We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Florentina Pensionne

La Florentina Pensionne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cebu City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Florentina Pensionne
18 Acacia Street | Lahug, Cebu City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 58 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Cuenca, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good value in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night on our way to Boracay. The hotel location is great--just a short walk from Ayala Center and near a bunch of good food and nightlife options. It's one of the cheaper options in the area, and the rooms themselves are what you would expect from any budget hotel in the Philippines, nothing spectacular. Our bathroom was pretty small, even by PI standards, but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the A/C worked well.

What sets the place apart from other budget hotels is the decor in the common areas. There's tons of beautiful woodwork, and though the place seems a bit older, it's got character and class. Plus there are a number of balconies and other places to sit and hang out. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

very bad service..seems like the employees there are not properly trained..they dont know how to talk to the guests..no manners at all..im so dissapointed..please train them..especially the front office girl..no proper endorsements..is there such a thing as guard/front office staff?the housekeeping didnt even bother to clean our room..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a older building with character, the rooms are basic but by Philippines standards they are OK for the money. We were travelling in the Philippines for 4 months and we stayed in a lot worse!
it's a good budget option and we found the location OK. It's near Ayala mall and there is a restaurant just around the corner that serves reasonable food.
There was free WiFi and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you like architecture and interior design that are the equivalent of Justin Bieber, or if you really, really like his music, perhaps this is not the place for you. But if you are like me and are not a fan of cookie-cutter mass production, welcome to the prettiest B&B in Cebu, for your kind of people. If you are likewise able to manage your expectations and know that for 850 Pesos you aren't going to get the Ritz, you won't regret choosing this place.

La Florentina is a place of modest yet tasteful retro-colonial flair. Walls are thin, but I had very quiet neighbors & the area is really tranquil. The staff is wonderful, and honest. I left my computer in the hallway and it was set aside for me when I went to reception to report it was missing. The owner is a very attentive and friendly lady, I didn't have any problems, but she does seem like she'd be reasonable in case you had complaints. The little patio downstairs, with free wifi and so many lovely plants, is a godsend in the architectural wasteland that characterizes most hotels in Filipino cities, budget or not.

This is not a one-stop-shop place to stay. You have to like exploring your surroundings. There's decent food at La Florentina, but for better meals, there's a great barbecue place about 15 meters away. With all the flashpacker hotels and Ayala Mall in the immediate vicinity, there really is no shortage of restaurants to choose from. And honestly, the free & fast wifi makes up for the lack of stellar food.

The only other place in the Cebu B&B category that rivals La Florentina's price-quality-personality ratio is Casa Escano. But in the words of a friend who dropped by to see me and was staying at Casa Escano: "I feel like an idiot. Your place is much nicer, and half the price." Granted she only saw the outside and patio. The rooms are a bit fancier in Casa Escano. But since I spent most of my time out of the hotel or working on my computer from the patio downstairs, I didn't mind much. If you're going to just veg in the aircon room, La Florentina is still decent, and not a cockroach in sight in 4 days. Major achievement for a budget hotel in Southeast Asia.

Room Tip: If you are able to carry your luggage up 3 steep but really short flights of stairs to the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The room is just ok... its affordable for budget traveller. no hot shower and elevator. so be ready to sweat off if ur located in highest floor. The location is just ok, walking distance to ayala mall. very quite at night since its not located in busy area...this pension is just like a house, in short ur like a boarders! Im not sure if they have curfew time... But if ur looking for cheap pension house, u can check this one.

Room Tip: Book a room 1st or 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I really liked this place in Cebu. The rooms are pretty clean and there is free wifi available. The hotel is only a 3 minute walk away from the Ayala mall.

Price/ quality is good. So no complaints at all.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iligan, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The place is quite old; I think the 1st and the second floors are residential because it says there private. I was confused when I entered the lobby, there are no signs where to go or directions to your room assigned and all that I see is “private, no entry”. The lobby is small and the ambience is so gloomy, it’s not so welcoming on my part. Mr. Receptionist was nice and accommodating though.

Our room was on the 4th floor, no elevators, so we have to take the stairs. The room was okay, well lighted, and has large windows which I like. The bathroom is so small, there’s not much room to move around when you take a bath, and when sitting the toilet, it’s like having face-to-face to the wall in front of you. They have 'hot or cold shower though. I’m not that impressed with the room but it was spacious though, the linens and towels look okay. I requested for new towels the next day, I was dismayed when I checked it they handed a towel which is a bit damp or not completely dry. They have cable TV, but remember to ask for the remote control from the receptionist. The place has no wifi too.

The place is just a walking distance from Ayala center, and about 40-50 minutes taxi ride to the airport. If you travel alone, I suggest you take a taxi and not walk going there because the area nearby at night is so dark which I think it’s more prone to accidents and robbery.

And one last thing I notice is that, outside the entrance area, the garbage stinks a lot. I didn’t know where that comes from.

I’ll probably stay here again if I’m on tight budget.

Room Tip: no elevators, getting a room on the 5th floor might be very tedious specially when your tired to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Florentina Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Florentina Pensionne

Address: 18 Acacia Street | Lahug, Cebu City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Also Known As:
La Florentina Pensionne Hotel Cebu City
La Florentina Pensionne Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Florentina Pensionne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Florentina Pensionne to your Saves list