We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury rooms a bit of a sham” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Uno to your Saves list
Hotel Uno
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C.M. Recto St (Beside Lawaan Theatre), Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Davao City
Suzhou, Jiangsu, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxury rooms a bit of a sham”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'm sure the cheap rooms here are a good deal. It's a new, clean place. However if you are looking for a mid-range place to stay (say 1000-2000 pesos), you can do a lot better than Hotel Uno.

Their "junior luxury" room is really a deception from what is described on their website. There are no photos of this room on their website, with good reason! First, it is described as a SUITE, which clearly the hotel owners have no idea the meaning of this word, because it is simply a 1-room setup, and a rather small hotel room at that! I'm also not sure what party of luxury they don't understand, either. It is a bare bones room with NO extra amenities. You have a toilet, bed (QUEEN sized, not king size as advertised on their website), and tv...AND NOTHING ELSE. There is NO personal closet as advertised. There is one bar drilled into the wall in which you could theoretically hang a coat or some clothes, but they fail to provide even one clothes hanger so you can use it. There is a TINY, narrow table (3 ft X 1 ft) on which you can place your chair, but NO CHAIR is provided in the room! You are expected to sit at the end of the bed and type (the bed being a foam mattress which is ok for sleeping but not adequate as a chair!

My biggest complaint about the Junior Luxury "suite" is that the toilet is not even separated from the bedroom! There is just a glass barrier (with no door), and the barrier extends up about 2 feet short of the ceiling. So any scents made in the toilet will be enjoyed in the bedroom until they dissipate! As well, the "luxury" shower consists of standing next to/over the toilet with a showerhead. There is no self-contained shower area or even a curtain, which means that you will enjoy a wet floor for most of the day around the toilet and sink. If you turn the shower on and wait about 30 minutes some lukewarm water will make it up to the 6th floor. There is NO real hot water in this room, and if you don't plan ahead and can't wait 30 minutes, you'll be enjoying an ice cold shower.

There is a 32 inch flat screen tv. However it is mounted SO HIGH on the wall (the bottom of the tv is about 6 feet off the ground, and NOT at an angle facing downward) that the viewing angle is uncomfortable at best. The only reason i can venture is to keep it out of the reach of children. still, very poor.

Stayed for 3 days and was never offered maid service or clean towels. Finally had to go request these things.

It is very central in downtown Davao, however the direct neighborhood outside the door is abysmal. Pawn shops and homeless sleeping on the sidewalks abound. There are NO good food options within a 10 minute walk of the hotel.

You are given an electronic key card for the "luxury" rooms. However, this card has the hotel name and address as well as YOUR ROOM NUMBER on the card. This is an incredibly poor policy as far as security is concerned. Should the customer lose their card or have it stolen, the thief would have full access to the contents of the room.

The pros: Clean, Good air conditioner. Decent view from the 6th floor rooms.

As I said, the economy rooms are probably fine if you're looking for a clean, cheap sleep. But this is a bare bones place, and you can do better if you're looking at the "luxury" rooms, which would actually be called a "standard room" at any other hotel in the Philippines (without many of the basic amenities of the usual standard room).

Room Tip: Take the time to look at your room before paying for it! Don't go by the description on the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJYUY, Owner at Hotel Uno, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mr Chad G,

We would sincerely apologize that our rooms were not as you expected. All our junior luxury rooms are provided with king sized beds, and as compared to our deluxe rooms it is more spacious and is equipped with a personal refrigerator as well. All our rooms are also provided with chairs and we are very sorry if the room you stayed in was not provided one. Thank you for your review so that we can double check all our rooms.

Being a budget hotel, we always advise our guests during check-in that all rooms will be cleaned ONLY when advised by the guests. As such, we are sorry for the miscommunication.

Thank you for this review and we will do our best to correct our mistakes. Best Regards.


Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
8
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Checked out Uno Hotel based on a flyer readily available at the Davao airport. Their luxury suite rates were advertised as P 1,300. No way, Jose! The reception shrugged her shoulders and retorted the promo rate for the luxury suite is over so rate is now P 1,700 - but promo rates for other rooms are ongoing. Huh? So why have you not pulled out the flyers with the inaccurate rates from public places. Newspapers have even advertised it.
Also, beware bathrooms do not have any doors, as in no doors!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJYUY, Manager at Hotel Uno, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly very sorry for this. We have decided to cancel our promo rates for our Luxury Rooms last December but were not able to edit our fliers yet. Rest assured, we have already made efforts to erase our promo rate for said room to avoid confusion.

Once again, we are very sorry and thank you very much for bringing this to our attention.

We do hope that you still had a pleasant stay with us and we are hoping that we will can serve you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Being a cheapskate will totally test your hotel-hunting skills. During one of my unprepared visits to Davao, I was kind of worried that I might sleep on a shady inn or in a 2-3 decades old hotel. I rode a Jeepney to the city proper where a huge streamer greeted me with a friendly rate. I took a leap-of-faith and the good looking receptionist hand me the keys to my room. Being relatively new, the room was squeaky clean and smells, well, new. I wish I had a thicker rubberized foam and at least a quasi-window if there's no real one. This will reduce the claustrophobic feel of the room. All-in-all it was very good! I wonder how will it fare like say, 5 years from now?

Room Tip: Book in advance for you to have option to choose rooms with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel has been in operation for about 3 months only and is practically newly constructed. Location is very accessible to public transport and walking distance to Aldevinco and the downtown area. The hotel building is sandwiched between 2 condemned building structures which somehow gives the area a sad atmosphere but once inside the hotel lobby, one can be impressed with the interior decoration of the hotel lobby which is furnished with neo-classical furniture and accents. The only not-so impressive areas are the hallway of the guest rooms which was left bare and simple - like walking through classroom corridors. Rooms are clean, airconditioning units are all new, toilets are clean and the bedsheets smells good and clean!

Room Tip: Request for rooms located at the back part of the building as the rooms facing the street could be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteluno D, Manager at Hotel Uno, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Ms Yolanda,

Thank you for your kind review. We do hope to see you again in one of your future trips here in Davao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very nice hotel! Highly recommended! Will definitely be back ! great location and very good service too! The rooms were just right for the price and the amenities were great. If you're looking for a room with all the basic amenities like aircon and hot shower, then hotel uno is for you! I personally would choose hotel uno over the others. 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently booked into Hotel Uno Recto Street Davao. First we inspected the room which was suitable and had WI FI. We accepted the street noise and the price was good and included hot shower and air con.

How ever we were not told the shower is turned off, only the maintenance man can turn it on and he was never around.

We asked many times but during a 3 night stay had just one hot shower. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful I would not recommend this place for this reason and the terrible street noise at night.

Many better options close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteluno D, Manager at Hotel Uno, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

First of, we would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you during your stay with us. Upon checking, due to unfortunate circumstances, we were undergoing maintenance at that time you were with us and as a result has cause serious inconvenience to your part. We also thank you for your review so that we can also correct and improve our services. Once again, we are sorry and we still hope to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel Uno is one great discovery! Its not only accessible, but is also affordable. Its clean and cozy. The staff are friendly, offering warm excellent service. Truly, Hotel Uno made my stay in Davao worthwhile! if you will visit in Davao City better stay on this Hotel,its really one of the best Hotel in the City of Davao...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uno

Address: C.M. Recto St (Beside Lawaan Theatre), Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Uno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Uno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uno Davao/Davao City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.