We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old rooms but great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Davao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Davao to your Saves list
Marco Polo Davao
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CM Recto Street | P.O. Box 81540, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Davao City
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Old rooms but great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My family & I stayed for 4 days last May 2011 and our stay was quite pleasant - although the room was old and needs to be renovated. Tried their Lazuli Spa and that was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    168
    57
    18
    9
See reviews for
78
86
43
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Privacy is a big issue, but the food, staff, pool bar, restaurant keep a beautifully clean and classic styled hotel with all modern conveniences.

Room Tip: 4th floor has beautiful rooms that have a nice veranda on the same level as the swimming pool and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Upon check in, the staff provided the pertinent information and were helpful.

My room seemed bright and modern, and the view of the sea was hard to beat. Overall the amenities seemed just a cut above (e.g. shampoo, toothbrush, etc.) In room coffee was expected but nonetheless appreciated.

The minibar (advertised as "fully stocked") fell short of expectations but the room was comfortable and storage was good.

The whole internet access seemed a bit quirky. Even though my rate provided free access, it was still a hassle. The front desk had to "send" me a clerk with a form to sign and deliver me the ID/password on a piece of paper. This was not mentioned at check in so I had to call afterwards.

The breakfast buffet was good - but no better than most others in similar hotels.

It was quite convenient to have a EuropCar desk (providing transportation) on the premises; this provided convenience for my transit.

Just next door is the local "value" mall - supposedly the best place in the Philippines to buy pearls. I got good prices and also found some other nice souvenirs, unique to Mindanao.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible. The mountain view was really nothing at all in comparison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

For long, and still now, the only hotel at this level of comfort. It is surely no Shangri la but it also doesn't have the price level. Spacious rooms, good gym, pool, breakfast. Paying for wifi needs to be reconsidered, not only for costs also for comfort. Check in and out without hassles. The Lotus Court is a great place for a nice dinner. Some of then rooms are in for an update and in general the hotel might benefit from the coming competition.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our Philippine Airline flight was very delayed, and we needed to catch the meeting. However, the free hotel shuttle would have to wait for all the incoming guests so we had to take a cab for about PHP150.00. Perhaps, the hotel should offer a hotel car service and charge a corresponding fee rather than offer a fee shuttle that is not very efficient. It was also difficult to find the hotel representative as he did not hold up any hotel sign and he was busy chatting with his friends. He was not as helpful with our plight, so we had to just fend for ourself.

The front desk and the lounge staff were very efficient and helpful. They did try to help out their guests as much as they could.

The room where we stayed had an amazing view of the sea. However, it was showing signs of age and the carpet triggered my young child's allergies.

The free breakfast buffet was good for one person only. PRetty strange, indeed.

The location is very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This hotel is an oasis for a weary traveler. I spent three nights at the Marco Polo and I have to say it was one of my most pleasant stays ever in a hotel. Check in was seamless and the front desk staff was efficient and pleasant to deal with. The rooms are spacious and I found that the staff was eager to assist me with whatever I needed. The rooms were clean and roomy with a wonderful view of the hills and volcano near Davao City. The linens on the bed were fresh and the carpeting clean. I needed an iron and ironing board and the attendants were quick to bring it to my room. There are at least 3 restaurants and I spent my entire time at the buffet restaurant in the lower level. 1st class all the way and the breakfast buffet has a very wide variety of fruits, breads, yogurts, sushi, juices and eggs and omelets to order. Lots of wait staff so they are quick to assist you with your needs.

The pool area is clean and well kept with changing rooms, showers, lots of lounge chairs and a bar. Water was clean and again the staff ready to assist with any need you may have. The pool is open late so it makes it nice to be able to go out on the deck and enjoy the evening breeze while sitting at the tables.

Security is very tight and this is for your own safety. There is armed security upon bringing your vehicle onto the property. Again, security is at the door where they ask to look in your briefcase/back pack and quickly but efficiently frisk you for firearms. They are so nice about it...almost apologetic but I appreciated their thoroughness. Don't be alarmed by it. If a cab is needed they will call one for you. The hotel had a lot of international guests so no matter what nationality you are you will feel welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side provide views of the volcanoe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed at MP Davao from Sept 10-13, 2011 as we were advised that this was the best hotel in the city. Our room was a superior room facing the sea. Though the room was a bit old and a bit smaller than a comparable room at MP HK/Gateway, it was clean and pleasant.

Service was very good. Staff members were courteous and helpful! In addition, I loved that the waiting time was surprisingly short whenever I needed stuff from housekeeping, tech support, room service trays picked up... For example, upon arrival, the in-room safe was blinking (low batt) called the front desk and in a few minutes someone came by to fix it.

There were no glitches in our reservation (which was a little bit complicated since the members of our party were all arriving/departiing.

Eat-all-you-can dimsum bufftet at the Lotus Court was so-so, nothing to write home about... their breakfast buffet is a different story! Yum =)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Davao

Address: CM Recto Street | P.O. Box 81540, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Davao City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
#6 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Davao 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marco Polo Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Davao Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Davao Davao City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Davao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.