We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms filthy, employees rude, management extorts guests” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Mandaya Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Mandaya Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   J. Palma Gil St.,, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Davao City
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rooms filthy, employees rude, management extorts guests”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

When we checked in at the Royal Mandaya, we expected a decent room, but it was a total dive! Room was invested with little bugs, the TV didn't work, and no other room was available. The employees were totally aloof about the condition.

The worst part was, when my wife used the shower, the shower control broke off in her hand. It was obviously rusted out and decayed, but when we informed the front desk, the manager accused US of causing the damage. No matter what we said, or the obvious evidence, we were told that we owed 10,000 PHP to fix the "damage."

Well, I was a foreigner in a country based on corruption, so I was not about to attempt to simply leave, for fear that they would call the police or something. So, I submitted to management's extortion after negotiating the "damage" to 5,000 PHP, which I am sure went right into the manager's pocket!

After the one night, we moved to the Marco polo, which was a bit pricey, but well worth it!

Do not, do not, DO NOT even consider staying at this pig sty of a dive. You will regret it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    20
    6
    13
See reviews for
11
13
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I will never ever stay in this hotel ever again. Roaches are everywhere. The hallways smell strongly of cigarette smoke (and the hotel people, when asked if it was a smoking floor, therefore the smell, even lied and said that it is a non-smoking floor!).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

HOTEL FACILITIES ARE WORST!!!

Hoetel staff lead by their chief accountant, RUTH SEGUISMUNDO are the WORST HOTEL STAFF EVER!!! NO SENSE OF CUSTOMER RELATIONS AND HAVE LOWER HUMANE BEHAVIOR THAN THOSE PEOPLE WHO HAVE YET STEP A FOOT IN SCHOOL!!!

Customers are treated as hostages and they let you go down with nighties on an unholly hour in the night just to pay a bill that was already paid

They charge you of something you didn't consume!

Don't ever book in this hotel!!! People are monsters, chief accountant is unprofessional, bell boys are imbecil and fcilities are worst!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

i don't recommend this hotel....

1. unfriendly staff
2. old bedsheets (just like a century)
3. rusty water came from the bathtub faucet
4. tasteless breakfast

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed their service and its location. They provide complimentary airport-hotel transfer and vice-versa. Though their room needs refurbishment and had seen better days. The buffet breakfast which was included in our accomodation was great, had lots of choices, but repeats everyday, if you're staying for more than 1 night , try not to eat all the choices in one day so you have other food to try the next day.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

I have probably stayed in the Royal Mandaya six or eight times in the past 5 years, but this time I found a significant decline in the standard of service and general staff attiutude, almost like it is a different hotel under different owners.
They forgot to send the offered shuttle to meet me at the airport, so I waited 45 minutes for it to eventually arrive, and only one elevator was working which meant long waits as the hotel was quite full with day conferences on the upper floors. I ordered room service with a friend, very clearly 2 meals, and only one set of cutlery arrived. To cap it all, on checkout they kept me waiting 35 minutes, trying to insist that I paid the difference between what the booking agency paid them and the advertised rate. Eventually they accepted just the extras because I had a plane to catch and was on the point of walking out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

The hotel rooms were just ok, TV remote never worked and room was very basic. The service was the worst I have ever seen. I have traveled many places and I found the staff at this hotel to be rather stuffy.

I will say some of the service people were very helpful but the front desk..... those people need to go back to do some customer service training, they were lousy.

Also they post that they have a airport shuttle, dont count on it. I went down after I had told front desk staff I was taking the 4:30 shuttle in the morning and found no shuttle. I even asked them where the shuttle was... they said it would be here. After 4:45 I went and asked and they said the shuttle was already at the airport.. ????? Very bad communication.

The breakfast buffet was not very good either. Very limited selections and not very tasty.

I would NEVER recommend this hotel to even my worse enemy.

Mike

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Mandaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Mandaya Hotel

Address: J. Palma Gil St.,, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Mandaya Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Mandaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mandaya Davao
The Royal Mandaya Hotel Davao/Davao City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Mandaya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.