We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice clean rooms, value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royale House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Royale House to your Saves list
The Royale House
C.M. Recto Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 114 Davao City B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“nice clean rooms, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

the room they gave us was a deluxe triple room and it was well worth the price we paid. for the amount of P1500/night, it has everything you would need for a few nights rest. breakfast is included and they have wifi both in the breakfast area and the rooms. the receptionists were a bit snobbish though so i think they need to improve that. overall, it would mind staying here again for its cheap price.

Room Tip: choose the deluxe rooms as they are quite new and in a quieter area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
8
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manila philippines
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

It was our first time in Davao City and the first thing I had to decide was the type of accommodation we will book.I though it would not be wise to go for an expensive hotel as we plan to explore the city and nearby Samal Island.I asked my friends and they immediately recommended Royale House Davao to us.It was a good decision.

With a room for 1,000php or less, you get to have all that you need of a decent but affordable accommodation. Soft bed,clean linens, spacious room, table and chair inside should you bring in food,cable tv, hot and cold shower,spacious closet,plus a complimentary set meal for breakfast.The set meal is basic but with this rate,what more can you ask for?

The receptionists were a little stiff, I thought they don't know how to smile,but I didn't mind.

The location is really good.It’s downtown with key interests all within a square mile.It’s also located on the street with major jeepney routes and is 15minutes away to the port where one can take the boat to lovely SAMAL ISLAND.

There are so many things to explore in Davao City and Samal Island that if it is your first time in the city, staying at an expensive hotel might not be a good idea.Royal House has all the basic comforts that you need. Cheap Accommodation without Sacrificing Comfort.

Room Tip: There is a newly constructed section.An extension beautifully connected to the original building.Loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

We were intending to stay for four nights but moved out after the first. Upon check in the economy double rooms were all occupied and we agreed to pay a surcharge for the deluxe double room.
There is no downpayment or credit card guarantee, one need to pay all nights, or in my case, at least one in advance. We asked if there are any additional charges for credit card payment which was denied. Nonetheless, upon check out the next morning I was asked to pay an additional 82 Pesos.

The Room overall felt not very clean. Stains on the shower head and other parts were a standard. There was a dead cockroach in the bedroom which apparently has been killed by someone but not removed. The bed sheet had a very obvious blood stain. How can this be overseen by the staff?

Worst though was the noise. Our room was No. 313 near an Atrium in the back of the hotel. We woke up by the noise of multiple Roosters by 3am. By 4am a bunch of dogs kicked in, howling and barking. By 4:30 the parrots which are placed in cages in the above mentioned Atrium woke up and did the rest. None of us could get a proper rest.

The breakfast was another disaster. We asked for tea which the staff said isn't available. We later figured out it costs an additional 50pesos so they were just too lazy to make it. The 'Continental Breakfast' consists of 2 slices of toasted bread, butter and a micro portion of strawberry jam. Eggs and anything else costs extra. The replacement for tea is instant orange juice from 'powder'.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu, hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Good value. Renovation in 2010 really helped this hotel. Rooms are all fresh, have LCD TV, quiet aircon, hot water in bathrooms. The rooms off of the central courtyard are especially quiet and bright. The birds and art are a nice touch that help to make the place feel special. Staff are well trained. Comfy beds but pillows are awful.Food was OK, but breakfast (included) is not good. Location is good but lots of street traffic and noise.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room looking onto the busy street below. You will have a bad sleep and the diesel fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Reservation was a breeze but I didn't like that they asked me for a full payment already. I have been to other budget accommodations, but they just ask for a partial payment upon reservation.

Furthermore, I got really disappointed with the breakfast. For some reason, even though I made several followups, my order didn't came. I ended up leaving the place with an empty stomach or else, I'll miss our boat going to Samal Island.

I still recommend this place though especially if you're traveling on a budget. Their location is good since they are located downtown. The room is just right if you plan to stay out all day, and just need an affordable place to sleep at night. There's TV, AC & clean bathroom. So overall, the room is acceptable considering its price.

Room Tip: Construction is going on for new rooms during our stay. Try to request the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel is blooming at the central Davao area. Accessible to rides anywhere in the city, with free simple breakfast, fast connecting WIFI at the lobby, friendly staffs and crews. Nice clean room, especially the deluxe rooms. It has a bar at the 2nd floor. Near to 24 hours fastfood chains, banks with ATMs, churches, shopping malls, police station, parks, restos, bars, universities, etc.

Room Tip: Reservation is a wise thing to do. Just call or SMS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale House

Address: C.M. Recto Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Royale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale House Davao/Davao City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.