We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Knight Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Knight Gardens to your Saves list
Red Knight Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88, 8th Street. Guadalupe Village | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Davao City
Marbella, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Safe family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Red knight is located inside a gated community surrounded by villas and away from all the traffic noise. It´s very safe with guards asking every outside vehicle for their ID before entering the area.
I stayed here twice in February, the first time with family in one their apartments which had a living room and kitchen area as well as two bedrooms, and the 2nd time with my boyfriend in one their double rooms on the main building.
The rooms were comfortable in a decent size, with Sat TV and a small kitchen area (without cooking stove). The bathroom was ok, but we had a bit of trouble with the power and heating, although it was fixed on the same morning by their maintenance man.
The room was clean and spacious enough for two people, but i must warn, don´t leave food around as it will get invaded by ants!
With regards to their bar, this is open till 11pm (which we though was a bit early as my bf kept wanting their ice cold beer!) and is where their business is mainly ran. The two girls there are as helpful as possible. We can recommend the scrambled egg sandwich and the pancakes for breakfast :)
As in for close attractions, Red Knight is a 10 minute taxi ride to many malls, including Abreeza (and soon a new massive SM Mall), a 15 minute ride ( in moving traffic ) to Aldivinco ( a great place for local souvenirs), 15 mins approximately to the airport, 10 minute ride to the main boat station to Paradise Island and two minute taxi ride to a great massage parlour ( next to the big hotel on the left when you reach the main road - sorry forgot the name ) but they´re open till 3am with full body massage at 500php!
All in all, we would stay here again, more than anything, because its quiet, gated,safe and close to all the main areas we usually visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Pros: Overall a well maintained, clean, quiet property located in a gated community. Very close to one of the main roads in Davao. One got the feeling of being secure. The room we stayed in was large and functional. Bed was typical foam mattress. Pool was smallish, but well maintained. Taxi from airport was around 150 pesos, including tip. Access to main highway was either by tricycle rickshaw, by walking, or by taxi. On the highway jeepny was the best and cheapest choice.
Cons: Shower head did not heat water, took 5 days to fix. Since first 2 days were holiday, I cannot complain too much. Room had small metal box mounted in cabinet for use as a room safe, but no lock is provided. Small locks like ones used on luggage would work okay. On site restaurant is adequate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

I'm a little suprised of the glowing reviews, maybe I was given one of their lesser rooms which was in need of some upgrades: the air-con could barely keep the room cool and there was effectively no hot water in the shower. In the Philippines, hotel showers are often equipped with wall-mounted "instant" water heaters which tend to function better than an older central heater there. In this hotel, there is a compact instant water heater strapped to the shower head that provided little heat. Do you really want electrical current so close to the water stream. You draw the conclusion - ouch!

It's helpful to know that if you plan on frequenting the downtown Davao area (for nightlife and shopping), this lodging is in a residential area about a 15-minute taxi ride away. In Davao, taxi's are dispatched, so no problems getting one to pick you up here -- the staff will call, allow about 10 minutes for one to arrive, more in the evening.

When I was visiting, there happened to be scheduled rolling blackouts and this place does NOT have a generator! That seemed odd for a tourist-class lodging and after the first night, I considered changing. I called about 10 hotels and every one of them had a generator. I did end up remaining at the Red Knights because my trip was only 5 nights.

On the positive side, the room is clean enough, quiet and the Filipina lady [manager?] is quite affable. The grounds are well-kept and has a nice pool. Overall, I rounded up my rating to a 3-star. Personally, I would stay somewhere else next time because I don't swim and would prefer to be closer to downtown. If rolling blackouts are in effect, you will probably want to find somewhere else too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Very friendly staff try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Menu could be better or should i say size and quality needed to be improved.
Great pool and well maintained gardens. Not too far by taxi to shopping centres.
My friend recomeneds the ice cold beer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

I stayed here for a month with my young son in a studio apartment, the room was spacious and clean. The restaurant had a fabulous choice and easily catered for a very fussy 8 year old. The swimming pool was ideal to cool off in as the weather was superb.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

had the "pleasure" to stay in the place 5 days in June together with my family.

BUT.
The rom we got was smelly, dirty and really need a brush up and some
major repair. Walls where cracked and dirty, ants or termites invaded the room
Bathroom in a bad condition and whitout any ventilation so no wonder
the whole place was smelling bad.

A request to get some cleaning done to get rid of the smell only result in
giving the rooms a spray with another smelling chemical spray.

The entrance was slimy and very slippery in the rain, and first when asked ¨
to get it cleaned, so that noone would glide in it and hurt them self, the hotel
staff did something to it.

In the garden was a big pile of rotten plants laying
where it should have been removed long time ago.

John T

PS Maybe the owner should stop golfing and take care of his hotel instead.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davao
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

I stayed there for 3 days and it was so peaceful. Davao is definitely the place to stay if you want a perfect sunny day. Great if you want to get a tan. There are a lot of beaches just 20mins away if you take the boat. Absolutely enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Knight Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Knight Gardens

Address: 88, 8th Street. Guadalupe Village | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Knight Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Knight Gardens offers the best value when it comes to accommodations in Davao City, Philippines. Rest assured, though, that our low rates don’t translate to minimal amenities. Staying at Red Knight Gardens makes your budget go a long way, with the rooms boasting all the creature comforts and a gracious service comparable to that of expensive hotels. What’s more, our location keeps you close to everything — we are only 10 minutes from the airport and Davao’s downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Knight Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Knight Gardens Hotel Davao
Red Knight Gardens Davao/Davao City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Knight Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.