We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful deli shop, decent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Deli

Swiss Deli
J P Laurel Avenue, Lanang | across from Damosa building, Davao City, Mindanao, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 276 Restaurants in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: phone number (82) 234-0271
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful deli shop, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

First of all i want to say that Swiss Deli is an absolute godsent in Davao, their deli shop being the only place where you can find quality European (and local) delicacies in this part of the world, some of it at a fraction of the price you'd pay for the same quality in Europe.
Now for the food in the restaurant (i went to the Matina branch). It's simple, unpretentious Pan-European food, nothing outstanding but inexpensive, tasty and good value.
We tried the Ravioli which were okay, a nice seafood risotto, fish terrine and very tasty French onion soup. All of this with a bottle of nice Chilean white came to less than 1500 Php, a real steal, especially for wines, which you can buy at the deli shop and consume for a corkage of only 150 Php.
Good service by Filipino standards, but the ambiance is more canteen than cozy restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    57
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must when in Davao. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I come here every time I am in Davao. Nice food and service, also they sell nice cheese and meat to take away. Thank you for alway keeping this place great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A good place to enjoy sausages or lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This place is always part of the intinerary when visiting Davao and have never been disappointed. A good place to go to get a break and have a good European meal with wine and/or something cold to drink.
Absolutely recommended and they have a well equipped Deli and wine cellar in addition to the restaurant

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Once in a while i need....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

...European food: Schnitzel. Bratwurst sausage. Bratkartoffeln fried potatoes.

Don't get me wrong. I love Philippino food (except for one: Balut! Google it if you don't know it), I love rice, I love fresh fish&pusit right from the sea.
But once in a while I spoil myself and see the Swiss Deli in Damosa@DavaoCity.

Good food.
Good beverages. From wine to beer to fresh brewed coffee.
Good cooking.
Good staff. Attentative. Friendly. Always trying to read my mind before I ask something.

A good place to go.
Open from 10am to 10 pm.
Good parking outside.
Full AC.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend. Was pleased to find good food, attentive service, ambiance & great coffee to accompany tiramisu! Will definitely refer this as a Deli to go to in Davao, PH.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Deli also viewed

Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 

Been to Swiss Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.