We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sampaguita Suites JRG

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Tingo.com
and 3 more sites!
Sampaguita Suites JRG
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   JRG Building, Gen. Maxilom Avenue | 2nd Floor, Cebu City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Cheap basic clean accommodation in Cebu city centre. No restaurant but not really needed as so many places to eat close by. The basic rooms include cable tv, temperamental wifi and noisy aircon. All this for just over £15 per night for a couple (998 pesos)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. Actually, we do have a restaurant that operates round the clock that serves simple basic dishes. We're so sorry to hear about the air conditioning. We'll take a look at that room and have Maintenance check it. It would have been better if you'd let the staff know about this so that front desk could have transferred you to another room.

We will make sure that preventive maintenance is practiced to avoid these incidents from happening again. Thank you again for your constructive review. We'd be happier to hear the next time you visit us that the money you spent is worth the service quality that you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    32
    27
    13
    9
See reviews for
13
27
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is one of my favorite places of stay whenever am in Cebu on business trip. This is almost home as the people already know my preferred room. Since am one of the people who stay long hours in their lobby to work on my computer, they will anticipate my preferred table, which is next to the electric outlet and prepare the extension cord for my laptop and other gadgets.

In my recent stay here, i witnessed a remarkable display of honesty by one of the Sampaguita Personnel. A guest had left about Php8k in the room. The housekeeper immediately alerted the front desk, who immediately called up the guest's cell phone number. The guest was so grateful for the honesty of the staff.

Now that is an extra reason for me to keep coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel has very high occupancy. Better to book via online than risk walking-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We, at Sampaguita Suites JRG strive hard to extend hospitality and honesty to our guests even after they have checked out of the hotel because we believe that in pursuing this value, we ensure the hotel of returning guests and our reputation will be passed on to others more who are looking for a good place to stay in Cebu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

it is strategically located right there in the heart of cebu uptown area. unfortunately, the rooms are too small. one time i was placed in a room with a leaking ceiling. another instance was with an airconditioning unit that was more of an overheated electric fan.

avoid their laundry service. i ended up with clothes not mine in my bag of fresh laundry.

some staff are not polite.

wifi sucks big time that you would end up camping in their reception area which too hot if not mosquito infested.

its a long climb from the ground floor. often than not, no one is there to offer to carry your bags to the reception area.

Room Tip: not at all a happy place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
In addition to our last letter reply, we realized that you have stayed at our hotel last year Dec 2011.

We suggest that you visit us again this time and compare the difference.

The Wifi is now made available in the rooms. Our bellman is now regularly assigned at the entrance door of our lobby to assist you with your luggage, and a security guard is stationed at the ground floor on the stairway as well.

We have conducted 2 major seminar trainings for our staff to ensure good service to our guests.

The room defects that you mentioned have already been fixed a long time ago.

We really hope that you can visit us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacoor, Cavite, Philippines
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have been to Cebu many times because of my work and this hotel is the place where I stayed most. This hotel is accessible to restaurants, malls, bars and a lot more, you can find almost everything here. The staffs are friendly and accommodating. The hotel is WIFI ready so you don't need to go out to the computer shops. The price is okay compare to the other hotels within the area.

If your on a tight budget but want to relax and be comfortable, Sampaguita Suites JRG is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. I just want to correct you about our Wifi facility. Wifi is available in the restaurant area and the lobby- rooms are not Wifi equipped. I wouldn't want to mislead nor misinform our readers and future guests.

Please continue being our regular patron and refer us to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights on our 1st night the room is so small hardly to move around the bed is matrimonial according to the receptionist but looks single bed for me well bigger than that but im sure its not a matrimonial size. The room was on 2nd floor with a window hardly slept due to noise. The day after i wanna cried when i woke up i dont feel relaxed rather feeled stressed out. The saving grace was on the our 2nd day we tranferred to 3rd floor which has already 2 beds bigger than the previous room alot better to think they have same price .The previous room should be for single occupancy not for double occupancy should be cheaper also to think you need to endure noise, small space.overall if the rooms are all like on 3 rd floor this is already ok for the price and its location.

Room Tip: Choose 3rd floor rooms away from noise outside the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your comment. I hope that your experience has not dampened your desire to come back to our hotel. Your advise will be taken up to management in order to avoid further disappointments from future guests. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had been a frequent visitor from cebu and checking different hotels for groups, individuals and clientele fro my travel agency. I heared about Sampaguita Hotel from a friend for their budget package and must see how it is. both Sampaguita JRG & Basilica Branch
ROOMS: regular,the ones that are appointed near the main road can be noisy.
STAFF: this is not a 5 star hotel,so i id say so-so...most importantly WIFI ready

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We do hope that we can do business together in the future and we'd be more than happy to accept comments, reviews and suggestions from you and your clients to make our hotel services better. Looking forward to hearing from you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I go to Cebu for business and pleasure several times a year and I always stay at Sampaguita JRG. The staff is so-so, they could be more friendly but they ARE polite and helpful enough. The rooms are small and basic but clean, and it is relatively quiet even though the hotel is located along a main road. What I love most about this hotel is its location. It is near Fuente Osmena and Robinsons and SM Cebu and Ayala Center are also just a short cab ride away. There are a lot of fastfoods and convenience stores within walking distance and on the ground floor of the hotel is a Razon's. Sampaguita JRG is my home when I'm in Cebu. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for the remarks. We appreciate the candor regarding our staff and we will make sure that we will do better. There's no doubt that our location is tops. But hospitality and congeniality should be given more attention. Please do not hesitate to give notice to this the next time you visit us. Until next time, ciao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sampaguita Suites JRG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Suites JRG

Also Known As:
Sampaguita Suites Jrg Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites Jrg Hotel
Sampaguita Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites JRG Cebu Island/Cebu City
Address: JRG Building, Gen. Maxilom Avenue | 2nd Floor, Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampaguita Suites JRG 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sampaguita Suites JRG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampaguita Suites JRG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sampaguita Suites JRG to your Saves list