We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Davao Escapade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahay Ni Tuding Inn

Save Saved
You added Bahay Ni Tuding Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahay Ni Tuding Inn
160 San Pedro Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 46 hotels in Davao City
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Davao Escapade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Bahay ni Tuding Inn for 1 night. Superb service, very affordable and accommodating staff. If you're new to Davao and looking for a place to stay try Bahay ni Tuding. For taxi services with free tour guide you can contact Kuya Allan Quimada cellphone no. 0920-8542239 very friendly and honest.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for our last night in Davao. I found out about Bahay ni Tuding thru good reviews here in Tripadvisor. After checking their website for room description and rates, I sent an e-mail for inquiry. Chris was prompt to reply, very courteous and answered my e-mail in a straightforward manner.

Upon our arrival, the guard inspected our baggage (first time to experience during check-in). We were warmly greeted by the front desk staff and check-in was quick. The room is quite small, and so is the toilet and bath. Everything looks neat and tidy. The airconditioner is cold, they have a decent-sized TV, hot and cold shower, plus basic toiletries. It would've been better if they have a fridge in all rooms to store beverages since Davao City is really hot and you'll be needing cold drinks to refresh.

I saw a small light-brown cockroach on the dresser table. But that's the only critter I found during our stay.

The bed was comfortable, with fluffy pillows and nice sheets, which helped us sleep soundly. Accommodations come with coffee and toast for breakfast. We ordered American breakfast with brewed coffee for 160 pesos and it was a good choice, presented nicely and it was enough to fill you for the morning.

We checked-in at 7pm and checked-out at 8am (standard check-in is 2pm and check-out at noon). They gladly stored our baggage for safekeeping since we still have the whole day to tour the city before our flight at 9pm.

Overall, we had a comfortable stay at Bahay ni Tuding. It felt like home, quiet and peaceful. With staff always smiling and ready to assist. It is a few steps away from Davao City Hall and Museo Dabawenyo. A bit of walking exercise can get you to Aldevinco Shopping Center (for great pasalubong buys) or the Annil Bus Terminal (if you're heading to the Philippine Eagle Center).

We will surely stay again in Bahay ni Tuding on our next visit to Davao :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Whether travelling on business or holiday, this inn provides cozy ambiance and helpful, friendly service from staff. Good value for money too.

It is centrally located, but one might not spot it right away in the middle of busy streets. Just be on the look out upon reaching San Pedro street with San Pedro Cathedral on the right side of the street and the Davao museum on the left. There's a Mercury Drug store on the right side of the street about a block past the cathedral and one enters a side street to access the inn.

Bed and linen are clean and comfortable. The bathroom in the double room I occupied is somewhat small but that wasn't a problem at all.

Food service is reasonably fast, considering that staff do multitasking, helping at reception, kitchen and dining room. They maintain a refrigerator at the lobby where beverages (e.g. softdrinks, beer, water) are available for sale.

Try this inn and make it part of your enjoyable Davao experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pauls Bay, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here at short notice after deciding to leave our original hotel in Davao early due to poor cleanliness. The room was clean and had everything we needed, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the location is very central. They also let you get around Davao's lunatic public smoking ban by using the car park when you want to have a cigarette.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The inn is surprisingly quiet considering it's situated in the commercial district. The rooms and linens are clean. The staff and service were excellent. Just a little problem with mosquitos. I would highly recommend this inn to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is a home, fun by the heirs of Tuding. The lunch served is gourmet. Chef made a fish curry with aromatic spices. Highlight of the tour is the Mel's Davao Food Tour, a culinary experience, visiting the market, the fruit stands. Mel Pangan does a great job of explaining history, as well as the culture of the place.
The staff is helpful and courteous, and makes you feel not like a guest, but like a family. When I bought some Durian fruits, they even accomodated it in their refrigerator, to help prevent my room from smelling like the "king of fruits".Rooms are very clean, and the price is very reasonable.
The visit was part of a reality show that features the sights of Davao now, compared to before.
The city was considered the Safest City in the country esp. Mindanao due to the political will of the mayor, Mayor Duterte. Crime is low, and the city is like Singapore, smoke free. (Smokers can smoke on designated areas only)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I booked Bahay ni Tuding Inn with Booking.Com but made direct contact with the staff after. They responded to my email promptly.

The Inn is in the center of the city near the city hall and the main street where jeepneys (local mode of transport) pass. The is very convenient for local transportation. Because the entrance is in a side street, we did not hear the hustle and bustle. The Inn has a porch near the reception area and a balcony on the second floor where we relaxed and enjoyed the breeze after a day of going around.

Our group got a single and a double. The rooms are clean and the beds are firm. The air conditioning was perfect for the warm weather.

The staff is very friendly. They give us tips to go around the city. They are very open to suggestions.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the breakfast is something they could improve on. They can easily increase their prices a bit to cover the cost of breakfast

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahay Ni Tuding Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahay Ni Tuding Inn

Address: 160 San Pedro Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Davao city's new inn with the touch of a 5-star hotel, an intimate micro hotel in the heart of the CBD with excellent trained staff to ensure that you have everything you need during your stay. All rooms have air conditioning, WiFi, a hot and cold shower and cable TV, and exude a welcoming feeling with Filipino decorative motifs. The room rates include Continental breakfast , although American and Filipino breakfast are also served. Delight in our Filipino comfort food or sandwiches as you enjoy the green foliage from our balcony or other lounge areas. Stay with us and be walking distance from landmarks such as San Pedro Cathedral, City Hall ,Museo Dabawenyo and People's Park. Come back from your sightseeing to be cocooned in our quiet environment to enjoy a restful sleep. Conduct your business meeting or presentations in our Function Rooms. Parking is free. Laundry service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bahay Ni Tuding Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahay Ni Tuding Inn Davao/Davao City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahay Ni Tuding Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.