We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asia

Hotel Asia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Asia to your Saves list
Hotel Asia
11 Don Jose Avila St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was fairly basic but comfortable, with the highlight being the Japanese restaurant downstairs. Location was good for us as we just got off the ferry and had an early morning flight the next day. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
7
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here four nights, glad we booked, great BBQ restaurant nearby and convenient to everything we were interested in doing. Room was clean, all amenities in good working order (bidet in bathroom was great feature) and staff was nice. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Was at Cebu for vacation and to get married for the most part of February 2013. Was recommended to stay at Hotel by wife's cousin....took her advise and really loved the Hotel, Room, Price and the Service that we received during our stay....

In fact, we enjoyed it so much that I even reserved a Room to stay for Valentine's Night with my wife and again, enjoyed everything once again :)

I even have recommended this Hotel to a few of my friends to stay at when they visit Cebu, Philippines.

I'm also planning to stay there again next year when I return to the Philippines. EVERYBODY was very nice and was welcomed with a smile from everybody to include that the food was very good and well prepared.

Thank you Hotel Asisa for making my stay at your Hotel enjoyable. Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We read a few negative comments on Tripadvisor, but we stayed here and had a good time! The room was clean, little small, but the bed was good and breakfast, I had the Japanese, was great! Was not very cheap, but in Cebu there are no cheap hotels. So good experience, would go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed here overnight for an off-site event in Cebu. Should've already been suspect of the hotel from online postings that boasts of its "state of the art bidets"

It was disappointing to stay here given the high price point and the poor state of the hotel. The hotel is quite old, and very small. The small twin room had old furniture, old TV and old bed spread that had so much dust that clogged my nose and gave me a difficult time to sleep.

In terms of location, it's near the city hall, Bo's coffee, and is right in the middle of Fuente Circle and Ayala, but can also get scary as it is on a dark street beside a slum area.

Service here is OK, the lobby folks are pretty helpful. I guess the only upside to my trip here is the complimentary breakfast at their Japanese restaurant which was quite hefty.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

this place is just ok but not worth the money. very noisy and what seems like not the safest place. not quite what you expect from price and pictures. on the plus side the air con was ok and beds very comfy and friendly staff. security guard was a star and very helpful. i asked him one day about a local steakhouse but he did not know it. i said it was okay and just went to robinsons. as soon as he saw me the next day he told me about the steakhouse and its location. thought it was very good of him and commend him on his efforts and helpfullness

Room Tip: does not seem the safest or quietess place to stay but food was ok and i loved my sushi but included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We went to Cebu City to have a one day vacation. We dont have any idea where we could stay, its so nice that the Tourist Info Desk at the Mactan Airport is very accomodating that they are the one who suggested us to try Hotel Asia. Hotel Asia is very accessible since they are located near the Cebu Capitol, almost at the heart of the city. Staff are friendly and guards are very polite. Food though Filipino dish are quite Japanesque, but worth a try. The price is not that cheap but comparable to average hotels, they are far better. Next vacation here, I would definitely consider to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try booking at the Mactan Airport first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia

Address: 11 Don Jose Avila St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Asia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Asia Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.