We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good value for your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Florentina Pensionne

La Florentina Pensionne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cebu City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Florentina Pensionne
18 Acacia Street | Lahug, Cebu City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 58 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a good value for your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The room they gave me at the 4f is too dim and unkept - the bed, pillows, cr, curtains, etc. I chose to stay here after I read good reviews. But found the opposite. Or maybe it was just the room they gave me. After spending two hours, I decided to move out. With P850, one can get lots of nice, clean pension houses in cebu city. I advice that you check the room to be given to you before you pay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Samar Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It took us a little while to find this place, but we did. It's in a good location, just a short walk to the Ayala shopping center and close to nightlife and restaurants, like The Wineshop. The people working were really nice and friendly. The common area is nice and inviting. There is no elevator, so you will have to walk up stairs to get to your room. We paid less than 1000php for our room and it was a pretty good deal. Our room was ok. There was a small closet and mirror. Our bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small, but the shower had hot and cold water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night on our way to Boracay. The hotel location is great--just a short walk from Ayala Center and near a bunch of good food and nightlife options. It's one of the cheaper options in the area, and the rooms themselves are what you would expect from any budget hotel in the Philippines, nothing spectacular. Our bathroom was pretty small, even by PI standards, but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the A/C worked well.

What sets the place apart from other budget hotels is the decor in the common areas. There's tons of beautiful woodwork, and though the place seems a bit older, it's got character and class. Plus there are a number of balconies and other places to sit and hang out. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

very bad service..seems like the employees there are not properly trained..they dont know how to talk to the guests..no manners at all..im so dissapointed..please train them..especially the front office girl..no proper endorsements..is there such a thing as guard/front office staff?the housekeeping didnt even bother to clean our room..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a older building with character, the rooms are basic but by Philippines standards they are OK for the money. We were travelling in the Philippines for 4 months and we stayed in a lot worse!
it's a good budget option and we found the location OK. It's near Ayala mall and there is a restaurant just around the corner that serves reasonable food.
There was free WiFi and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you like architecture and interior design that are the equivalent of Justin Bieber, or if you really, really like his music, perhaps this is not the place for you. But if you are like me and are not a fan of cookie-cutter mass production, welcome to the prettiest B&B in Cebu, for your kind of people. If you are likewise able to manage your expectations and know that for 850 Pesos you aren't going to get the Ritz, you won't regret choosing this place.

La Florentina is a place of modest yet tasteful retro-colonial flair. Walls are thin, but I had very quiet neighbors & the area is really tranquil. The staff is wonderful, and honest. I left my computer in the hallway and it was set aside for me when I went to reception to report it was missing. The owner is a very attentive and friendly lady, I didn't have any problems, but she does seem like she'd be reasonable in case you had complaints. The little patio downstairs, with free wifi and so many lovely plants, is a godsend in the architectural wasteland that characterizes most hotels in Filipino cities, budget or not.

This is not a one-stop-shop place to stay. You have to like exploring your surroundings. There's decent food at La Florentina, but for better meals, there's a great barbecue place about 15 meters away. With all the flashpacker hotels and Ayala Mall in the immediate vicinity, there really is no shortage of restaurants to choose from. And honestly, the free & fast wifi makes up for the lack of stellar food.

The only other place in the Cebu B&B category that rivals La Florentina's price-quality-personality ratio is Casa Escano. But in the words of a friend who dropped by to see me and was staying at Casa Escano: "I feel like an idiot. Your place is much nicer, and half the price." Granted she only saw the outside and patio. The rooms are a bit fancier in Casa Escano. But since I spent most of my time out of the hotel or working on my computer from the patio downstairs, I didn't mind much. If you're going to just veg in the aircon room, La Florentina is still decent, and not a cockroach in sight in 4 days. Major achievement for a budget hotel in Southeast Asia.

Room Tip: If you are able to carry your luggage up 3 steep but really short flights of stairs to the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The room is just ok... its affordable for budget traveller. no hot shower and elevator. so be ready to sweat off if ur located in highest floor. The location is just ok, walking distance to ayala mall. very quite at night since its not located in busy area...this pension is just like a house, in short ur like a boarders! Im not sure if they have curfew time... But if ur looking for cheap pension house, u can check this one.

Room Tip: Book a room 1st or 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Florentina Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Florentina Pensionne

Address: 18 Acacia Street | Lahug, Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Also Known As:
La Florentina Pensionne Hotel Cebu City
La Florentina Pensionne Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Florentina Pensionne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Florentina Pensionne to your Saves list