern elegance. Succulent aromas from the kitchen mix tradition and ingenuity while setting the stage for your dining pleasure. Maya also has the largest selection of 100% pure agave tequilas in the country, which in addition to our premium house pours are sure to charm.Maya is committed to the timeless tradition of Mexican food – utilizing countless ingredients and dishes, and perhaps most importantly, the rich family tradition of preparation, which is done by hand using the freshest local ingredients that are regionally available. By embracing both Mexican tradition and local sensibility, we offer a creatively classic cuisine that unites well-known Mexican street food from the stalls of Mexico City and family dishes from the coast of the Mayan Riviera and the inventiveness of the Hispanic American communities of California and the American Southwest.
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“a Mex Treat chills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Cozy ambiance, tasty Mex food touched with Asian flavor, hip music played live from a cool DJ, finished the dinner with a great spirit mixed drink

It was a pleasant dinner date =)

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    50
    25
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A piece of Mexican Cuisine in Cebu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

There is nothing to dislike (except for the occasional hangover from too much patron tequila or margaritas!) about this place. From the interior to the ambiance and the food, you'd feel like you were really transported to that place in Mexico or southern Americas .... Try the local version of the crispy pork, and the carnitas chimichangas with ice cold beer or frozen margarita and you'd immediately know what I'm talking about....

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“YUM YUM YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I always drop by Maya during my Cebu trips. Whether i'm with my friends or colleagues, Maya is a great place to go to! Food is great, drinks are good as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yummy~!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

They have a wide array of authentic mexican dishes and wine. The ambience is cozy and private and the staff are friendly and give promt service.~!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaue
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I kept waiting on the "Large Portions"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I grew up in Mexico City. I'm Mexican. There's no authentic Mexican Food at Maya. What they serve is a poor excuse for Tex Mex. Lots of Glitz and Glamor and Showbiz. Most of the Tequilas they exhibit are not from the town of Tequila. Tequila should be from the town of Tequila. Just as Champagne is from Champagne. Who are all these folks saying "Best in Cebu"? I took two other Mexicans and a Texan with me, thumbs down all around. And I got stuck with a BIG check. There's only one real place in the Cebu Area. Banana Moon Cantina in Mactan. No Showbiz. Great Food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Maya Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.