We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but apart from that, it offers no other value for money.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Valley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Valley Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   155A Pelaez Street, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 60 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location, but apart from that, it offers no other value for money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We went during peak season--Sinulog Festival this January--so we weren't surprised that rates are high. We paid more than P5,000 for a two-night stay (double occupancy).

For the price, the room was the ugliest we had ever been to. It's cramped and the lighting was very dim. The airconditioner was working fine, as well as the TV, but their wifi was a bit sluggish and you had to be issued a password every single day for every single device you use (hence you have to call the front desk every now and then, which is such a hassle). The bathroom was clean; there was running water plus hot and cold shower.

Breakfast was terrible not because of the food per se (which was, by the way, a little bland but livable) but because they served only three variations EVER. You had to choose between having corned beef, dried fish, and another one I forgot every single day. The coffee was great though, and the ambiance of their cafe is also good.

The location, as I said, was great since you only had to walk to the end of the block to see a portion of the parade.

We also found their airport pickup a bit ostentatious: P550 one-way.

When we were making an inquiry online and thru text, we were asking if their cheapest AC room for 2 people was available--to which they replied no. They had said though that the room next to our choice in terms of price (naturally it's pricier) was available.

We then tried transacting using my companion's number and asked if they had an available AC bed for a single person, and asked if we could just pay for the Extra Person fee, to which they replied they had no available room for singles, but that they have a double AC which was THE SAME ROOM WE HAD INQUIRED ABOUT USING MY NUMBER.

Which meant only one thing: they were trying to bump us in the next pricier room. We did get the double AC but not the pickup service (we hired a cab and we paid P290 from the airport to the hotel).

Overall: it's a pretty decent place with all the basic amenities, but it doesn't offer value for money at all. We opted for it just because all the cheaper ones we inquired from were already fully booked. So this one for convenience's sake.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

if you'll be sightseeing most of your stay in cebu, on a budget and don't mind small windows then this is the hotel for you. the rates are pretty reasonable, the room is relatively clean although i sighted a cockroach ONCE in the bathroom. the first night, we didn't have hot water for bathing. the guy at the reception said the hotel uses solar power to heat the water. since it was raining a few days before our stay the water wasn't heated. not sure if it was true or not but we got hot water the morning after. toiletries were provided but no sleepers. the room was clean, no questionable stains on the bed sheets nor odd smell, the bed was suitable to sleep in; not rock hard. the hotel is located on a busy street so transportation will not be problem. although i don't recommend walking around the area late at night. the free breakfast is good, you have a choice of typical filipino breakfast served with egg and your choice of juice or coffee. we stayed on the second floor so the free wifi connection was fast. you just have to ask for the password from the front desk.

Room Tip: choose a room with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

im from the UK,i stayed in this hotel for a full month in June 2011, and again in November 2011. i must say i enjoyed my stay there,the staff where really helpful and pleasant,my wife was with me and we had no complaits other than my fried egg was cold a few times in the morning breakfast.and the odd cockroach in the bathroom,im not used to roaches coz we dont see them very often in the UK but it didnt put me off going back the second time.you pay your money and take your choice.the reception staff where very pleasant and helpfull, there was the odd glitch with the wi fi but overall it was fine. the rooms where clean and cleaned regularly. outside the street was very busy traffic wise but thats to be expected in a busy city,we walked around the streets without any bother from anyone,we went shopping in the local malls,no problems there either,we also took a taxi to the Iarger Malls,Ayala & sm mall,the fare was around 90 or 100 peso,futher up town where we purchased a few things,the.taxi to and from the airport was 190 pesos for the 'white' taxi,the yellow airport taxi was more expensive at 360 pesos.i would stay there again no problem,if im back in Cebu thats where i'll stay,better the devil you know i say. (if you want to buy fresh fruit the stalls/sellers are just seconds from the hotel on foot,we bought bananas and mangos there.)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

i booked with agoda for me and me wife 2 person but the hotel charge an other 400 piso per night and 200 extra for the breakfast. the rooms are clean but only the room the bad room not the internet is free and free of function that means it works for 5 minutes and then it stops. Reaction from the very smiley but very incompetent staff ...sorry. about the nois in the room and the location i don't want to remember on this ...in any case keep away from this hotel !!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacloban, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel is one of the best "value for the money" deals available. Nondescript but comfortable. Staff very accommodating and pleasant. Rooms small but very well kept and stocked. Breakfast included with room was basic but delicious. Location is close to shopping and dining. If you want luxury and pampering...you should look elsewhere. But if you want a quiet, inexpensive, convenient place to spend the night...look no further. Would recommend to all looking for value. Will definitely stay there again on future trips to Cebu.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parts unknow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I went to this hotel only for lunch, but was examining this place as a potential venue for our wedding reception. During the lunch and subsequent tour of the reception areas, I was convinced this wasn't the place to stay or have a reception, I would not recomend it for lunch or even a potty break if you're walking on the street.

First off on entering the hotel restraunt, we we the only ones there. That should have been a sign. Well, my wife got fish and I got some meat dish. My meal was tasteless, and my wife got food poisoning about 30 minutes after finishing the meal. The restroom at the back of the restraunt had roaches. Dead, but the restroom was adjacent the kitchen. God only knows.

A few other things that bugged me. I asked for a mix drink, and was told they didnt have the particular liquor. I then asked for another, and was told the same. So compromised on a glass of wine, which they have listed by the glass. I was told after the waiter went to the back that the wine could only be sold by the bottle. I finally decided to just eat thirsty. But becasue the food was so tasteless I didnt force myself to eat it so saving my thirst, however drinking that tasteless food down with a margarita or white wine would have been nice.

So we went on the tour of the reception, although by then i had already decided that we would have to cater out if allowed, nevertheless went on the tour since we had been driven by taxi there. And let me tell you, there was alot to be desifre here as well. Just seems like the entire hotel staff and managment is lazy and dont care for customer service nor pride of their business. The person giving the tour gave conflicting prices and occupancy compared to the front desk person, who then suggested we call back for another person to give specifics. By then I was only asking questions for entertainment to see how bad they really were.

The surrounding area of this hotel is horrible and dirty overcrowded. I saw a rat the size of a cat in the middle of the day, about 20 ft from the hotel. This place has no saving qualities. I am glad I decided not to stay here as I had originally planned.

This place doesnt deserve a star and should not even have a listing.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere from from here and surrounding location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Delicious food & Hotel staff is very accommodating , I enjoyed my stay,so I extend for another night...I was one of participants in a seminar & I was so happy that even the security guard on duty & waiter were willing to help me practice my dance number for my seminar's activity, that was great...and in the resto all the staff were friendly and cheerful...i'll be back next year...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Valley Hotel

Address: 155A Pelaez Street, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Valley Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Golden Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Valley Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.