We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very cheap accommodation for big groups!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verbena Pension House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Verbena Pension House to your Saves list
Verbena Pension House
2.0 of 5 Pension (B&B)   |   584-A Dou Gil Garcia Street, Cebu City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 61 Cebu City B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very cheap accommodation for big groups!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Our group is mainly composed of 16 adults and 3 children..we were given the exact room for the group..staffs are very much accommodating and helpful for our hectic city tours..for the accommodation, we were charged per head but i think it is still very much cheap!if we will be permitted to come back in cebu, would still stay in this place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerbenaPensionHouse, Director of Sales at Verbena Pension House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family, thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Pension House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
QC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were there last June 2012, with my officemates. Had booked one deluxe room and one twin room just add extra person. Stayed for a night, budget hotel for backpackers, water in shower is weak. My boss said it is good enough hotel. Near the Shamrock and Fuente circle.. The receptionist is accommodating. There is a free breakfast too..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerbenaPensionHouse, Director of Sales at Verbena Pension House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family, thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Pension House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Me and my fiancee decided to stay at this pension since we were looking for an affordable accomodation in a hurry, so i will be quick with my review with my usual pros and cons method

PROS:
-Cheap, rooms as low as P850
-Room was clean, and comfortable to sleep in
-price you pay includes a breakfast buffet
-Pretty much walking distance to alot of places such as banks, restaurants and public
transportation


CONS
-Shower is basically just for show, not much pressure, you end up using the pail
-bathroom is tiny, and no division or curtain between shower area and the toilet/sink, so everything gets wet
-toilet is facing the wall so if you've got long legs, your knees are going to be hitting those walls
-Dont expect much for your buffet, remember the saying, "You get what you pay for" , the buffet consists of cheap fried faux-ham, scrambled eggs and rice and some kind of salad that looks like coleslaw, and you get a choice of either juice or coffee
-Front desk personnel are really not that how you'd say customer service oriented, they really dont go all out to make your stay as pleasant as possible, they're more focused on their idle chit chat with their own peers

Room Tip: -the closest bank is BPI, its walking distance - 2 places that I recommend to get a good meal and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerbenaPensionHouse, Director of Sales at Verbena Pension House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family, thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Pension House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family wanted to celebrate the Sinulog Festival, but then they have decided only a week before Sinulog, and this is the only Pension House that is vacant, as far as we know. So we reserved it, the staff was accommodating, they even bring our bags to the room, I was pretty shock that they did because most of pension houses' staff don't do that. The lobby was good, average space, clean, relaxing and accommodating. The family room is good for 4-6 persons, actually there were 5 of us who stayed in the room and it was spacious, all adults. Pretty bad that they don't have hot and cold water.. :( but for me, the comfort room/ bath room was okay, not so squeeky clean but standard clean is okay. The breakfast was very good! we didn't expect that they offer free breakfast, that was good, and we could even choose which food we wanted to eat... :) not like others that they already have set the breakfast, even if you don't like it. Anyways, that was good, the staff was accommodating even if it was busy days because the pension house was almost full. It is really good to have a cafe inside the pension house, so that whenever you wanted to eat something, it is already there, and they have a small variety of things that you could buy, like napkins and such. They offer free drinking water, hot and cold, that is a big plus... :)We super enjoyed our stay since they have a sinulog dance in the lobby and then they danced around the cafe, it was entertaining and we really could feel that it was Sinulog Festival... :) Though they have less parking, but we don't care much about parking, because when you go out from the pension house, there are taxis ready in front, very convenient, don't have to walk far to hail a taxi...over all my family was satisfied, and we have a senior citizen with us, and they have senior citizen discount too.. :) Good one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerbenaPensionHouse, Director of Sales at Verbena Pension House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family, thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Pension House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guri, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

where been there last year...good location..but they don't provide good service at all..just be honest ...and I don't want to offend anyone...the ladies who entertain you is not accommodating at all..maybe because I'm a girl.....hahaha...and they are not a type who give you enough room for 2 person...even if you keep on reserving for a right room...until we decided to transfer to another pension...because they give the room we reserve to a new comers..it's irritating...the room need renovation .. they should check their room and give too much attention..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerbenaPensionHouse, Director of Sales at Verbena Pension House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family, thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Pension House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent a weekend in Cebu and booked at Verbena upon the suggestion of a friend. I'm so glad I took his advice!

Verbena Pension House is a great value for the following reasons: 1) LOCATION: it's centrally located in the Fuente area, near most everywhere you would want to go (esp. popular eating places like Larsian and S.T.K.); there's also a Robinson's Cybergate nearby should you need to buy anything and it's even close to a hospital! 2) PRICE: super affordable and clean rooms with free WIFI; 3) SERVICE - staff are generally pleasant, offer to clean rooms and are able to answer most queries. 4) EXTRAS - the "perks" that I really enjoyed at Verbena that I don't usually find in other pension houses of the same price range: free breakfast (with a good variety of choices, even vegetarian options, which is very important for me), water dispenser with hot and cold water, and free WIFI available in all rooms!

The only CON I could think of is that their lobby smells like insect spray which is a shame, because their lobby is quite cozy. The bathrooms also have windows that can invite mosquitoes in to your room - would be useful to spray insecticide spray every so often. And keep the bathroom door closed.

Would definitely stay in Verbena again!

Room Tip: The breakfast area only has a handful of tables - grab breakfast early. Spray the bathroom with ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerbenaPensionHouse, Director of Sales at Verbena Pension House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family, thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Pension House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacloban, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed on this pension house last November 13 to 15 2012. My mother thought we could save money for the place but she was so wrong. We paid 1495 for a room that has a large bed and a single bed but the problem is for this room has no hot and cold shower. The Comfort room was always wet and watery even though were not using the CR. There was this awful smell in the room wherein my 3 year old son don't like. Though the staff was courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerbenaPensionHouse, Director of Sales at Verbena Pension House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family, thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Pension House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verbena Pension House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verbena Pension House

Address: 584-A Dou Gil Garcia Street, Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Verbena Pension House 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether in Cebu for business and leisure, you can be sure you have a clean, decent, cozy, and affordable place to stay at Verbena Capitol Suites. Nestled within the bustling uptown business district of Metro Cebu, the hotel is within walking distance to some shopping, food & entertainment centers, business and medical establishments, schools and universities and within access to tourist spots, and public transport. Verbena Capitol Suites thus puts you in convenient proximity to most places you want and need to be in the city. At the end of a hectic day attending to business or visiting the sites, you can be sure that Verbena awaits with a warm welcome and a luxuriously restful place of solace for you. Come! Stay awhile. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and rest easy at Verbena Capitol Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Verbena Pension House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verbena Pension House Hotel Cebu City
Verbena Pension House Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verbena Pension House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.