We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service with their front desk officers, Lara & Jane!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropika Davao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tropika Davao to your Saves list
Hotel Tropika Davao
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Quezon City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service with their front desk officers, Lara & Jane!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have booked room accommodation in this hotel last June 14-16 for our auditors and I am so happy with the services of their front desk especially to Jane & Lara. I highly commend them, they are so patient with my instructions even @ 3am, thumbs to you girls!!!

I haven't tried to stay in this hotel, but definitely, I will stay here with my kids for a leisure.

Room Tip: Avail the free one way airport transfer....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Liabella,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and commending Jane & Lara of front office. We always aim to ensure a comfortable and restful stay for our guests, as well as a pleasant experience for everyone who comes or calls at Hotel Tropika.

We hope that one day we will have a chance to serve you personally when you visit Davao City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    62
    13
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
29
12
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

One would be hard-pressed to find a hotel with the welcoming vibe of a home, a huge garden with an installation of ceramic jars that doubles as a fountain and the amenities of a well-managed hotel. And to have this hotel tucked away neatly amidst tall trees away from the noise, smog and busy-ness of the city is a real treat. And then when you are ready to go back to busy streets and everything that constitutes a city vibrant with life, the hotel is just a a hop and a skip away from JP Laurel Avenue. The staff are welcoming and so accommodating. Eating at the restaurant is a gastronomical delight. I intentionally made sure that all my meals were taken at the restaurant so I could try each and every dish. Every dish I tasted, I was absolutely pleased with. This hotel is a must-see, must-go, must-experience. Reserve ahead of time, you must. The hotel is always fully booked because word has gone around. But go and experience, you must!

Room Tip: Reserve early so you can choose rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Raye B,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Tropika and thank you for your kind recommendation to other readers. We will also relay your compliments to Chef Justin of Cafe Aseya, who will surely be delighted to hear that you took pleasure in his food creations.

We look forward to welcoming your again on your next trip to Davao City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calamba, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed at Tropika for 4 days. Had a great time there. Enjoyed the peace & quiet that the hotel afforded being a few meters away from the main road which most hotels in Davao does not enjoy. Rooms are spacious, sound proofed & cleaned daily.Front desk staff are courteous, helpful & friendly, same could be said for other hotel employees. Breakfast is included in all room rates.Great WiFi connection. Amenities like a gym or a pool could make it even better. Surely i'll be stay there again whenever im in Davao & will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear dexter_jardeleza,

We're glad that you enjoyed the quiet surroundings of the hotel, as well as the comfort and amenities of your room. We opted out of a swimming pool because of the hotel's proximity to Davao's beautiful beaches. We instead offer guests free shuttle service to selected Samal Island resort jetties.

Thank you for appreciating the efforts of our staff. They are there to ensure your pleasant stay. Thank you too for recommending us to your friends.

We look forward to serving you again at Hotel Tropika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

This has definitely been the best hotel I have stayed at in Davao, maybe even in Mindanao! The service was excellent, they were really patient with my numerous specifications with food as I was on the Cohen diet. On top of it all I loved the King sized bed! I slept great at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear manilagirl83,

We are delighted by your kind remarks about Hotel Tropika, and will relay your compliments to the chef and staff of Cafe Aseya. Looking forward to serving you again on your next visit to Davao City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Every time I go to a place, I check Tripadvisor to determine where to stay. Consistently, this hotel top the list. For my latest Davao business trip, I decided to check it out.

The hotel is located away from downtown (near km 7) and away from the main road (100m). It is also near the airport and a hotel with casino. It is relatively a "medium size hotel" that provides satisfactory service. The rooms are big (comparable to 5 star hotels in Davao, except for bath tub) with the basic amenities like cable TV, toiletries, ref, etc. Wi-fi is free and fast. Sleep quality is great and rooms are clean.

It is on top of the list within its category or class at a very competitive price!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Miner_DMS91,

Thank you for finding good value in Hotel Tropika. We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant and restful stay and find our rooms clean and comfortable. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Davao City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My friend had their wedding reception in Hotel Tropika. And WOW the food is unforgettable! the place is really beautiful and the service is great.

For me that total experience is an A!

Tah...

Room Tip: rooms overlooking their garden is the best choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear maia_cyliene,

We are glad you enjoyed the food we prepared for your friend's wedding reception. Happy too that you approve of the hotel and its surroundings. All our rooms overlook the garden where guests can go for a relaxing morning or evening stroll. There is also a small courtyard at the back where one can limber up with morning exercises.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Tropika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed overnight at Hotel Tropika last May 17, 2012. We were supposed to stay two nights but the hotel is fully booked -- a sign to me that the hotel is okay. Free breakfast is plated, but okay, as well. The hotel is quiet since it is about 150 meters away from the road. We were seven adults and one child in the group. We payed for extra bedding in the two rooms we got, which they forgot to set-up, so we have to call them at around 10PM when we got back to the hotel.

Over-all, the hotel is worth the almost P1,000 per person per night average price.

We transferred to another hotel the following night where we got a presidential suite to fit all 8 of us. For almost the same price, I will choose Hotel Tropika over the other.

If I go back to Davao in the future, I will definitely stay at Hotel Tropika.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear petelovestotravel,

Thank you for your kind review and for finding good value in our accommodation. I apologize for the oversight resulting in delayed setting up your extra beds, but I do hope that you and your group had a comfortable and restful overnight stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Tropika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropika Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropika Davao

Address: Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropika Davao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropika offers 30 beautifully furnished and spacious guestrooms which have one king-size or two twin beds, fitted with pampering linens over plush pillow-top mattresses. Each has a full array of in-room amenities for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tropika Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropika Davao Davao City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropika Davao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.