We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with a family atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vicente

Hotel Vicente
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vicente to your Saves list
Hotel Vicente
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Florentino Torres Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 114 Davao City B&B and Inns
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice hotel with a family atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was in this hotel two times. This Hotel is only 1 year ago renovated and located in a quiet area. You can with a short walk go to restaurant's and bar's, in the Downtown you be reached in 5 minutes by taxi. The staff are very friendly and uncomplicated. All my requests were always realized very quickly.
The restaurant is nice and not so expensiv, the laundry service was fast and good.
I will definitely come back here.

Ich war hier 2 mal und würde immer wieder gern her kommen. Das Hotel ist neu ( etwa vor einem Jahr renoviert ). Man erreicht zu Fuß schnell Restaurant´s und Bar´s sowie mit dem Taxi in nur 5 Minuten die Stadtmitte. Zum Flughafen braucht man etwa (je nach Verkehr) 20 bis 30 min mit Kosten von 130 bis 160 Peso. Alle Hotelangestellten wind super freundlich und erfüllen einem jeden Wunsch, das Restaurant ist sehr gut und nicht so teuer. Auch der Wäscheservice war schnell gut und nicht teurer als außerhalb des Hotels.
Ich sicher wieder gern hier in dieses Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel is on a busy street, so the outside patios as much of draw as they are, are not really useful. Also, for the good part of the day the sun shines on the patios so it’s hot. Best to get a room that does not have the street side patios, when you couple that with the street noise factor, you will not be comfortable, especially in the morning.

Staff are neutral friendly as compared to other hotels that we stayed at. Wi-Fi, did not work most of the time and feeling like a nuisance we used our SUN USB to connect, rather than the hotel. It seemed useless to keep asking.

Rates start at P1750 and go up to P3000 depending on which room you choose. The hotel must have a draw, as some nights they were fully booked. For this rate though, I would recommend that you look at other options, such as Park Inn Radissons which is brand new and the rate is around P2900. We were surprised that Vicente would not give a discounted rate as does all of the other hotels that we stayed at.

The room was fine, of good size. Showers etc. etc. all worked okay. Breakfast was adequate. This hotel would be good to stay at if you had business or some reason to be in the area, but other than that, Davao offers many choices in the same price range so best to choose by where you want to be and compare prices.

Room Tip: Do not take front rooms, more noisy and can be hot by day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been looking for an affordable accommodation in Davao and chanced on this new little hotel along Torres St. I got interested because of its Spanish architecture and little balconies. The hotel entrance had vines slowly climbing up its brick walls.

I love this place. Rooms are a bit smallish but they are clean and workmanship is surprisingly good, compared to small hotels where they try to scrimp on the architectural finishes. Room has flat screen TV and free wifi, but in the 4 times I have stayed here, I always get a room where it can’t be reached by the wifi. On my first stay, I got a room with a balcony and was quite happy about it. But rooms with the balcony face out to the street where some tricycle noise can be quite disturbing especially in the morning.

Room rates come with breakfast at their small restaurant on the ground floor. Breakfast is good, and well presented. At one time, they had buffet breakfast and it was fairly decent enough. I have also tried the same restaurant for dinner and I loved their bacalao.

A small tiny detail that I don’t like is that it’s bed mattress seems to be wrapped in matte plastic so the bedsheets kinda slip off. So make sure you ask the housekeeping to tuck in the sheets tight so they don’t slip off. Beds can be softer but still gives me a good night’s sleep.

Staff is courteous – from the security guard to the front desk and wait staff.

I did have one bad experience on my first day though. Upon coming back at around 7pm, my room wasn’t made up and when I called housekeeping about it, they said that it’s because I didn’t put out the “Pls make up room” signage. I reasoned out that the general standard is that rooms should be cleaned daily with or without the signage. He said that they have had experiences with guests who get angry coz their rooms were cleaned even if they didn’t put out the sign. ....Hmm...I guess these were just weird guests.  After this incident though, I never had the same problem.

Location-wise, I have always preferred this area because it's close to residential subdivisions so it's much quieter compared to being in the city center. There's a cafe close by and about 2 blocks are the restaurant row, coffee shops and a spa. It is also very easy to get a cab from the hotel.

Room Tip: You don't really need the balcony. And even if the other rooms don't really open out to bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and overall the service and rooms were great.
Spanish styled structure. The rooms were simple and clean. The Staff were courteous and very helpfull. The breakfast was good with atleast 3 choices per day.

The owner was also very nice and friendly.
Will stay here when i come back....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 for 6 nights in a 'Vincente Room' (fits 3 people). The room is spacious. There is cable TV and free wifi. There is a small bar fridge in the room. About 300m down the road are some restaurants, coffee shop, gym. Taxis/jeepney can be hailed from outside the hotel. I would definitely stay here again. No problems whatsoever. There is a guard at the door and there is a buffet breakfast (filipino style i.e. rice, chicken, fish) but there are fruits too (pineapple and watermelon).

Room Tip: Vincente - 3 persons. Balcony Room - Twin beds. Superior Double - Double bed. Superior Single - O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vicente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vicente

Address: Florentino Torres Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vicente 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vicente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vicente Davao/Davao City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vicente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.