We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and very affordable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropika Davao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tropika Davao to your Saves list
Hotel Tropika Davao
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
PHP2015 NEW YEAR PROMO!
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Davao City
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and very affordable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We're here last weekend (09/21-23) The location is perfect! Near the airport and Samal Island. The room and bathroom is so big, bigger than the rooms in Intercon Hotel. The staffs are so friendly! The food is so-so. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    59
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
28
11
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Glad that we stayed in Hotel Tropika! Staff are very friendly and accommodating! Price is reasonable for a 3 star hotel. Facilities is ok, though there’s no swimming pool but that’s ok because we just go back to hotel to rest and we don’t have time to do other things. Location is also strategic, not that far from other tourist spots. There is lot of taxis in the area. We had a great time in Davao!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasay city
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

we stayed in hotel tropika for just one night. the ambience is generally relaxing and the front office/lobby personnel even the security guard are all very accommodating.

they tried their best to guide us as to where to eat or where to find cheap pasalubong deals.
and by the way, our room (205) as well as the entire area is so clean, very refreshing.

elvie andino

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for only 2 nights. Its best hotel for business trips and having quiete nights in a garden. Good food and enjoyed our durian at the garden. Very accessible and friendly staff. Very clean.. We highly recommend and definitely will stay at Hotel Tropika again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel's good points : First, it is very clean. Second, the staff are nice. Areas that need improvement : food quality in their coffee shop and a very limited menu. Choose a room far from the storage, I was sleeping in the middle of the night and I hear doors closing and opening, stuff being moved around. I was right beside the storage room! I was sleepless the whole night and very tired the following day. I also dislike the hallway leading to the room, feels creepy at night. Didn't look inviting at all. No pool, no fitness center....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in Tropica for 10 days . We enjoyed our stay . Th staff were very helpful and organized. The food is excellent . Tropica is very clean and we received excellent service throughout the time we are staying in Tropica I highly recommend this hotel to others.

Excellent job!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've been visiting Davao for work since 2005, and have stayed in most of the City's posh (not to mention expensive) hotels. On a recent trip, colleagues encouraged me to give Hotel Tropika a try and was not disappointed.

This pocket-friendly hotel is your "home away from home." The rooms are very spacious, the staff are very accommodating and would always go the extra mile. They even accommodate early check-ins at no additional fee! Woot, woot! :) The hotel is also only about a 5min cab ride to Abreeza Mall, and only a few steps away from two (2) spas.

Many thanks Hotel Tropika for taking such good care of me on all of my visits! Till my next :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropika Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropika Davao

Address: Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropika Davao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropika offers 30 beautifully furnished and spacious guestrooms which have one king-size or two twin beds, fitted with pampering linens over plush pillow-top mattresses. Each has a full array of in-room amenities for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tropika Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropika Davao Davao City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropika Davao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.