We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sampaguita Suites JRG

Save Saved
You added Sampaguita Suites JRG to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sampaguita Suites JRG
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   JRG Building, Gen. Maxilom Avenue | 2nd Floor, Cebu City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Manila
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I go to Cebu for business and pleasure several times a year and I always stay at Sampaguita JRG. The staff is so-so, they could be more friendly but they ARE polite and helpful enough. The rooms are small and basic but clean, and it is relatively quiet even though the hotel is located along a main road. What I love most about this hotel is its location. It is near Fuente Osmena and Robinsons and SM Cebu and Ayala Center are also just a short cab ride away. There are a lot of fastfoods and convenience stores within walking distance and on the ground floor of the hotel is a Razon's. Sampaguita JRG is my home when I'm in Cebu. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for the remarks. We appreciate the candor regarding our staff and we will make sure that we will do better. There's no doubt that our location is tops. But hospitality and congeniality should be given more attention. Please do not hesitate to give notice to this the next time you visit us. Until next time, ciao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    34
    29
    13
    10
See reviews for
13
27
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've stayed here for a night and although I just went to inquire and there seems to be no available units yet, but the front desk staffs did go out of their way to find and accommodate me on that day. I have stayed at Shamrock nearby before and all I can say is that Sampaguita is a notch higher, everything you need can be access nearby, grocery, drug store, malls, you name it. . . although I find the toilet to be very basic, it surpassed my expectation still. . .

Kudos to you guys . . . .

Room Tip: if you are looking for a place to stay at the heart of Cebu, then this is the place to choose. . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. It feels good to know that our efforts are well recognized. Better yet, to be better compared to another hotel is more than enough for us. Thank you again and we hope that you will continue to patronize Sampaguita Suites JRG in the future. Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed there for two nights and we did a late check-in. The staff were very friendly, especially the front desk staff. Location was very convenient and there was a grocery store located right outside the entrance. (The entrance to the hotel is on the second floor) The room was decent, beds were comfy. The bathroom was decent, real hot shower which was needed. It was somewhat small and there were no proper division between the toilet and the shower area, which is typical of the Philippines. WiFi was available all throughout the hotel, including the room, free of charge..and it had decent connection. My only major complain is that the smell of food outside kept going inside our room which was somewhat bothering. Overall, good hotel for a good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you your review. It was a very a good review coming from someone who is from the Big Apple.We hope that can visit us again soon. We really appreciate upfront, straightforward remarks front our guests. It gives us the opportunity to improve further. We certainly hope that this will not be the last time you that you will come to Cebu City. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindanao, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Its in the middle of everything.
No hassles of finding cabs and jeepneys, establishments are walking distance away. Its convenient and budget friendly.

Whenever im on a budget trip and in cebu, i always stay in this hotel. Although lately, you can feel the building getting old.

I would request that the management do some maintenance work but its negligable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing your insight and thank you for being a frequent guest of the hotel. Location is what Sampaguita Suites JRG is all about and affordable accommodation is what we assure you alongside a friendly hotel staff. I just wish that you could have been more specific on which maintenance work that you feel that we need to improve. The place may be up for some refurbishing a bit to give it a new look. Thank you for your suggestion.

I hope that you continue to patronize JRG. God bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindanao, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place has a a good location and decent rooms for a short stay, however they are reluctant to provide with a different room if the room you are seeking to move to has a lower rate. Online on the same day and even the day before there were rooms suitable for us at a lower rate but the staff said they were not available. I didn't like this situation so moved to a much nicer place with a stawilling to deal. See FO review following this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your observation regarding our booking reservation system. We would like to inform you that our booking system in our Sampaguita Suites outlets are NOT REAL TIME. Meaning, what you see on the booking reservation online is not up-to-date. But we have good news for you! We will be upgrading the booking system very soon. We are currently in the process of duplicating the real-time system that we are using in our hotel at Coron to Sampaguita Suites.

With that, we would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. We will definitely be able to serve you much better as soon as that system is already in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butuan, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We are frequent in Cebu. Used to stay downtown but this time we stayed 4D/5N in Sampaguita Suites along Gen. Maxilom. We just walked in. The staff showed us their available rooms before they allow us to check in. Nice and friendly staff - housekeeping, front desk, coffee shop attendant and even the guard who willingly assisted us getting a taxi everytime we went out. The guard also help us find our way around to our chosen destinations - Simala in Sibonga town in the south and in Compostela town in the north.

Centrally located to malls, food chains, world class hospitals, restaurants, eateries and best of all, the building is located inside a commercial complex. No problem with your personal needs, pharmacy is just within the building. If you want some extreme adventure - zipline, skylift and skywalk - it is located nearby.

The travel taught us to spend wisely. Why spend much on accommodations when all we need is a secure and comfortable place to rest - we stayed outside most of the time anyway. Thus, we brought home more shopping items than usual. Isn't that great?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are so pleased to hear such comforting and warm praises from guests such as you. True, our hotel offers vaue-for-money accommodations that will make you spend more on your vacation than rooms that you will hardly use, without compromising the quality of room amenities.

We hope to hear from you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butuan, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Its the center of everything, accessible to everywhere. The price is reasonable. Competitive appearance. Front desk staff are friendly. It's like my second home. Small but clean room. Attentive staff. I'm coming back to this hotel

Room Tip: Executive rooms are bigger and with fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
We're glad to hear that you considered our hotel as your second home. Thank you too for complimenting our staff. We'll be looking forward to seeing you back to our hotel! Take care and Godspeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sampaguita Suites JRG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Suites JRG

Address: JRG Building, Gen. Maxilom Avenue | 2nd Floor, Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampaguita Suites JRG 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Sampaguita Suites JRG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaguita Suites Jrg Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites JRG Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampaguita Suites JRG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.