We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strategic location and nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Rosario Pension House

Save Saved
You added Casa Rosario Pension House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Rosario Pension House
101 F. Ramon Aboitiz St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 59 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“strategic location and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

i go to cebu quite often almost evry month and choose to stay on this place, everything is near redemptorist church, convenience store, fuente and almost all hospitals are near.excellent service upon arrival, rooms are spacious and clean, hot and cold showers worked w/ internet also, hot and cold water dispenser available at all times on all floors and with elevators..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
31 McCoubrie Ave.,W.S'shine,Vic.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My previous two reviews of this humble,but good, hotel/pension house (what is it really,a pension house or a hotel?!), highly praised it but,unfortunately,I cannot do the same now basing on our "experience" there last May 12 to June 3,2011! No,it's not as bad as it sounds here,it's still quite a good hotel ,except that it somehow has deteriorated in its upkeep and maintenance,to the point where they don't seem to care much (or know!) about fixing any problems occurring (or has occurred!)! The worst example of this was the hot water in our bathroom,which was out of order when we arrived AND STILL out of order when we left 23 days later! Their reason for the delay in repairing it was that the "part" for it had to be ordered from Manila,but unless Manila was on the other side of the moon (and even then!) it never arrived while we were there! (We had to use an electric water heater jug,which we had with us, for our hot water when taking a bath!) And this was not the only problem! The day AFTER we arriived our overhead round fluorescent light "expired",but the replacement,which turned out to be an old used one,also expired just after one day! And it took them almost a whole morning to replace it - not only because what they used as replacement was not of the same size but also because they did not have any spares and still had to buy it! Sounds like the "Keystone Cops",doesn't it? Any more "problems"? Yes! The airconditioner was not really doing its utmost of cooling the room,specially during the hot afternoons! (Last year,as we always stayed in the same room during the three times in as many years we stayed in this hotel,it too "expired" on our very last day there; thank God we only had a morning left before our departure!) Any more "problems"? Yes again! They could either repair the two venetian blinds in the room,or replace the one which was quite obviously much smaller than the window it was supposed to cover!
Would we stay there again? Probably yes, as in spite of the above "complaints" we still rate the hotel, overall, as good value for money! And its location is superb! But,for heaven's sake,to Management: "take care" of your hotel; employ a qualified,and experienced, Service and Maintenance Mgr. to keep it "up to scratch and as good as new"! Don't let it be until it crumbles down just to save a few centavos! You have a "rough diamond" there you know!

Room Tip: As said above,we always stayed in the same room (on the 3rd floor) in the 3 times,in as many years...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The room we got was one with twin beds. The place is showing its age although one can see efforts to maintain and give it a face lift. The amenities are good for a budget hotel.

There is hot and cold shower and faucet in the bathroom and the bathroom tiles shows its age. The room has good air conditioning but the air grill is gone. The TV is LCD with cable channels. The dress has a light. Closet is a little low for my height. The ceiling shows prints of fixtures of old which have been removed. There is a square hole on the ceiling.

Breakfast buffet is available for P120 or roughly $3 with limited choices. The taste is about average.

Plenty of taxis go by 101 Aboitiz Street, where this hotel is located, so no problem if you need to hail a cab. In front of the hotel is St. Therea's College Cebu. Two laundry shops are nearby and convenient. There are cafes in the arcade next door, even a Mister Donut. An Internet cafe is also at the arcade.

My colleague ordered beer sometime close to midnight. I was surprised it was the security guard who sent it up to the room as waiters and kitchen personnel are not available at night.

There is an elevator but it is quite small with a capacity of only 6 persons tops. The entry to the elevator is narrow. It might not be good for wheelchaired persons.

Wifi is free, although in five days, I had two nights of spotty or no Internet.

Noise or even people talking in the hall can be easily heard inside the room. Must be the unplanned acoustics in the place.

For those with vehicles, parking is available at the side of the hotel. If you park deeper insde the parking area, you will notice a house whose occupant specializes in restoring BMW's.

Overall, the stay was average but kind of pleasant.

This hotel was not our first choice. The first choice was fully booked and so was the third choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at three Cebu Pension Houses this July. Casa Rosario was best among them. We stayed for ten days, often taking a second room for the family to use. Location is close to Osmena Fuente Circle, on a sometimes busy side st ( due to St. Theresa School.). Front desk staff is helpful and accomodating, maid service is spotty, often leaving trash in hallway for days at a time. Restaurant is OK, but you may tire of their limited menu after 3 days. I would consider returning here again if I am in the city. Keep in mind there are dozens of low-cost options in central Cebu City.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be noisy, request room not on Aboitiz St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Definitely one of the best places to stay in Cebu, GREAT staff, very professional, hardworking and very corteous, they'd go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. If Cebuanos are known to be Good and Loving people then the staff is even better, professionally trained to work in a hotel, most especially the front desk clerks. Management indeed has found a "GEM" in these staff.

I stayed there for a week, never a day need i complain of anything. Price, Service and Accomodation is incomparable if you are looking for a place to stay in a tight budget. Everywhere within the hotel is clean, security is adequate, service is fast and efficient, rooms are descent and best of all room rates are way below on what you might pay on other hotels of the same level.

Location is just perfect, its near anything you might need when you are travelling, Mobility is fast since there is always a taxi waiting outside the hotel, or if you might choose to walk there is always something within walking distance, be it a mall, a bar, a laundry service, a restaurant or even a church.

It has been recommended to me by friends here in the US and now i do the same to all my friends wishing to travel to Cebu and experience the difference in culture and good values that the Cebuanos have.

So on my next Vacation to Cebu, its definitely straight from airport to CASA ROSARIO.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

My friends and i shared a family room for several nights during Sinolog while in Cebu, close to everything you might need. The room was clean , and the staff friendly and accomodating, easy to get a coffee just around the corner and laundry just next door. As i said we were there during sinulog so it was very noisy with a streetside room during the celebrations, otherwise very quiet hotel. I highly recommend, as its easy on the pocket and a nice spot to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Casa Rosario is my favorite. I stay there several months each year. It is within walking distance to malls, shops, restaurants, fast food, groceries, churches, AA, massage, gym, hospital, travel agencies, girl bars and discos... you name it and you will probably find it within walking distance. If you need a taxi it will appear within seconds if you step outside (except when it is raining then it can take some time). It is a locally well known Hotel so all taxi drivers will know where it is located. That said it is important to know that this Hotel is run by a Christian family and it is profiled for family and family values. If you want to party do that elsewhere, don't bring the party to the hotel.

Try to get a room at the top floor at either end of the building. There you will have an excellent view outside. The rooms are spacious and have good standard TV with cable. There is free Wi-Fi Internet with descent speed and reliability. The furniture and fittings are pretty basic. The showers are really good for a budget hotel in Asia. Not the bad room gas heaters but a central heating. So you will get lots of hot water.

The Hotel and its guests are quiet so you will not get disturbed. The staff is friendly, personal and accommodating. There is good security with several 24-hour guards and fire escapes easily found and accessed.

You can get a 20% discount if you stay at least one month and pay in cash advance. Best and safest budget hotel in uptown Cebu City.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Rosario Pension House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rosario Pension House

Address: 101 F. Ramon Aboitiz St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Casa Rosario Pension House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rosario Pension House Hotel Cebu City
Casa Rosario Pension House Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Rosario Pension House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.