We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for a few nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Asia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Asia
11 Don Jose Avila St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for a few nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We read a few negative comments on Tripadvisor, but we stayed here and had a good time! The room was clean, little small, but the bed was good and breakfast, I had the Japanese, was great! Was not very cheap, but in Cebu there are no cheap hotels. So good experience, would go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
7
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed here overnight for an off-site event in Cebu. Should've already been suspect of the hotel from online postings that boasts of its "state of the art bidets"

It was disappointing to stay here given the high price point and the poor state of the hotel. The hotel is quite old, and very small. The small twin room had old furniture, old TV and old bed spread that had so much dust that clogged my nose and gave me a difficult time to sleep.

In terms of location, it's near the city hall, Bo's coffee, and is right in the middle of Fuente Circle and Ayala, but can also get scary as it is on a dark street beside a slum area.

Service here is OK, the lobby folks are pretty helpful. I guess the only upside to my trip here is the complimentary breakfast at their Japanese restaurant which was quite hefty.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

this place is just ok but not worth the money. very noisy and what seems like not the safest place. not quite what you expect from price and pictures. on the plus side the air con was ok and beds very comfy and friendly staff. security guard was a star and very helpful. i asked him one day about a local steakhouse but he did not know it. i said it was okay and just went to robinsons. as soon as he saw me the next day he told me about the steakhouse and its location. thought it was very good of him and commend him on his efforts and helpfullness

Room Tip: does not seem the safest or quietess place to stay but food was ok and i loved my sushi but included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We went to Cebu City to have a one day vacation. We dont have any idea where we could stay, its so nice that the Tourist Info Desk at the Mactan Airport is very accomodating that they are the one who suggested us to try Hotel Asia. Hotel Asia is very accessible since they are located near the Cebu Capitol, almost at the heart of the city. Staff are friendly and guards are very polite. Food though Filipino dish are quite Japanesque, but worth a try. The price is not that cheap but comparable to average hotels, they are far better. Next vacation here, I would definitely consider to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try booking at the Mactan Airport first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila, philippines
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

stayed here for a night, staff are very accommodating... downside is the very little room, little bed and the very old feel of the hotel... its quite disappointing considering the price per night...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerala
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

If you think the staff make a hotel, then this is where you need to stay! What a wonderful team they have. Very helpful, warm and really nice folk. The hotel is well located - close, but not on any main road, near Robinson's mall and many eating joints. The rooms are average, a little small, and everything a little old, but everything is clean and the staff are quick to replace anything you want.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith River, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We spent 3 fabulous weeks together in Cebu . Stayed in two other hotels of higher room prices. The first was filty carpet. Which after asking for another room or having the carpet cleaned immediatly!! I showed them my white socks bottoms were black from walking on their carpet. They sent housekeeping women with vacuum an spray bottle or freshner.

Walking into Hotel Asia was awesome. Everything sparkeled. The staff friendly. After my past hotel stays. I requested to see the room prior to signing in. Didnt want any surprises lurking behind the doors. The gentleman took me to the room. Opened the door. I was awestruck by the emaculate cleanlyness !! Yes was told its a new hotel. I plan a return trip to Cebu. My fist choice for hotel will be HOTEL ASIA !!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia

Also Known As:
Hotel Asia Cebu Island/Cebu City
Address: 11 Don Jose Avila St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Asia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.