We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Escano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Escano to your Saves list
Casa Escano
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   94 Juana Osmena St. | Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 65 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I had a very comfortable one month stay at Casa Escano. The staff was extremely service-minded and went out of their way to assist me. The internet connection was stable. The food was affordable, and there were plenty of other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedco, Owner at Casa Escano, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Linda N,

We appreciate & thank you for your review on Casa Escaño. We are also glad that you enjoyed your stay & were made comfortable throughout.

A Blessed Christmas & Blissful New Year to you & your family !

Jimmy :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    58
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
36
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We just finished the second half of our family vacation at this property. The staff is just wonderful - I can not say enough about how lovely every individual that worked at this property was. The hotel was immaculate and well taken care of. Very generous accommodations. The rooms were also great! Highly recommend staying here! All in all we had a great time and we hope to go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negros Island, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very nice people , nice place to stay very quite we sleep very good... the food is good.. But maybe need some coffee maker in the room thats the most important. The wifi is very good, we stay there one week because we visit some family also, easy to go diff. place you can take taxi or you walk to ride the jeep so easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Noticed after our first night that we had over 10,000 Pesos and 200 AUD missing from our lock box in the room. THEY STOLE FROM THE LOCK BOX!! Didn't feel safe afterwards, especially with the shifty Chef continuously asking when we would be going out from the B&B. Shameful, as this was our first day in the Philippines.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedco, Owner at Casa Escano, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear JDKCAN,

We are very sorry for this unfortunate incident. We are taking this very seriously & are investigating this. In order to help us solve this, may we request that you give us an email address where we can ask more details. You can email us at info@casaescano.com

We will strive to conduct a speedy investigation & replace the loss ASAP.

Sincerely,

Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Two nights in Casa Escano. Stayed in one of the farthest rooms. There was no intercom so if you need anything, you will have to walk over to the coffee shop.
There were one or two mosquitoes in my area.
Otherwise the place is okay.
A little pricey to me though.
The coffeshop serves a mean burger! Yum.
Outside the hotel are restos with home-cooked style food. Just ask the guard for directions.
The hotel is a few minutes away by cab from the Ayala mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the coffeeshop. The 'far' room I stayed in was like an afterthough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedco, Owner at Casa Escano, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear JustJulie58,

Thank you for your review on our burger. Its actually one of our bestsellers & most of our customers who come back for it swear that its the best "value for money" burger in town.

Since we are a B&B, we do not have intercoms or telephones in our rooms. We also respect the privacy of our guests.

Thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you in your next visit to Cebu.

Sincerely,

Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staying one night in Cebu we chose to stay here. Quet with no noise from the traffic, confortable beds, clean. GGood breakfast With several Choices included. Everything for a resonable price. We also tried their restaurant in the evening. It was good. May go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedco, Owner at Casa Escano, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear UlfWikeL.jungblad,

We are glad that you liked our small & quaint B&B. It is a place for guests who would like to veer away from the "standard" high rise hotels. We also boast of the food in our restaurant & invite you to try our burger & steaks.

See you in your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family and I stayed from Aug 6 to 8, 2013 and found this hotel built in 1950 a charming, quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of Cebu City. After a day out island hopping or a tour of the historical sites of Cebu City, it was nice to be back at Casa Escano to unwind. The staffs were kind, helpful and friendly. They were always at hand to lend a helping hand. One even walked us out to the nearest jeepney stand, hailed down a jeepney and made sure that the driver understood where we wanted to go to. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The location is central and safe. It was our first stay at Casa Escano and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedco, Owner at Casa Escano, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear SJKfamily,

Thank you for your kind review of our B&B. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & were warmly welcomed by our staff. We expect to see you in your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Escano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Escano

Address: 94 Juana Osmena St. | Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Escano 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Escano is an ancestral home converted to a bed & breakfast. Casa Escano has a 11 rooms, one family room good for four guests, 2 superior rooms good for 3 guests, 4 deluxe rooms good for two guests and 4 standard rooms good for 1 guest. Casa Escano has a rustic, homey environment, quiet and free from the hustle and bustle of traditional hotels. We also have ample parking good for 40 vehicles. Total square footage of the property is 2000 square meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Escano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Escano Hotel Cebu City
Casa Escano Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Escano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.