We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic if on a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Menseng Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Menseng Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Menseng Hotel
Magallanes Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Davao City
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic if on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding as part of a group booking. Booking was for a room with 2 double beds as was staying with my parents. Ended up with a room with 3 single beds - or should I say two single beds and three stained, completely soft mattresses stacked on top of each other which I was unable to sleep on as they were way too soft. Requested another room even if we had to get two rooms with double beds in however the hotel was fully booked however they did put a harder mattress in the room and I slept on this on the floor. My brothers room and a friend who was also staying smelt so musty had to leave the door open whenever we were in there.
In saying this the room was cheap approx $60 a night and if you are on a budget the rooms, bathrooms and sheets were clean. If you are a budget traveller I would highly recommend but if you are looking for something a bit flasher there are better options.
The one thing I could not fault was the staff. They were helpful and courteous and went out of there way to help in anyway they could. Buffet breakfast was ok but get there early as the later it is they don't tend to replace items when they run out. We ate at the poolside a few times and it was good (not fantastic) but in saying that no complaints on the price. Nine of us ate there for dinner and had desserts and a few drinks and it was only $60AUD so for that price I consider it EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
7
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Our compadres stayed here one night and we hung out with them most of it. This downtown hotel is not far from San Pedro, Rizal and the government offices. Its on a crowded busy street, but with no lack of places to eat or get a massage nearby. The front desk staff were always very friendly. There is a big lobby area, with sort of an old majestic feel to it with a restaurant. The rates include a double which is P2500 per night, but on weekends they are cheaper.

Rooms are okay and carpeted. This presents special problems as the carpets were not as clean as I would like walking barefoot. The room had a musty smell to it, as if the carpets had been wet then dried. This is a big turn off for me as it means bacteria and anyone with an allergy may have an issue. Once the AC was on for awhile, you could not smell the rug. The rooms are big, but oddly, it has a small TV for such a room and the room that we were in, the TV was not aligned with the bed.

It’s an okay place, but I think for the price, you can do better nearby and pay half as much or even a third as much around the corner for a nice basic clean place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room, if possible with a new carpet or NO carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I feel this hotel is over priced it gives a 3 star look but its really a 2 star bed lining dirty
staff friendly helpful

Room Tip: Suggest one day or two stay ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pampanga, philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Grand Men Seng is located in the inner older part of the city. We had a seminar there. It was not our choice but was included in the package. Although the hotel is a little old compared to the standards of the contemporary hotels, I have to admit that the staff compensates it all. all courteous & ready to help, from the security guards, concierge, housekeeping to front desk.

The breakfast was ok, but if I may suggest the selection must be for breakfast.. who serves mechado & fried chicken for breakfast? unless it's left-over from the dinner the night before. I would have wished there were danggits since it's coming from a rich source of seafood.

The room & elevator smelled musty, The hotel should work on this smell. It brings down points on cleanliness, though the room looks clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I stayed here in 2008 and it was really excellent value. It had all the trimmings of a luxury hotel for only around $50 per night. The room was comfortable, with a bath, and the rooftop pool was small but nice, and we especially loved the evening poolside "ihaw ihaw," or barbecue. The only thing I would mention is try to request a room that is not on the street side as you will get a lot of street noise. Next time I would try and stay on the back side of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-Upon-Avon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I visited Davao City with my Mom,sister, and sister-in- law for 4 days. We were booked by the travel agent at this hotel for 3 nights. The room was spacious and clean. The service at the reception was polite and helpful.
Being in one of the rooms at the very end of the corridor I decided to check out the fire exits.I was shocked to find the fire exit door locked and the only window padlocked.
I immediately contacted reception and asked them to unlock the fire exits and threatened them that I will go to Fire department of their city and let them know that the hotel is in breach of a very important law that safeguards the lives of guests like me.
They sent somebody from housekeeping to me to show me how to unlock the fire exit door from the outside by putting my hand through a hole in the door. It was rediculous as who would think of doing that in the case of a fire?
To complicate things even more, I was dismayed to find the landing of the fire exit stairs stacked with 14 double mattresses. I have taken pictures of the stairs and can prove how negligent they been.
The mattresses were gone the next day after I've warned the housekeeping staff of what danger they pose in case of fire. I'm not sure though whether they were removed until I checked out only to be returned when I'm gone.
When checking into a Phil. hotel always check that they comply with fire exit regulations as we know now that this one doesn't.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Menseng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Menseng Hotel

Address: Magallanes Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Grand Menseng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Menseng Hotel Davao/Davao City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Menseng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.