We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but we won't choose this hotel again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Prince Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Prince Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Golden Prince Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Acacia Street | Barangay Kamputhaw, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Cebu City
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not bad, but we won't choose this hotel again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Overall, the Golden Prince isn't a bad hotel, but we will never stay there again -- To say that their hotel has "unlimited" wifi is an outright lie. If you want a nice hotel in Cebu City, try the Parklane. I've stayed there twice and everything about it is better than the Golden Prince (plus it has a swimming pool). See the details of our stay below.

WIFI - If you need/want Internet access, DO NOT stay here.
* Internet didn't work at all the first two nights and we were told it was because the hotel was fully booked
* Wireless routers are in the hallways and you have to stand near the door in your room to get a signal. Don't even try it from the bed or near the window
* Every day you need to get separate passwords (good for 24 hours) for each of your devices from the front desk. They need to be re-entered several times per day
* Even if you have a signal, and the correct password, the Internet still doesn't work 90% of the time

Incidentals Deposit
When checking in I was surprised that they asked for a cash deposit of 3000 pesos. I asked if they could swipe my credit card and they said no, it had to be cash. It would have been nice to know this before checking in.

Rooms
* None of the rooms have carpet
* The beds are wooden platforms with thin foam mattresses on top. Not a problem for me, but it might be for people who don't like an extra-firm bed.
* The king-sized bed is two twins pushed together with a king-sized sheet over the two twin mattresses.
* No in-room safe - that was a little inconvenient as we had to carry all our cash and passports with us each day
* We started with the Studio Suite, which is just a standard hotel room with a kitchenette. Halfway through the week we upgraded to the One Bedroom Suite because we needed more space for visitors. The one bedroom suite is a very nice, spacious, room with a separate bedroom (great for putting the baby down for a nap when we had guests)

Ants
* If you leave food out, it will quickly be covered with hundreds of small ants. This happened in both rooms we had. Fortunately, the refrigerator is large enough to hold lots of food, so we only had the ant problem if we forgot to put the food away.

Toiletries
* This is the first hotel I've stayed in that doesn't give you an extra roll of toilet paper. The one roll doesn't last through the day if you're traveling with your family, so we ended up buying our own rather than having to call the front desk every day.
* They give you tiny packets of shampoo. Again, we bought our own shampoo and soap rather than call the front desk each day to ask for more.

Breakfast Buffet
This was one of the nicer aspects of the hotel. The restaurant is small and the buffet doesn't have a huge selection, but they change the menu every day - We didn't get bored with the breakfast like in some other hotels. The omlet chef does a nice job, too.

Room Tip: Major construction project on one side of the hotel - Ask for a room on the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ji1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Due to the good reviews from tripadvisor, I book this hotel however there is something wrong from their website thus I called them up.

As we are 4 adults and 1 toddler, Miss Beth recommended the 2 bedroom suite that is huge and which is good for us coz we check in during holy week from March 28 to 30 so we just chill out at the hotel as everything is close so we just went to the churches.

Room – huge and got enough space. We got a living room and 2 separate bedrooms with attached toilets each.

Location – 3 to 5 mins walking distance to Ayala Mall and 10 to 15 mins by cab going to SM.

Customer Service – was good and help us out in our church tours =) Helped me as well to get a Yellow Cab Pizza number which is a wrong number and when I googled it I called another number and ask them to waived this off from my bill which they did.
Overall experience was good and was very pleased about their service as we always still inside our room.

Wifi – our living room has ample internet however in the room there’s none.

Food – ours includes buffet breakfast, not a big spread but its ample.

Downside: there is no pool but its ok, after 1 night our key card won’t work, good thing the cleaner is just nearby coz we are on the 6th floor.
A big downside are the glass windows coz its not safe for kids. Although its close, its a transparent window then you will automatically drop if accident happens. So we always make sure my baby will not go near the window.
I remembered also that some of the lights are not working and some of them are yellow light so its so dim.
Some of the cabinet walls are spoiled and the faucet and shower are coming off but despite of this our stay is great and value for money =)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexme18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is just a few minutes walk from Ayala Mall, strategically located at a quiet street with another side facing main road. I'm impressed with the friendly and warm staffs, every staff including housekeepers, waiters , bellboy, guide etc greeted us with a wide smile whenever you meet them. The room is clean and big, just the bathroom is a bit small compared to the spacious room. Downside of the room is the poor sound proofing of the room as you can easily hear sounds outside the room which is not really a big deal for me. Would recommend this hotel to those who need a budget stay with cheap price,nice location & environment .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vernicejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is strategically located within 3 minutes walking distance to Ayala Mall.
The room is clean and big with very friendly staff that greet you whenever they see you.
The breakfast is nice.
The sound proof of the room need to be upgrade as we can hear other room door opening sound.
Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darreneng84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Sometime in Dec. 19, 2012 i had my wedding and i didn't regret to avail of the Hassle-free wedding package of Golden Prince Hotel. Its practically affordable and the food is great, the venue and the inclusions in the package. Although there are some minute discrepancies on the details but anyways its manageable thru the efforts of their beautiful sales coordinator Ms. Guia who is so accommodating, understanding and friendly.
Everything in the wedding package is indeed worth it and had saved a lot of effort, stress and time. A very practical way to save a lot for your wedding and Golden Prince has it!

Thank you so much!

Steven & Melea

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lea132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed there twice in a short period. Both times had a studio suite for 2150Php which included breakfast. They warned about the noise from the reconstruction next door, but despite having a window looking out on it, it was not a bother. Very light sleepers might consider this. The rooms were clean, reasonably sized. The hot water was a bit warmish rather than very hot. They both had mini-kitchens. Cable TV and free Wifi which worked very well. The breakfast was good, with a vegetarian choice available. The restaurant could use a vegetarian entree. The service staff was friendly and very helpful. Located within a ten minute walk of Ayala Mall (one of the four big malls in Cebu, with lots of shopping and many great choices for eating), this was a find, and will definitely be visited again.

Room Tip: If noise is a problem tell them before accepting a room, there is construction going on. (They have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozamiz City, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here when I had a short trip to Cebu. The best plus of the hotel is the location near the Ayala mall. Rooms were spacious but a bit bare. Breakfast was good enough but the service was great. The hotel is budget friendly and just outside are restaurants as well.

Room Tip: Pick rooms that are facing the street for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Asombrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#7 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#13 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#20 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#14 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#5 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
#23 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Prince Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Prince Hotel & Suites

Address: Acacia Street | Barangay Kamputhaw, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Prince Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Prince Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Prince Hotel & Suites Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing