We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
1st Level Fountain Court, SM Lanang Premier, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 299 Restaurants in Davao City
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Davao City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Overheard a foreigner from the next table tell the waiter: "Give my compliments to the Chef. Best steak I've had so far". I definitely agree! Medium rare is highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davao
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and service, but too pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ate here with friends in March and with family recently. The ambiance is great--we really like the selection of art pieces along the walls, the placement of booths, the comfy furniture. The staff are well trained; our waitress was always smiling and helpful. On our first trip, we had burgers with fries and a steak. The curly fries were crispy and very tasty. Would have eaten more if I werent so full already. Food was well cooked and very tasty. The portions were really generous and came with a scoop of vanilla ice cream for dessert. We ordered the Mud Pie as well, which was moist, indulgent, really delicious. A must try! On my second trip with family we availed of their buy 1 take 1 steak. It wasnt as delicious as in our first trip. We asked for it to be cooked well done but it was served medium rare. My mom doesnt like bloody steaks so she couldnt eat it. The side dishes were soggy and the fries were ordinary and store bought. However, the prices are too expensive both times despite the promo on our second trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lunch experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went to lunch and we were told that the black angus steak was very good choice so we order two 400grms blackened steak we ask for midium rare with steem veggies.
We were very disappointed with the quality of the steak and false advertisement the steak was cooked well done and it was so dry and tough that we left more than half obviously not CBA Beef.

Our bill was about $2,400.00 pesos., it was our first time and our last time for us to visit Hogs,Breath restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent restaurant :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A visit to SM Lanang Premier should be capped off with a meal at Hog's Breath cafe! Food's delish, excellent service, and spacious! very nice for get-togethers! plus you get to see the beautiful fountain show...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The crusted salmon, chili coconut prawns, and the natural rib eye steak are all heavenly! Nice resto in SM Lanang.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog's Breath Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.